We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“MAKE SURE YOU TAKE THE TOUR”
Review of Chihuly Collection

Chihuly Collection
Book In Advance
More Info
$106.00*
and up
Tampa Bay CityPASS
Certificate of Excellence
More attraction details
Attraction details
Owner description: The Chihuly Collection presented by the Morean Arts Center is a stunning, permanent collection of world-renowned artist Dale Chihuly’s unique artwork in a magnificent 10,000 square foot gallery.
newjersey
Level 6 Contributor
139 reviews
49 attraction reviews
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 55 helpful votes
“MAKE SURE YOU TAKE THE TOUR”
Reviewed October 19, 2012

We just happen to arrive when a tour was starting or we might not have stayed around for one(every 45-60 minutes). You won't know what your looking at without the tour. Very small collection and relatively expensive, but we got lucky and hit a day when they were offering 2 for I admissions.

Visited October 2012
Helpful?
Thank sambucca45
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

1,649 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    975
    446
    183
    37
    8
Date | Rating
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Hebrew first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Any
English first
Tampa
Level 3 Contributor
13 reviews
5 attraction reviews
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 22 helpful votes
“Love Fest for a Freak Show”
Reviewed October 17, 2012

Do not think artist has even been to the installation. Most of the peices are from a private collection. Do yourself a favor and see the Dali instead of this-some pretty neat installations- but way to glossed up about a guy who does not do his own work- he designs the pieces then someone else does the work.

Visited October 2012
Helpful?
Thank TampaGator1007
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Clearwater, Florida
Level 5 Contributor
75 reviews
24 attraction reviews
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 50 helpful votes
“Don't miss it!”
Reviewed October 14, 2012

If you only have a little time to spend in St.Petersburg (perish the thought), put the Chihuly on your "must see" list. But, if you get the chance, start with a visit to the Glass Studio and Hot Shop, where you can watch the glass items actually being made by the artisans. Every stage of the process was explained to us, and we were spellbound. I plan to go back and soak it all in a second time.

Visited October 2012
Helpful?
Thank ClwMurph
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Lancaster, NY
Level 6 Contributor
251 reviews
82 attraction reviews
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 103 helpful votes
“Amazingly Beautiful”
Reviewed October 8, 2012

I had seen some Chihuly Collections in other cities, so decided to see this one while in the Tampa area. My 2 companions had never seen his work. The movie that is available for viewing prior to seeing the collection is a MUST. It is absolutely amazing how Dale gets his inspiration for his creations and then how the artisans bring his visions to life in the breathtaking glass sculptures that are created. I only wish that there were more pieces in this collection.

Visited October 2012
Helpful?
Thank Eimac C
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
St. Petersburg, Florida
Level 1 Contributor
4 reviews
“Great V Different”
Reviewed October 4, 2012

Took my Mum there under duress.
Had low expectations.
Little pricy to get in.
The art was amazing blown away.
Would definately go back. (Without Mother).

Visited September 2012
Helpful?
Thank TrevorBee
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers who viewed Chihuly Collection also viewed

 

Been to Chihuly Collection? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing