We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“OK BUT... Not outstanding”

StarLite Sapphire Dining Yacht
Certificate of Excellence
More attraction details
Attraction details
Owner description: The StarLite Sapphire Dining Yacht is a sleek and stylish 113-foot ship. It is the newest addition to the StarLite Cruises fleet and the most desired vessel in Tampa Bay. This fully modern vessel offers unparalleled atmosphere and remarkable views. The vessel’s star quality and enticing menu combine for an extraordinary dining experience. The StarLite Sapphire can accommodate up to 150 passengers for any type of function. We are a short distance from the Don CeSar Hotel, Tradewinds Resort, Sirata Beach Resort, Alden Hotel, Postcard Inn on the Beach, Sunset Vistas, Bilmar Hotel, Crystal Palms Resort.
Useful Information: Bathroom facilities, Wheelchair access, Stairs / elevator
Bradenton, Florida
Level Contributor
36 reviews
3 attraction reviews
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 41 helpful votes
“OK BUT... Not outstanding”
3 of 5 bubbles Reviewed February 15, 2012

Took the 3 hour dinner cruise on the Paddlewheel. The live music was pleasant and we were able to dance to the two performers. The food and service was average. The servers, I counted three on the first deck, were overwhelmed with a small wedding party reception. My date was very happy with the cruise, especially since it was her birthday. We went the day after the blowout Valentine's Day cruise; this translates into a occupancy rate of around 40% on Feb 15.

TIP: Look for discounts on the internet, usually 25%, as well as Groupon certificates for better deals.

Visited February 2012
Helpful?
2 Thank KennyBatt
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
StarLiteFlorida, Director of Sales at StarLite Sapphire Dining Yacht, responded to this review, February 17, 2012
Thank you for taking the time to compliment our dinner cruise and bring the server issue to our attention. We will use your feedback as a training opportunity with the waitstaff. While the Groupon promotions may be limited in the future, we do offer a 20% discount if guests book online through our website.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

293 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    197
    59
    20
    8
    9
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • Any
English first
Minnesota
Level Contributor
80 reviews
31 attraction reviews
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 29 helpful votes
“Relaxing”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed February 11, 2012

It was so pleasant and relaxing we could have dozed off.
The Dixie land band was enjoyable and just the right volume.
The boat is beautifully decorated. The food is very good.
They take a photo of you if you wish to purchase and ours
turned out so well we were happy to pay for it.

Visited January 2012
Helpful?
1 Thank zahale
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
StarLiteFlorida, Director of Sales at StarLite Sapphire Dining Yacht, responded to this review, February 16, 2012
Thank you for cruising with us on our Sunday Dixieland - New Orleans Jazz Cruise! We're pleased to hear that you had an enjoyable time and hope you will consider joining us again in the future.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
St. Petersburg
Level Contributor
57 reviews
6 attraction reviews
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 43 helpful votes
“Surprised”
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed January 27, 2012

The idea of a going on a dinner cruise would not be on my bucket list so I readily admit I was looking for the worse. However, I can't give them a bad review. The food was much better than we anticipated, our server did a wonderful job handling several tables at the same time. The music seemed strange to me, I thought it would miss the majority of the audience but in the long run everyone seemed to enjoy it. Overall a very good evening.

Visited February 2011
Helpful?
1 Thank CHOPPERCAM
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
StarLiteFlorida, Director of Sales at StarLite Sapphire Dining Yacht, responded to this review, February 16, 2012
We're happy to hear that you were pleasantly surprised! Please visit us on Facebook or Twitter to be updated on our current specials and special event cruises (@starlitecruises). Thank you for sharing your experience!
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
New Port Richey, Florida
Level Contributor
231 reviews
42 attraction reviews
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 204 helpful votes
“Fun!”
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed January 14, 2012

We had just enjoyed a yacht dinner cruise the previous month, so thought booking this Paddle wheeler cruise would be less formal and more fun. And, indeed, it was. I enjoyed the more laid-back atmosphere and casualness of this cruise.

My experience might not be indicative of normal evenings. The night we dined with Starlite, there were only 6 occupied tables in the dining room. Needless to say, service was superb. During the opening courses and after dinner there is live entertainment. On this evening a Jimmy Buffet styled singer performed. The intimacy of the dining room permitted a lot of banter with the performer.

Dinner can be deceiving, so be prepared for extra charges. Drinks, appetizers, soft drinks and coffee are not included in the base price. Of course, neither is the gratuity. But these add ons are much more reasonably priced than I’ve found on other dining cruises.

The menu selection is a bit limited, but encompassed the basics of fish, poultry, beef and vegetarian. You may select a Caesar or tossed salad. Both my partner and I enjoyed the Beef Bourguignon. There is no selection for dessert. This night we had raspberry cheesecake.

Afterward we adjourned to the upper deck and enjoyed the view. Starlite provides an entertaining evening on the water at a very reasonable price. While it doesn’t boast the elegance of some of the more formal dinner cruises, I consider it a very good value for the money. It delivers exactly what it promises.

Visited December 2011
Helpful?
1 Thank Tom B
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
StarLiteFlorida, Director of Sales at StarLite Sapphire Dining Yacht, responded to this review, February 16, 2012
Thank you for your review. We're pleased to hear that you experienced a relaxing, casual evening and felt that you received a good value for your money. Similar to a restaurant, our beverages and appetizers are not included in the price. As you mentioned, however, these items were reasonably priced and lower than other dining cruises. We appreciate your business and hope that you will visit us again on the StarLite Princess, StarLite Majesty, or Calypso Queen!
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Greenwood, Indiana
Level Contributor
13 reviews
6 attraction reviews
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 3 helpful votes
“its great!!”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed January 2, 2012

This boat is just great for a dinner cruise and dancing and the cruise is wonderful

Visited September 2011
Helpful?
Thank Robert37161
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers who viewed StarLite Sapphire Dining Yacht also viewed

 

Been to StarLite Sapphire Dining Yacht? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing