We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Charming decor, small room,”

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 9 more sites!
Hotel Indigo St Petersburg Downtown North
Ranked #17 of 42 Hotels in St. Petersburg
Boca Raton, Florida
Level 5 Contributor
62 reviews
14 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 29 helpful votes
“Charming decor, small room,”
Reviewed March 14, 2013

We were there for one night in February, 2013. The decor in this renovated hotel is really charming, and the location is great. You can walk to many waterfront restaurants and to the Dali Museum. However, the room was small, and I had difficulty finding a spot to put the suitcases. The bathroom sink is pedestal style, which is cute but there was no countertop to place toiletries, just a narrow glass shelf above the sink. It's a good thing I remembered to put the toilet seat down, because my stuff kept falling off the shelf. Additionally, the TV was marginal at best. The card listing the channels was totally wrong, it took a long time to change each channel, and there was no digital service that identifies each channel. I had to call down to the front desk to find CNN. It is a very cute hotel, it was clean, and the staff was friendly, but personally I prefer more a larger room with modern amenities.

  • Stayed February 2013, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Susan s
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
ShannonMayBaystar, Guest Relations Manager at Hotel Indigo St Petersburg Downtown North, responded to this review, March 22, 2013
Thank you for taking the time to give us feedback regarding your recent stay. We appreciate your comments to assist other travelers in finding the right hotel for them.

We pride ourselves on great staff and excellent service and want each person to ensure all of their needs are met.

We are a boutique hotel, our historic building which was originally built in the 1920's. It does have character and charm and although completely upgraded, does have some of the original features of the property, such as a smaller than modern bathroom. We have several different rooms and each room is unique with unique characteristics.

We will be taking your feedback to see if there are any other amenities we can in the future.
Thank you again and we look forward to serving you again in the future.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

526 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    153
    173
    97
    54
    49
See reviews for
105
170
27
99
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (111)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Japanese first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Littleton, Colorado
Level 3 Contributor
24 reviews
5 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 9 helpful votes
Reviewed March 6, 2013

It's a very quiet hotel if you are traveling for rest, but the location is also amazing if you look for some fun and parties all the night. Their staff is very friendly, and more than once I had asked things like forks and knifes in my bedroom during the night and I was treated very well from all the employees. The decoration is very juvenile and colorful, but fits very well with all that Florida warmth! You just can't wait for a great breakfast... it's very simple, delicious bagels tough. It's very very clean, good beds, showers and towels, and the daily room service is perfect. They also have a small pool.

  • Stayed January 2013, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank CamilaMonroe
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
ShannonMayBaystar, Guest Relations Manager at Hotel Indigo St Petersburg Downtown North, responded to this review, March 22, 2013
Thank you so much for the wonderful review! We pride ourselves and our staff on great service and work hard to make sure your stay is comfortable, fun, and inviting. We appeciate your feedback and look forward to serving you again in the future.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
West Palm Beach
Level 5 Contributor
64 reviews
15 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 36 helpful votes
Reviewed February 18, 2013

Stayed here with my daughters high school sailing team. Check in was a bit slow but the staff were very accommodating and attentive.

This is a very.. brightly... decorated hotel. Chartreus, pea green black and white.

Room was very small.. Smaller than some of the older boutique hotels in Europe. The bathroom in my room was even smaller. Honestly it was about the same size as the bathroom on my boat.

Breakfast (included in the room rate) was awesome.

Room Tip: Rooms are small...and bathrooms even smaller
See more room tips
  • Stayed February 2013, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank Jeff B
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Ashtabula, Oh
Level 2 Contributor
7 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 9 helpful votes
Reviewed February 15, 2013

The location was perfect, a short walk to both the starting line and finish line of the race. My elderly father in law accompanied us so we rented a suite. The pull out sofa bed wasn't the most comfortable and the water pressure in the shower was very poor. We loved the old world atmosphere but disappointed with the amenities. For the price I would have expected free continental breakfast and newspaper, but the we were nickel and dimed for everything that is usually free in most hotels I've stayed in.

We made our reservation through holiday-inn.com and were planning on staying two nights because we couldn't get a flight out until Monday. A couple weeks before our trip, we were able to change our flight and called the hotel to change our reservation. When we checked out the desk clerk informed that it was a prepaid 'guaranteed' reservation and that she was not authorized to make any refunds. She gave us the managers business card and suggested that we call during the day on Monday. Before we had a chance to call, the manager called us to let us know that she issuing a refund for the unused night.

  • Stayed February 2013, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank dollabill9
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Kalamazoo, Michigan, United States
Level 1 Contributor
4 reviews
4 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 6 helpful votes
Reviewed February 14, 2013

We were originally supposed to stay in Indigo for two nights,but due to weather we were not able to make our connecting flight so we only stayed one night. I was very happy for that once I saw the room we stayed in. First of all, when we found out that we wouldn't be making it to Indigo our first night, we called and spoke to Nathan twice. Once to tell him that we may not make it so we didn't want to be charged and a second time to officially inform him that we would definitely not make it. During that second conversation, we asked him if we could check in as soon as we showed up the next day. He informed us that we would indeed be able to check in because there would be no one checking in that night as no one wanted a room for only one night. So when we finally showed up a day late in St.Petersburg, we were NOT able to check in early even though we were told the day before that there would be no problem. We, of course, were not happy!!!!
When we were finally able to check in, we were VERY disappointed by our room!!!! The king size bed was not really a king size, it was just a bit bigger than a queen. I believe it was a good thing because the bed took up pretty much the whole room. It was the smallest hotel room I had EVER been in. This room WAS NOT worth $199 a night. The bathroom was the smallest bathroom I had ever been in also. I could barely sit on the toilet without hitting the small sink!!!
After the 1/2 marathon, I was most looking forward to a relaxing hot shower....That too was a HUGE disappointment. The water occasionally came out of the shower spout, it periodically stopped, the water became VERY hot once then would turn cold. Needless to say my shower was a disappointing spit bath!!!!
Two pros.... A nice front porch to sit on and they had water with limes and lemons in it at the front desk.
I would NOT recommend this hotel at all. It's unfortunate that it was recommended by the Rock n Roll series, it really puts a bad name to them!!!!

  • Stayed February 2013, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank Stephanie R
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
IHGCare, Guest Relations Manager at Hotel Indigo St Petersburg Downtown North, responded to this review, February 28, 2013
Dear Stephanie R,

Thank you for taking the time to express your thoughts and concerns. Kindly accept our sincerest apology for any inconvenience the room conditions may have caused you. I have taken note and wish to thank you for all your valuable comments. Your feedback is very important to us as this assists us in continually improving the services and facilities we offer to our guests. I do hope that you will consider staying with us again in the future as we continue to try to improve and update our property, which does include the rooms on property.

Sincerely,

Janice A
Case Manager
IHGCare
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Coral Gables, Florida
Level 5 Contributor
23 reviews
18 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 13 helpful votes
Reviewed February 12, 2013

We enjoyed our stay in this comfortable hotel. I liked the decor, the colors and the big paintings in the walls. Rooms had wood floors. Beds and pillows were clean and comfy. Our bathroom had a window and we got natural light. Staff was friendly all the time. The hotel is located one block from restaurants and shops. Dali museum is just a 10-15 min walk.

  • Stayed January 2013
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Justtravel100
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
New Jersey
Level 4 Contributor
30 reviews
11 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 18 helpful votes
Reviewed February 11, 2013 via mobile

Stayed here due to its proximity to the start and finish for the St. Pete Rock 'n Roll Half Marathon. It was a little pricey but they were very nice and it is a good location, close to a lot of shops and restaurants. And, the Trolley passes by the hotel so you could get to a lot of locations for only 50¢.

  • Stayed February 2013
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank InLoveWithItaly2010
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these St. Petersburg hotels
0.2 mi away
Hollander Hotel
Hollander Hotel
#3 of 42 in St. Petersburg
1,354 reviews
0.5 mi away
Hilton St Petersburg Bayfront
Hilton St Petersburg Bayfront
#10 of 42 in St. Petersburg
1,590 reviews
0.3 mi away
Hampton Inn and Suites St. Petersburg Downtown
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.3 mi away
Ponce De Leon Hotel
Ponce De Leon Hotel
#24 of 42 in St. Petersburg
650 reviews
0.2 mi away
Avalon Hotel
Avalon Hotel
#1 of 42 in St. Petersburg
149 reviews
0.9 mi away
Staybridge Suites St. Petersburg Downtown
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Hotel Indigo St Petersburg Downtown North? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Hotel Indigo St Petersburg Downtown North

Property: Hotel Indigo St Petersburg Downtown North
Address: 234 3rd Ave N, St. Petersburg, FL 33701-3322
Phone Number:
Location: United States > Florida > St. Petersburg
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Center with Internet Access Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Restaurant Room Service Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
Ranked #17 of 42 Hotels in St. Petersburg
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$
Hotel Class:3.5 star — Hotel Indigo St Petersburg Downtown North 3.5*
Number of rooms: 71
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Imagine a 100% smoke free sophisticated boutique hotel whose focus is delivering guests peace, serenity and renewal. Quite deliberately, the Hotel Indigo St. Petersburg Downtown has been designed as an oasis for travelers who yearn for an escape from the common hotel, but still need the convenience of a 24-hour fitness center, pool, whirlpool and Phi Restaurant. Just a short drive to the Tampa International Airport (TPA), Hotel Indigo St. Petersburg Downtown is within walking distance to The Pier, Museum of Fine Arts, Mahaffey Theater and one mile from the Dali Museum and Tropicana Field, home of the Rays. Nearby attractions include: Sunken Gardens, Great Explorations and art galleries. No visit is complete without a trip to the electric nightlife of Central Avenue and Jannus Landings. Hotel Indigo offers each guest a blend of modern contemporary living with the best in traditional hotel hospitality. Curl up in our over-sized beds with plush bedding, duvets with covers, pillow shams and plenty of fluffy pillows while you relax and watch our 32' LCD televisions. Complimentary wireless Internet access throughout the hotel is at your fingertips or use our business center if you prefer. Relax and enjoy our quick serve Bistro The Phi Restaurant and Lounge for cutting edge cuisine or grab a latte where we proudly brew Starbucks coffee. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Hotels.com, Booking.com, Expedia, Orbitz, IHG, Travelocity, Hotwire, TripOnline SA, Cheap Tickets, Cancelon and getaroom.com so you can book your Hotel Indigo St Petersburg Downtown North reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Hotel Indigo St Petersburg

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing