We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Good bang for your buck” 5 of 5 bubbles
Review of GayStPete House

We can't find prices for this accommodation
Our online travel partners don't provide prices for this accommodation, but we can search other options in St. Petersburg
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
GayStPete House
Buford, Georgia
Level Contributor
16 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 7 helpful votes
“Good bang for your buck”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed May 4, 2012

Stayed with Brian in April for 11 days after Easter (April 9-20). Although the property is a bit dated, it is very welcoming. The pool area is beautiful and it is lovely to relax out there "a la natural." Depending on when you visit, there will be a lot of company and maybe even some eye candy! As usual for these kinds of places, it is mostly couples. The hot tub is a nice addition but it was not always ready (hot enough). When is was, it was lovely to hold court (socialize) and get a water massage at the same time. Your stay comes complete with a house dog (Urban) and local chicken (Mango). We even ate some of her eggs. Not to worry - she is in a cage. If you look at the picture closely, we stayed in the building you see at the end of the pool - not the main house. It is ideal for a long stay as it has a full refrigerator, micorwave and oven/stove. What it doesn't have is a King Bed (Two Queens instead, besides us, Mary!) and only a shower (no bathtub). But the best two features of the place is that if you have a car, it is really an ideal location between the downtown and the beach, and Brain will make you a great deal. If you are looking for the luxury and "regalness" of the Vinoy, then stay there for the nrealy $300/night, but if you are looking for comfortable accomodations at an unbeatable price this would be better. Although different in character (more laidback and less pretentious) Gay St. Pete is like Ft. Lauderdale--only on sale! We hardly had a bad meal and there is plenty to do. We would definitely go back and stay with Brian anytime. He even did a little laundry for us!

Room Tip: We liked the cottage, but all the rooms we saw looked nice.
See more room tips
  • Stayed April 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
2 Thank Brent N
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

46 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    26
    10
    4
    1
    5
See reviews for
1
26
8
1
Rating summary
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Sleep Quality
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Rooms
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Service
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Value
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Cleanliness
    3.5 of 5 bubbles
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (15)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • Any
English first
Saint Louis, Missouri
Level Contributor
49 reviews
17 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 40 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed March 4, 2012

If you need 5 star accomodations and food this is not your place. If you are looking for a great laid back place to relax in St Pete this is the place for you. Great poolside rooms with a nice continental breakfast and a great host. Close to the bars and the beaches and very reasonably priced.

Room Tip: The poolside rooms are best and C is the best of the poolsides.
See more room tips
  • Stayed March 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
3 Thank rwdawtravel
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Suffolk, VA
Level Contributor
6 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 4 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed January 11, 2012

Brian does a great job in welcoming his guests. The rooms are clean and tidy. The grounds are very well kept and the prices are very reasonable.

Room Tip: The cottage is great for travellers that would like to cook as it has a full kitchen.
See more room tips
  • Stayed January 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
3 Thank LotusGuy
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Racine
Level Contributor
20 reviews
13 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 10 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed July 28, 2011

A little paradise in the middle of the city. Convenient location to the beaches and downtown. Great pool and hot tub, comfy rooms, and a wonderful owner. Love the mellow atmosphere and included morning breakfast.

  • Stayed August 2010
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
4 Thank steveswede
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Fort Lauderdale, Florida
Level Contributor
19 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 17 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed January 18, 2011

Room was neat and clean and optional swimming pool was super. Just a short drive to the Biggest Gay Bar in St Pete..the Alibi. The owner was very nice to my unexpected carload of new friends from the club for a midnight swim!

  • Stayed January 2011, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
4 Thank avenuedude
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these St. Petersburg hotels
3.4 mi away
Hollander Hotel
Hollander Hotel
#3 of 39 in St. Petersburg
4.5 of 5 bubbles 1,170 reviews
0.9 mi away
Hampton Inn St. Petersburg
Hampton Inn St. Petersburg
#9 of 39 in St. Petersburg
4.0 of 5 bubbles 635 reviews
0.9 mi away
Days Inn ST. Petersburg Central
Days Inn ST. Petersburg Central
#19 of 39 in St. Petersburg
3.5 of 5 bubbles 376 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
1.0 mi away
Quality Inn & Suites at Tropicana Field
Quality Inn & Suites at Tropican...
#22 of 39 in St. Petersburg
3.5 of 5 bubbles 155 reviews
3.0 mi away
Staybridge Suites St. Petersburg Downtown
3.4 mi away
The Inn on Third
The Inn on Third
#6 of 39 in St. Petersburg
4.5 of 5 bubbles 536 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to GayStPete House? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about GayStPete House

Property: GayStPete House
Address: 4505 5th Ave N, St. Petersburg, FL 33713-6200
Location: United States > Florida > St. Petersburg
Amenities:
Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Kitchenette Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
Ranked #7 of 13 Specialty Lodging in St. Petersburg
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $
Number of rooms: 6
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Small and centrally located, perfect for exploring the area. Clothing optional pool area with heated pool, hot tub, and sauna. Free off street parking, free wifi, all rooms have private baths. Continental Breakfast and beer/wine happy hour daily. Old Key West vibe and very friendly house dog, Urban. ... more   less 

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing