We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“Nice and friendly are the words”
4 of 5 bubbles Review of GayStPete House

We can't find prices for this accommodation
Our online travel partners don't provide prices for this accommodation, but we can search other options in St. Petersburg
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
GayStPete House
Playa del Ingles, Spain
Level Contributor
98 reviews
15 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 65 helpful votes
“Nice and friendly are the words”
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed July 22, 2014

We enjoyed staying there for a short week... The surroundings are quite nice, a few minutes drive from downtown St Pet. The house is calm, quiet, surprisingly decorated by Brian the owner...oriental corners, various lounges, life-savers seats around the pool make it a permanent discovery... A few animals dwell there: Packer the Parrot, Urban the Poodle, John and Mary the Gekos and the usual running all over tiny Florida lizards... Am I forgetting the shy or not so shy squirrels stealing seeds from Packer ?
Our room was not that large but since we had tons of luggage I wonder who's to blame !
Breakfast was offered with quite enough to satisfy most people tastes...
GSPH isn't a palace but a honest, cool, enjoyable place to stay to take some rest and have fun, far away from the pretentious Flamingo. I must say the owner is quite friendly, eager to help and not the nosy, dramatic or obnoxious kind of person. Thanks Brian for our stay ;-)

Room Tip: The little house by the pool is the nicest. We had room A I believe, maybe not the best but right on...
See more room tips
  • Stayed July 2014, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Rooms
    • Service
Helpful?
7 Thank doomsky
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

49 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    26
    11
    5
    2
    5
See reviews for
1
28
8
2
Rating summary
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Sleep Quality
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Rooms
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Service
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Value
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Cleanliness
    3.5 of 5 bubbles
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (17)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • Any
English first
Virginia Beach, Virginia
Level Contributor
11 reviews
8 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 19 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed May 14, 2014

Thanks' to brain and staff, and the new doggie, everything was very nice.
I and my guest that came with me was very happy there.
We had noticed the upgrades to the property. We like what we saw.
When my buddy and I return it will be our fourth time. The bar/breakfast/lounge are was updated and nice. Our room was nice. Thanks again Brian for the hard work and upgrades you put into it.

Chris & Gregg

Room Tip: Be sure to have the Spa water More clear !!
See more room tips
  • Stayed May 2014, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank meathere y
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Virginia
Level Contributor
310 reviews
39 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 132 helpful votes
3 of 5 bubbles Reviewed December 29, 2013

Brian, the owner, was great. He was helpful and accommodating.

The rooms are okay..nothing fancy...could use some love and updating.

My biggest complaint was why an establishment that bills itself as gay house allows straight young girls to be naked around the pool. It was very awkard and uncomfortable. The day/night we spent there, a young, straight, 21 year old (she told her age) was taking advantage of the "clothing optional" option with her two gay friends. For that reason alone, I doubt we will go back. If you are gay resort, be a gay resort.

  • Stayed December 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
11 Thank BURGESS-IN-VA
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
gaystpete, Owner at GayStPete House, responded to this review, March 19, 2014
I'm sorry, no where in any of my advertising does it say we are a men only establishment. Anyone who wants a relaxed, clothing optional place to stay is welcome here. There was one straight girl, not girls, and she was visiting her two nude gay friends here. I wish you the best of luck in your travels.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Cambridge, England, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
18 reviews
10 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 33 helpful votes
2 of 5 bubbles Reviewed November 12, 2013

Stayed a few nights recently, pool area is very nice, although the pool was very cold for a so called heated pool. Brian the owner and "urban" the dog are very good hosts. The problem here is the rooms, old, tired worn décor, a mish mash of old furniture and beds. To be honest the two rooms we had need totally gutting and starting again. Wouldn't go back until the rooms have had a major refurb.

  • Stayed September 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
10 Thank Chris G
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Ft. lauderdale, fl
Level Contributor
4 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 7 helpful votes
3 of 5 bubbles Reviewed October 14, 2013

The rooms are dumpy, the grounds over grown and old, the common areas are pleasant enough
although everything needed a good hosing down or it seemed so. The pool is great and the guests were nice which made our stay at Gay St. Pete house OK. Overall the place felt like a lower end P Town guest house with really bad sheets, old and pilled. Would have been a totally different experience with new linens, towels and a room that felt or looked clean.

Room Tip: Don't go upstairs, stay poolside or don't bother.
See more room tips
  • Stayed August 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
Helpful?
7 Thank Bayridgeguy
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
gaystpete, Owner at GayStPete House, responded to this review, September 19, 2014
Thank you for the suggestions, we've change the staff and focused on cleaning the rooms better. We've also been investing a fair amount of money improving this old house. Hope you will give us another chance, Thank you! Brian
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Naples, Fl
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 5 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed September 21, 2013

A very well run property with a helpful host. The rooms have direct access to the pool and hot tub and are a good size. The rates are fair, especially if you choose to stay a week. Also would be a great place for a weekend getaway. The location of the property is very central for shopping, cultural life, and nightlife. I'm looking forward to visiting the property again.

  • Stayed September 2013, traveled solo
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
5 Thank pluto189
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Atlanta, Georgia
Level Contributor
26 reviews
9 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 13 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed September 9, 2013

Brian is a delightful host
I made a last minute addition to my trip and wanted to add 2 nights in St. Petersburg
Brian responded quickly to my email inquiry - informed me what was available - and I booked my reservation shortly thereafter via phone
upon arrival I found my suite ready - the pool inviting - the fridge stocked with beverages - and a very relaxing environment

and my dog was most welcome here

definitely my destination of choice on my next visit to st. Petersburg.

  • Stayed September 2013, traveled solo
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank tedc061
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these St. Petersburg hotels
0.9 mi away
Days Inn ST. Petersburg Central
Days Inn ST. Petersburg Central
#20 of 42 in St. Petersburg
3.5 of 5 bubbles 410 reviews
0.9 mi away
Hampton Inn St. Petersburg
Hampton Inn St. Petersburg
#9 of 42 in St. Petersburg
4.0 of 5 bubbles 709 reviews
3.0 mi away
Staybridge Suites St. Petersburg Downtown
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
1.1 mi away
Quality Inn & Suites at Tropicana Field
Quality Inn & Suites at Tropican...
#26 of 42 in St. Petersburg
3.5 of 5 bubbles 172 reviews
3.7 mi away
Hilton St Petersburg Bayfront
Hilton St Petersburg Bayfront
#10 of 42 in St. Petersburg
4.0 of 5 bubbles 1,507 reviews
3.7 mi away
Flamingo Resort
Flamingo Resort
#31 of 42 in St. Petersburg
3.5 of 5 bubbles 237 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to GayStPete House? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about GayStPete House

Property: GayStPete House
Address: 4505 5th Ave N, St. Petersburg, FL 33713-6200
Location: United States > Florida > St. Petersburg
Amenities:
Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Kitchenette Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
Ranked #6 of 12 Specialty Lodging in St. Petersburg
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $
Number of rooms: 6
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Small and centrally located, perfect for exploring the area. Clothing optional pool area with heated pool, hot tub, and sauna. Free off street parking, free wifi, all rooms have private baths. Continental Breakfast and beer/wine happy hour daily. Old Key West vibe and very friendly house dog, Urban. ... more   less 

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing