We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“Artistry in glass” 4 of 5 bubbles
Review of Chihuly Collection

Chihuly Collection
Book In Advance
More Info
$106.00*
and up
Tampa Bay CityPASS
Certificate of Excellence
More attraction details
Attraction details
Owner description: The Chihuly Collection presented by the Morean Arts Center is a stunning, permanent collection of world-renowned artist Dale Chihuly’s unique artwork in a magnificent 10,000 square foot gallery.
Norfolk, Virginia
Level Contributor
105 reviews
32 attraction reviews
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 21 helpful votes
“Artistry in glass”
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed April 13, 2013

As a fan of Venice and Murano, it's great to see an American icon in the art. A worthwhile museum tour (short duration) plus a chance to sit in stadium seating viewing apprentices give an exhibition.

Visited December 2012
Helpful?
Thank FrancCAR
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

1,523 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    886
    420
    174
    36
    7
Date | Rating
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Hebrew first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Any
English first
Peterborough, Canada
Level Contributor
23 reviews
5 attraction reviews
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 18 helpful votes
“A must see”
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed April 10, 2013

On a rainy day in St. Petersburg where we were refugees from our soggy campsite we took in the Chihuly collection and combined the visit with a visit to the hot shop to see a glass blowing demonstration. This man's imagination and vision are mind boggling. You have an opportunity to see an ongoing video before going in, and i would recommend taking the tour with the guide. Loved the show.

Visited March 2013
Helpful?
Thank 593hjort
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Brooksville, Florida
Level Contributor
43 reviews
11 attraction reviews
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 33 helpful votes
“A for certain "Don't Miss"!!”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed April 8, 2013

This exhibit by the famous glass artisan is well worth the trip to St. Petersburg if you see nothing else. Located near the waterfront, the museum is very accessible, within easy walking distance from parking. We however, chose to use the tour bus available for the downtown attractions loop. It let us off within a half block of the museum. We also visited the "Hot Shop" for live demonstration of the art of "glassblowing". Be sure to do both if time permits. Loved it!

Visited May 2012
Helpful?
Thank travelingtomnole
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Minneapolis
Level Contributor
35 reviews
17 attraction reviews
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 15 helpful votes
“A great rainy day stop”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed April 8, 2013

Went with my family of four - daughters 7/9 - on a rainy day and took the tour ~40 minutes - all really enjoyed the history and theory behind the design etc. I would recommend.

Visited April 2013
Helpful?
Thank corfu11
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Chicago, Illinois
Level Contributor
27 reviews
5 attraction reviews
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 20 helpful votes
“Beautiful!”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed April 5, 2013 via mobile

It is a small space, and it was $15 to get in, but there are many pieces to see. You can take photos of all of the work, and the people were very knowledgable and friendly. If you like art you will love this. Watch the video while waiting for the docent tour. One of my favorite things we did in St. Pete.

Visited April 2013
Helpful?
Thank CT2426
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers who viewed Chihuly Collection also viewed

 

Been to Chihuly Collection? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing