We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
Fort de Soto Park Campground
If you like this hotel, you might also be interested in
$145
Booking.com
View Deal
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
$179
Booking.com
View Deal
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Wifi
  • Breakfast included
$97
Expedia.com
View Deal
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
$141
$136
HotelIndigo.com
View Deal
  • Free Wifi
  • Pool
$274
$249
Booking.com
View Deal
Certificate of Excellence
  • Pool
  • Restaurant
$170
$151
Hilton.com
View Deal
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
$197
$177
Expedia.com
View Deal
  • Free Wifi
  • Pool
$90
$76
Booking.com
View Deal
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
$106
Booking.com
View Deal
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
Hollander Hotel(St. Petersburg)
$109
Booking.com
View Deal
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
Reviews (235)
Filter reviews
235 results
Traveler rating
134
73
19
6
3
Traveler type
Time of year
LanguageAll languages
More languages
134
73
19
6
3
Show reviews that mention
All reviewscamp storedog beachgreat campingeast beachhistoric fortfire pitshower facilitiespet areano see umssand dollarsbeautiful parktent campingpop up camperfellow camperswashers and dryerswaterfront sitenon pet
FilterAll languages
Updating list...
172 - 177 of 235 reviews
Reviewed July 29, 2013

Camped here July 2013. Very clean campground, restrooms and facilities. We stayed in the pet friendly section of the campground Most of the staff were friendly and helpful. There was one ranger in the office that was less than friendly and a little grumpy. The beaches are beautiful. We enjoyed our time at the dog beach with our dog. The only problem we had were bug bites from the no seeums at night. 2 evenings we went to north beach to watch sun set and pretty much had the whole place to ourselves.

  • Stayed: July 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
5  Thank janadair
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed July 28, 2013

Me and my family went camping there for four days.. the beach campsite was beautiful. the park was very clean the rangers were very nice. the fishing was great. The birds were amazing. Our only complaints were the raccoons and sand fleas.... i know there isn't anything that Could really be done about that but overall it was awesome. I definitely go camping there again.

  • Stayed: July 2013
    • Location
    • Cleanliness
6  Thank shana800
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed July 4, 2013

We went on a camping adventure for 14 days in June and Fort De Soto was the highlight of our trip. The camping site was beautiful, large and right on the water, my boys ran out and swam right behind our spot. The sites are cleaned regularly and the campground was always free of trash. The bathrooms were nice, clean and not overly crowded. We rented kayaks and launched from right behind our site. We saw sea turtles, stingray, dolphin and manatees. The beach area is nice with bathrooms, BBQ enclosures, and trashcans. The water is amazingly clear there - we could see fish and stingray swimming through the water and were visited by dolphin as well while at the beach. The Fort is pretty interesting as well. Everyone we encountered at the campground was very friendly and helpful. There are beautiful birds and flowers all around the campground as well and many places to fish. The camp store is well stocked with ice cream for sale as well. We hope to visit again soon!! Loved everything about the park, even the raccoons, who did steal food from us but we learned how to safeguard our cooler after the first day :)

Room Tip: campsites on the water are beautiful
  • Stayed: June 2013, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
5  Thank lrgay
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed June 28, 2013

We stayed 3 nights In a travel trailer in the campground. It was very nice. Our campsite was near the playground and bath facilities. North beach is absolutely beautiful. White sand and clear blue waters. We found all kinds of nice seashells in the water and on the beach. Plenty of room for everyone to set up their chairs and umbrellas without feeling cramped. The fort was an ok tour, nicest part was you can walk up on top of it and the view is awesome. If you like the camping atmosphere then you won't be disappointed.

  • Stayed: June 2013, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
3  Thank Chris O
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed May 31, 2013 via mobile

This place was so much fun. Our 6 and 3 year olds enjoyed the calm waters and gradual entry to the ocean.

Advice. Bring your bug spray and apply before visiting the fort. Mosquito's were not bad but we did come out of the fort with 2 or 3 bites each.

There are ample places to shower off and clean facilities.

We brought a picnic with us and enjoyed the entire day at the beach. They have nice shaded picnic tables as well along with some very new playgrounds.

You can easily make an entire day of your visit.

  • Stayed: May 2013
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
2  Thank langman66
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
View more reviews