We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
Book On TripAdvisor Bonus Book your hotel on TripAdvisor — then save 20% on things to do for your trip. Use code BOOKTOSAVE.

“Lime Green!” 4 of 5 stars
Review of Hotel Indigo St Petersburg Downtown North

Best prices for -
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 7 more sites!
Hotel Indigo St Petersburg Downtown North
Ranked #15 of 42 Hotels in St. Petersburg
St. Petersburg, Florida
Level Contributor
67 reviews
9 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 23 helpful votes
“Lime Green!”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed October 25, 2012

Mother in Law stayed here while visiting us she loved it so much she is booking again. Nice staff nice hotel good amenities good location within walking distance to much of everything downtown.
Lots of lime Green lots of color period but its cherry and eclectic style will lift your spirits.
Good choice as opposed to a Hilton. We hung out on patio with her one night had wine and appetizers served then hit a movie!

  • Stayed February 2012, traveled with family
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Value
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Location
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Service
Helpful?
Thank Karen E
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Ryan P, Manager at Hotel Indigo St Petersburg Downtown North, responded to this review, November 1, 2012
Thank you for the wonderful review! We look forward to seeing you on your next visit!

Regards,

Ryan Preller
Director of Operations
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

462 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    130
    157
    84
    48
    43
See reviews for
94
153
22
81
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (102)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Milwaukee, Wisconsin
Level Contributor
3 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
3 of 5 stars Reviewed October 25, 2012

I came into town the 11th thru the 13th of October for a benefit race for my future father-in-law. I'm a seasoned business traveler, but I've never been or even heard of this brand associated wtih Hilton. I thought I'd give it a try because the location was perfect for walking to the pier and other downtown locations.
ENTRANCE:
very inviting and relaxing. The porch area had outdoor couches and chairs that make lounging outside comfortable.
LOBBY:
The 'lobby' area is trendy, but in a fun, key west vibe. The hotel has a small, B&B feel without the feeling that you're on top of eachother. This is the botique angle I'm sure Hilton is trying to channel and it works. The check-in process is just like any other hotel and the staff was professional enough.
ROOM:
We had a king, non-smoking room that had plenty of area to move around. The bed and pillows were some of the most comfortable I've had the pleasure of experiencing in a hotel. The bathroom was shockingly small, and reminded me of my travels in Europe. While some might find this as a negative, I simply feel we really don't need that extra space and this is a more effiicent use of the area. Being 6'6", the shower was plenty high enough and it had enough room. The Aveda products were a nice touch. The only solid complaint came from my fiancee who observed there weren't nearly enough plugs for the dryer, flatiron, and toothbrush. The room had the same look and feel as the rest of the hotel.
SERVICE:
This is where the wheels came off. Generally speaking the hotel performed well, however we had an issue where the cleaning staff failed to clean our room. I contacted the front desk on my cell phone because the house phone didn't work properly. When I reached the associate, I advised her that the room was still dirty (it was now 430pm) and that I needed towels immediately at the very least. She stated that she'd talk with the manager and get back to me in 10 minutes ??!!? Needless to say, there were no towels or call in 30 minutes and we had to leave for the event. Upon our return to the room, 4 new towels, the bed linen wasn't changed but the bed was made. And none of the room had been cleaned. For $150/nt, I expected better service.
SUMMARY:
All in all not a bad place, don't think I'd stay here again, but I wouldn't be disuade anyone from trying it out. This has a small hotel feel to it (aka intimate) and if you like that, you'll like this place. I just think that the staff needs a little polishing. This location was absolutly perfect. Don't forget to stop at Ceviche, excellent restaurant down the street!

  • Stayed October 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 3 of 5 stars
      Value
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Location
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 stars
      Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Cleanliness
    • 2 of 5 stars
      Service
Helpful?
Thank Relaxing99
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Ryan P, Manager at Hotel Indigo St Petersburg Downtown North, responded to this review, November 1, 2012
Thank you for taking the time to complete such a detailed review of your stay. We value our guest feedback, as it shows us our areas of opportunity. I am glad that overall you had good stay, but I want to make sure that your next stay is a great one! The service issues that you had are not the norm for our property, and I will make sure to address with the staff. We strive to take care of all of our guests, and that begins with great service.

I hope that we get another chance to welcome you back in the near future. Please feel free to contact me directly at 727-822-4814 ext# 415 if you would like to speak with me further.

Regards,

Ryan Preller
Director of Operations
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Tel Aviv, Israel
Level Contributor
34 reviews
20 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 10 helpful votes
3 of 5 stars Reviewed October 24, 2012

I stayed for 3 nights at this hotel on October 15, during a business trip.
I chose it because it was 5 minutes from where I had to work in downtown. Very basic and narrow rooms, mine didn't have a desk or a coffee table. The bathroom looked as it had seen better times, especially the walls, ceiling and door. Elevator access to my room was limited, and had to carry my luggage upon 5 stairs to and from my room.
Nonetheless it was clean and quiet; the staff was friendly and welcoming, the surroundings nice, good restaurants close by, close to the marina.
In the whole it was too expensive for what it offered, if it were not for the location I would not recommend it. For the same price you could stay at Hampton Inn or Hilton close by.

Room Tip: Rooms that face the back are quiet..
See more room tips
  • Stayed October 2012, traveled on business
    • 2 of 5 stars
      Value
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Location
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Sleep Quality
    • 2 of 5 stars
      Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Service
Helpful?
Thank fyalie
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Ryan P, Manager at Hotel Indigo St Petersburg Downtown North, responded to this review, November 1, 2012
Thank you for taking the time to review your stay. I am a little troubled that your room didn't have a desk in it, as all of our rooms have a desk. Some of our rooms are smaller than others as our building was built in the 1920's before the cookie cutter design of the newer hotels today.

Hopefully you will give us another chance to show you why we are better than a Hilton or Hampton Inn. Please feel free to contact me directly when you return to Saint Petersburg, so I can ensure you get one of our Deluxe Rooms.

Regards,

Ryan Preller
Director of Operations
727-822-4814 ext# 415
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Level Contributor
13 reviews
4 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 5 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed October 21, 2012

We stayed here for a night and loved it. Our room was clean and we loved the charm and old building feel. The lobby was welcoming and the staff was quite friendly. It is just a short walk to the restaurants and sights. We stayed at the Hilton st. Pete during our last trip and liked the lively feel of hotel indigo much better. The overflow parking lot was a little interesting, but wasn't a problem. I'd pick this 3 1/2 star over the others in the area any day.

  • Stayed October 2012
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Value
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Location
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Service
Helpful?
Thank Brirene
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Albuquerque
Level Contributor
66 reviews
42 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 20 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed October 17, 2012

Stayed here as part of a Week long 5 city baseball trip... The staff was super helpful. Hotel is very clean and well take care of. Could not say more about it. Very comfortable room! Was almost like being at home! The Staff... The Staff... They are amazing... I have worked in hospitality for almost a decade, this hotel has the right people. Racquel is perfect, i would stay here again based on her alone! Even though my dad is slow, and ate not one but 2 dog biscuits off the counter! gotta love fun times!

Room Tip: You will love it!
See more room tips
  • Stayed September 2012, traveled with family
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Value
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Location
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Service
Helpful?
1 Thank GabeFranchise
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Bethesda, Maryland
Level Contributor
15 reviews
6 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 10 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed October 9, 2012

During a weekend stay, we were particularly struck by the high quality of the staff. Everyone we encountered--from the check-in desk to the restaurant--knew the meaning of hospitality and created a friendly, comfortable experience. When condensation from an interior air conditioner dripped to the floor, the staff responded immediately to our call--and the first question we got was to inquire whether any of our clothes had gotten wet. (They hadn't, and the issue was very minor: I bring it up only to sing the praise of a staff that pays attention to the guests). The restaurant offers a properly priced selection of healthy choices--a welcome change from over-priced high cholesterol meals that are often hotel fare. Parking is convenient, on the hotel property--also welcome in a downtown hotel.

  • Stayed October 2012, traveled with family
    • 3 of 5 stars
      Value
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Location
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 stars
      Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Service
Helpful?
Thank Jim G
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Orlando, Florida
Level Contributor
12 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
4 of 5 stars Reviewed October 2, 2012

The Hotel Indigo is owned by the same company that owns Holiday Inn. However, the experience is completely different. The hotel is much smaller than average, but service is their number one priority. Anytime I needed something, the front desk person would help without an issue.

When you pull up to the hotel, there is a nice patio area outside to sit and hang out. Inside, the Hotel Indigo features bright green and pink modern decor, which is unlike other hotels I've stayed at.

The hotel did have a semi-rustic feel, especially the doors and door knobs. But the furniture was all new, almost as if I was the first person to stay in my room. The room was spacious, but the bathroom was a little small.

I look forward to staying in more Hotel Indigo properties in the near future.

Room Tip: A quick tip: if you're traveling with 2 or more people, book your room for 3-4 guests, so that y...
See more room tips
  • Stayed September 2012, traveled on business
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Value
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Location
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Service
Helpful?
Thank Nick M
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these St. Petersburg hotels
0.2 mi away
Hollander Hotel
Hollander Hotel
#3 of 42 in St. Petersburg
4.5 of 5 stars 1,058 reviews
0.3 mi away
Hampton Inn and Suites St. Petersburg Downtown
0.5 mi away
Hilton St Petersburg Bayfront
Hilton St Petersburg Bayfront
#9 of 42 in St. Petersburg
3.5 of 5 stars 1,261 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.1 mi away
The Cordova Inn
The Cordova Inn
#20 of 42 in St. Petersburg
4.0 of 5 stars 346 reviews
0.9 mi away
Staybridge Suites St. Petersburg Downtown
0.3 mi away
Ponce De Leon Hotel
Ponce De Leon Hotel
#13 of 42 in St. Petersburg
3.5 of 5 stars 508 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Hotel Indigo St Petersburg Downtown North? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Hotel Indigo St Petersburg Downtown North

Property: Hotel Indigo St Petersburg Downtown North
Address: 234 3rd Ave N, St. Petersburg, FL 33701-3322
Phone Number:
Location: United States > Florida > St. Petersburg
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Center with Internet Access Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Restaurant Room Service Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
Ranked #15 of 42 Hotels in St. Petersburg
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$
Hotel Class:3 star — Hotel Indigo St Petersburg Downtown North 3*
Number of rooms: 71
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Imagine a 100% smoke free sophisticated boutique hotel whose focus is delivering guests peace, serenity and renewal. Quite deliberately, the Hotel Indigo St. Petersburg Downtown has been designed as an oasis for travelers who yearn for an escape from the common hotel, but still need the convenience of a 24-hour fitness center, pool, whirlpool and Phi Restaurant. Just a short drive to the Tampa International Airport (TPA), Hotel Indigo St. Petersburg Downtown is within walking distance to The Pier, Museum of Fine Arts, Mahaffey Theater and one mile from the Dali Museum and Tropicana Field, home of the Rays. Nearby attractions include: Sunken Gardens, Great Explorations and art galleries. No visit is complete without a trip to the electric nightlife of Central Avenue and Jannus Landings. Hotel Indigo offers each guest a blend of modern contemporary living with the best in traditional hotel hospitality. Curl up in our over-sized beds with plush bedding, duvets with covers, pillow shams and plenty of fluffy pillows while you relax and watch our 32' LCD televisions. Complimentary wireless Internet access throughout the hotel is at your fingertips or use our business center if you prefer. Relax and enjoy our quick serve Bistro The Phi Restaurant and Lounge for cutting edge cuisine or grab a latte where we proudly brew Starbucks coffee. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, TripOnline SA, IHG, Hotels.com, Expedia, Hotwire, Travelocity, Odigeo and Priceline so you can book your Hotel Indigo St Petersburg Downtown North reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Hotel Indigo St Petersburg

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing