We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The Tripadvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Halloween visit”
Review of Alto Mare Fish Bar

Alto Mare Fish Bar
Reserve a table
2
Sun, 5/9
8:00 PM
Ranked #110 of 865 Restaurants in St. Petersburg
Description: Join us for a great dining experience, fantastic seafood and oysters, & much more! Located in the heart of Downtown St.Petersburg, Florida
Restaurant details
Description: Join us for a great dining experience, fantastic seafood and oysters, & much more! Located in the heart of Downtown St.Petersburg, Florida
Reviewed November 1, 2019

Busy night for Halloween. Group of friends. Dinner good. Octopus very good, lobster good but pasta heavy. Enjoyed chowder but really thick, filling and a smidgeon salty.
Enjoyed the atmosphere and bustle of night life passing by.
Great for people watching

Date of visit: October 2019
    • Value
    • Service
    • Food
Thank soniam615
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a reviewReviews (47)
Traveler rating
Traveler type
Time of year
Language

15 - 19 of 47 reviews

Reviewed September 17, 2019

A little expensive but a unique menu with some very tasty food. Definitely worth a visit and very good service.

Date of visit: September 2019
1  Thank Janesth
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed September 7, 2019

Beach Drive is the place to be for great food in St. Petersburg and Alto Mare Fish Bar adds another great place to this list. The tuna was perfect, the cauliflower yummy, and the scallops cooked perfectly. The wine, while not one I would normally have was also a perfect mix. Nice end to a perfect St. Petersburg day. Try some really great food like we did! Marietta, our waitress, was super nice, knew the menu and had great first had knowledge of the flavors of the food. Her suggestion of the cauliflower was a perfect addition to our seafood carvings.

Date of visit: September 2019
    • Value
    • Service
    • Food
1  Thank BeaandRich
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed August 31, 2019

Saturday downtown St Petersburg and the Beach Drive restaurants and bars are buzzing. So many choices to indulge in great food, wine, cigars and cocktails. In the end my choice this evening was that elegant but inviting fish bar - ALTO MARE. I have been here before and have never been disappointed. This evening was no exception. Alto Mare is now becoming quite well known because of its excellent menu and service ethic. However, my dinner tonight was exceptional so I decided to share. My culinary delight was labeled as "Kimchi Spiced Red Snapper". Not quite sure what to expect I was wide-eyed when a colorful platter appeared before me. On my plate was a crispy cake of quinoa and sushi rice. Next to this was a bed of roasted but crispy brussels sprouts, which had a generous seared filet of red snapper. Its skin was lightly cooked and flavored with the chef's secret spices that made this meal addictive. Needless to say, I ate every morsel. I accompanied this with a great Californian chardonnay but next time I would probably indulge in a glass of champagne.

Date of visit: August 2019
1  Thank Wookie-Orlando
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed August 19, 2019

I can't tell you how many times I walked past Alto Mare without noticing it. I guess that's solely on me though... I just assumed it was part of the restaurant next door. I'm giving myself a dope-slap for that oversight because I wish I had tried Alto Mare sooner! My wife and I weren't really hungry on our visit, so we didn't order large. Instead, she ordered the steamed mussels special and I ordered the steamed clams off the menu. Both were fantastic, and the portions (with a side of the specially baked bread) were perfect. We also looked at other items ordered by the tables around us and saw several dishes we'd like to try on our next visit. They also have a very nice wine list to choose from, and the service was great. Big Thumbs Up!

Date of visit: August 2019
    • Value
    • Service
    • Food
4  Thank Paul Z
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers who viewed Alto Mare Fish Bar also viewed

St. Petersburg, FL
St. Petersburg, FL
 
St. Petersburg, FL
St. Petersburg, FL
 

Been to Alto Mare Fish Bar? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing
© 2021 TripAdvisor LLC All rights reserved.

This is the version of our website addressed to speakers of English in the United States. If you are a resident of another country or region, please select the appropriate version of Tripadvisor for your country or region in the drop-down menu.