We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“One of our favorite places to eat!”
Review of Red Mesa

Red Mesa
Ranked #16 of 899 Restaurants in St. Petersburg
Certificate of Excellence
Price range: $10 - $20
Cuisines: Mexican, Latin, Bar, Spanish
More restaurant details
Restaurant details
Good for: Special occasions, Kids, Large groups, Bar scene, Families with children
Dining options: Late Night, Brunch, Lunch, Dinner, Accepts Discover, Accepts Mastercard, Accepts Visa, Free Wifi, Full Bar, Highchairs Available, Outdoor Seating, Reservations, Seating, Serves Alcohol, Takeout, Television, Waitstaff, Wheelchair Accessible
Dining style: Casual Dining
Cross street: 2nd Avenue South
Transit: Free Public Transportation for Tropicana Field sporting events, i.e., Rays games, one block away. A municipal PTSA bus stop is across the street at Publix. Taxi’s all know Cantina.
Description: With Mexican cuisine at its heart, Red Mesa Cantina blends Latin and Caribbean kitchen traditions to create a menu of exquisite ceviches, tacos, and small plate classics that deliver bold, fresh flavors. An award winning, word-of-mouth favorite among locals and visitors alike with the most extensive selection of Tequilas in the South!
SAINT PETERSBURG
Level Contributor
91 reviews
57 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 22 helpful votes
“One of our favorite places to eat!”
Reviewed August 7, 2013

Whenever possible sit outside on the patio. Plenty of shade and a great atmosphere with the brick walls, water fountain and stream. Great service! During the very long happy hour (3 to 7 pm) get the house margarita for $3. Get the chips and salsa and El Gordo burritto, it's easily a meal for two! What value!

  • Visited July 2013
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
Thank Focused77
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

758 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    396
    244
    75
    31
    12
Rating summary
    Food
    Service
    Value
    Atmosphere
Date | Rating
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • Finnish first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Portuguese first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
seminole
Level Contributor
29 reviews
28 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 12 helpful votes
“So good”
Reviewed August 2, 2013

I try to keep most of my reviews short and sweet, but it's hard when it comes to the cantina.
Their menu has so many great items, it's hard to narrow down what's the best. I always get the chicken taquitos to start with..the best anywhere..they have a chili arbol sauce, cilantro crema, and an onion-cabbage mix..perfect every time. After that, it's tough to choose because you can't go wrong..tacos, entree's..they rock.
Also, Sunday is hospitality night..%50 for those in the industry, alcohol included.
Overall, one of the best places to eat in St. Pete.

  • Visited July 2013
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
Thank ThreedogsSeminole
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Clearwater, FL
Level Contributor
836 reviews
547 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 293 helpful votes
“Fish tacos were great”
Reviewed August 1, 2013

I met a client here for a biz lunch so I had to focus on the meeting. Having said that, we both had fish and shrimp tacos. The preparation and presentation was outstanding. It was the most humid day of the summer so everyone was inside. In our "great" weather seasons this will be a killer place to eat outside. So much of the menu yet to be explored!

  • Visited July 2013
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
Thank jimvet1826
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
St. Petersburg, Florida
Level Contributor
14 reviews
12 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 4 helpful votes
“Great ambiance, delicious food, and good crowd”
Reviewed July 31, 2013

My wife and I eat here all the time for brunch and the food is always great - the crab cake benedict is amazing. The decor is really cool and the crowd seems to be mostly working professionals and some famalies which we really appreciate. I will continue to eat here whenever I getthe chance.

  • Visited June 2013
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
Thank NavyGator1982
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Louisville, Kentucky
Level Contributor
43 reviews
23 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 27 helpful votes
“Ambience, good food but server lacked skills”
Reviewed July 30, 2013 via mobile

The interior and exterior have style. It was nice to see something different. Loved the bar area with the wrestling masks...fun! We dined here for lunch and got seated inside fairly fast but you could tell it was a popular place. Unfortunately our server was in too much of a hurry. She had zero interest in us. She immediately came to table and quickly said "I'll start you off with 5 waters" and never once asked again what we really wanted to drink. It just so happened my husband and I wanted wine and our kids wanted tea. But we decided to forgo bothering her. My husband's shrimp al mojo was excellent! My taco salad was fresh and had just the right amount of dressing which was light thankfully. The kids ordered beef tacos and quesadillas were basic but the presentation was good. Not a fan of the mushy guacamole...it tasted like store bought. I prefer guacamole with lots of cilantro and the avacodos to not be "creamed". Overall 4 out of 5.

Visited July 2013
Helpful?
Thank luv2goontrips
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers who viewed Red Mesa also viewed

 
St. Petersburg, FL
 

Been to Red Mesa? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing