We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
WINNER WONDERLAND
Win Big When You Book on TripAdvisor

“Deserves its #1 ranking” 5 of 5 bubbles
Review of Paciugo

Paciugo
Ranked #1 of 30 Dessert in St. Petersburg
Certificate of Excellence
More restaurant details
Restaurant details
Good for: Kids, Families with children, Scenic view
Dining options: Late Night, Outdoor Seating, Seating, Takeout, Wheelchair Accessible
Chicago
Level Contributor
37 reviews
23 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 26 helpful votes
“Deserves its #1 ranking”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed May 15, 2013

It's the best gelato we've had. It it expensive, but understandably so give the premium location. The have lots of outdoor seating and it's directly across the street from the park and bayfront.

  • Visited April 2013
    • 2 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Atmosphere
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Service
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Food
Helpful?
Thank pinkchicago
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

600 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    506
    75
    14
    4
    1
Rating summary
    Food
    Service
    Value
    Atmosphere
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Korean first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
St. Petersburg, Florida
Level Contributor
35 reviews
12 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 150 helpful votes
“After-Dinner Stroll In Florence”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed May 15, 2013

I first noticed Paciugo when they used to have a stall at the Saturday Morning Market, where they sold mainly coffee, and about 6 flavors of gelato. I never tried the ice cream, but their coffee was always superb. When they stopped coming to the Market, I started bringing my own coffee.

Recently, I have strolled into their shop on Beach Drive a few times for gelato. Although a bit on the pricey side, you do get your money's worth. There are MANY flavors, and you can ask for a taste, and then squeezed 2-3 flavors into even their smallest portion cup. They usually fill the container to overflowing, so you need to eat fast at first to prevent dripping, especially if you step back outside. There are a few tables and free wi-fi both inside and outside.

My memories of gelato mainly center around after-dinner strolls in Florence Italy, in the backpacking late 1970's. Residents and tourists alike would line up at ice-cream shops, and the basic nocciola (hazelnut) flavor was absolutely sublime. Freshly made, with no chemicals, guar gum, and other hideous texturants. I don't know if the Florentine gelato is still as good, but the memory remains 35+ years later.

Paciugo's product comes as close as I have tasted to the real Italian experience. The flavors are strong and identifiable, with no off notes. The consistency is lovely, mouthfeel sublime, and sugar content off the charts. It's an absolutely wonderful treat if you have any affinity for genuine ice cream as it used to be, and should be. Squisito!

  • Visited April 2013
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Atmosphere
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Service
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Food
Helpful?
Thank MrNuz
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Newville, Pennsylvania
Level Contributor
317 reviews
160 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 172 helpful votes
“Great Desert, But #1?”
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed May 14, 2013

This is one of those things I do not understand about Tripadvisor. Yes the Gelato is fantastic, albeit a bit pricey, with numerous choices but the #1 ranking for restaurants in Saint Petersburg? There should be a sub category for places like this.

They do have at least one Gelato for those that are diabetic which was nice. We sat at the tables on the side walk and watched the world go by for a while.

  • Visited May 2013
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Atmosphere
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Food
Helpful?
Thank OBX717
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Level Contributor
4 reviews
4 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 3 helpful votes
“Trip advisor ratings didn't dissapoint!”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed May 12, 2013 via mobile

Went off the advice of Trip Advisor and the reviews. My Virgin gelato experience at Paciugo was excellent! Tried a small strawberry, mixed berry, and raspberry!

  • Visited May 2013
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Atmosphere
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Food
Helpful?
Thank Ohiorealtypro
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Sarasota, Florida
Level Contributor
125 reviews
75 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 115 helpful votes
“Incredible Gelato!!”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed May 12, 2013

This gelato is delicious. Thank goodness I don't live closer or my diet would be ruined! I've been here many times and the quality is consistent. My only complaint is that even the small is very large (fits 3 different flavors) and, as a result I eat too much!! My favorite flavors are: Bacio (chocolate hazelnut) and panna cotta. My daughter's favorites are: Amarena (cherry & vanilla) and Tres Vanille (vanilla).

  • Visited May 2013
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Atmosphere
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Food
Helpful?
Thank yogachick23
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers who viewed Paciugo also viewed

 

Been to Paciugo? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing