We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“A Great Family Gathering for a Wedding Celebration”

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 2 more sites!
Watergarden Inn at the Bay
Certificate of Excellence
Reviewed December 1, 2013

What a wonderful weekend we had! We could not have asked for anything better, from the graciousness of our hosts (Bill and Wilder), the comfortable accommodations, the cleanliness of the facilities, the warm hospitality, the attention to detail and the use of the entire property for our family and friends from throughout Florida and the Northeast for our son's wedding. We had visited many hotels/B&Bs in St. Pete 6 months before our event, and decided that the Watergarden would fit our needs. What a great decision! Bill and Wilder accommodated our every need, holding all 14 guest rooms for our family/friends. Even with many changes in reservations, they were never flustered and always honored their commitment to us. The pool/outdoor space provided a great backdrop for the afternoon of the wedding and served as the venue for our impromptu groomsmen lunch. The steady flow of visitors was always greeted with a smile and warm hospitality. It was a perfect setting for our discerning guests! Thank you for a memorable weekend. . . . we look forward to returning in the near future!

  • Stayed: November 2013, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank Patrece R
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a ReviewReviews (412)
Traveler rating
Traveler type
Time of year
Language

218 - 224 of 412 reviews

Reviewed November 21, 2013

I was originally looking for a hotel with a balcony view of the bay for our family vacation but the only place with balconies is the Vinoy Rennaissance Hotel. After booking two rooms and several phone calls later for a one a bedroom suite with living room and adjoining 2nd bedroom, I received a confirmation for a balcony bay view suite and a garden view second room? HUH? How can those be "adjoing"? More phone calls later being bounced between central reservations and the property itself, being told that one room is in the old section and the suite is in the "Tower", I cancelled my reservation!

Then I stumbled upon The Watergarden Inn at the Bay. Wilder couldn't have been nicer and more helpful on the phone when I explained I'd be traveling with my 83 year old Dad & his lady friend so we needed a stand up shower and not a bathtub arrangement. (All rooms have private baths!) She provided the rooms that would be appropriate and also mentioned their additional guest cottage next door which had a porch and a separate upstairs "apartment" where my sister, brother-in-law and I could stay. This was perfect! The perfect arrangement, perfect location near museums, great restaurants, shops, nightlife and 1 block from the bay!

The continental breakfast with Cappuccino every morning was lovely, the featherbeds very comfortable, and we could not have had a nicer stay. The Watergarden Inn is right in the midst of where you want to stay in St. Petersburg so I highly reccomend this little gem! You will be very happy even if Bed & Breakfasts are not your usual choice!

Room Tip: All the rooms are beautiful and they have great pictures online. If you're looking for a little...
See more room tips
  • Stayed: November 2013, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank VG_VS_2013
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed November 7, 2013

My husband had our first kid free weekend and a late anniversary get away here in June of 2013 and it was the perfect place to stay. The bathroom was to die for with a jacuzzi tub and a waterfall shower head - I would live there if possible! The hosts were incredibly sweet and helpful with suggestions of things to visit in the area, and breakfast there on our last morning was delicious! The stores, restaurants, and bar scene just a block or two away were a ton of fun to walk around and we even got to walk over to the Dali Museum a few blocks away along a gorgeous harbor! Thanks for a wonderful stay this summer, we can't wait to come visit again!

  • Stayed: June 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank 422beccar
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed November 5, 2013

Booked this BNB based on the wonderful reviews on trip advisor. Once booked was sent an email from the owners that they would be out of town but would have "sitters" whom they've used before. Didn't think this would effect the quality of service but believe in my personal experience it did. We had rented a full size king cab pick up truck to move furniture and household goods to my adult son who lives nearby so felt this would be a welcoming "home" for after the long drive from Atlanta and once the unloading was done. Parking is tight for this size truck a normal size car would fit better. We made sure to park on the end of the parking lot to easily get in/out. Not a problem. We didn't get a warm fuzzy welcoming, but was showed to our room with the key we were given opening the door. The room was clean and stocked nicely upon arrival (great!!) , We stayed 2 nights. So the next day ..... came back to our room to find the coffee was not restocked, nor the bath amenities, water, etc. Towels were replaced/clean and bed made. But heck even hotels replace these. We did rent the smaller room I was told so yes the bathroom is smaller and only one person can get ready at a time, the shower smaller (thankfully we are small people). The pool was refreshing/relaxing and towels provided for pool use. Breakfast I did not feel was fresh as the same exact things were offered both Saturday and Sunday when we were there and microwave the quiche on both days? It made me wonder how long it was there before we arrived on Saturday? Coffee was available to make yourself in the breakfast area. But even that was not restocked on Saturday (slim pickings of flavors/choices). We did see a basket of snacks in the entranceway on while leaving for the day so picked up a few of those to only realize later they had expired in April ???? This was now labor day weekend 5 months later? The house sitter did not interact with us at all other then Monday when we checked out THEN asked us if we needed any recommendations on things to do. I just said we are now going home. I think it would've been a completely different experience with the owners rather then the inn sitters in reading the reviews. But was not aware of this situation until AFTER we booked our room and made our plans for the holiday weekend. For the details of room maintaining for guests, food quality and unfriendliness of the sitters is why I gave this the rating I did. I have stayed at several BNBs this felt more like a hotel that we were inconvenience being there during our stay. However everything is in walking distance so once parked we were able to simply walk to nearby restaurants, attractions so it is close to all you would want to see and do.

Room Tip: Ask about the size of the shower/bathroom some maybe be better options for some.
See more room tips
  • Stayed: September 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Terri2south
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Gasparilla1, Owner at Watergarden Inn at the Bay, responded to this reviewResponded November 10, 2013

Wow! So sorry that your experience at Watergarden Inn at the Bay wasn't what you hoped for. It's not what we want either! Yes, we were on a vacation during the time of your stay, and we brought in an experienced inn sitter who, thankfully, received very positive reviews from many of our guests. When you booked online in June, we didn't have our plans set and we notified all guests once we knew we would be away. Certainly if anyone wished to cancel, we would have honored that and suggested alternative accommodations.

Our breakfast, as described on our website, is a Key West style continental buffet. On busy weekends, we usually bring in freshly made quiche from a nearby caterer. We always try to offer enough selection to give guests plenty of choices, even if there is overlap from one day to the next - and we love to make cappuccinos for anyone who's up for a treat.

Your room should have had the coffee re-stocked. That was an oversight and we apologize. We happily re-stock shampoos, soaps, etc. if it appears that guests are running low. As far as expiration dates on pretzel snacks go, we're not sure how that happened. We order these regularly because they don't last long. We'll definitely watch for expiration dates.

You booked one of our smallest rooms, Hibiscus, and, as you say, the bathroom is pretty compact. As in most old inns, our rooms vary significantly and we can suggest options if there are particular features that are important to you.

We're glad your truck fit in our parking place. Parking is at a premium in downtown Saint Petersburg. Most hotels charge extra for parking (and WIFI). These are included at Watergarden. Glad also that you were able to enjoy the pool, as we're one of the few small properties that have one.

We hope you'll try us again. If you want a made-to-order breakfast, we still probably won't meet your needs, but we always enjoy meeting and getting to know our guests.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed October 27, 2013

My husband and I spent two nights at Watergarden Inn at the Bay. Wilder and Bill were perfect hosts and made us feel welcome. The location of the Inn is close to restaurants and shops and a short walk to the Dali Museum. The restaurant recommendations they made were great. The breakfasts selections are plentiful - hot or cold cereal, fruit, pastries, bagels, toast or muffins with coffee selections and juice. Our room was very comfortable and well appointed with a featherbed. Parking is convenient behind the building. The pool area is very nice and relaxing. I would highly recommend staying at Watergarden.

  • Stayed: October 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank DebraH48152
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed October 26, 2013

This is a charming old Florida bed & breakfast. Bill & Wilder are gracious hosts and keep a tidy but inviting establishment. We stayed for the weekend as part of a wedding on premises. They were more than accommodating and all had a great time & stay. We will be recommending this Inn to all who find themselves staying in the downtown area.

  • Stayed: October 2013
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank topshlf126
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed October 19, 2013

My wife and I stayed at the Watergarden Inn on our visit to St. Pete. We found the hosts to be very friendly and attentive. We choose the Watergarden due to it's excellent location to the events in St. Pete. It's close enough to walk to the entertainment areas, but set back enough to provide a quiet and relaxing atmosphere. The Inn was fantastic, breakfast was wonderful and to our delight, the pool was absolutely gorgeous. We plan to return!

Room Tip: Our room on the east side was very bright in the morning. We will try a west facing room the next t...
See more room tips
  • Stayed: August 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Doug_Hilmes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these St. Petersburg hotels
0.4 mi away
Avalon Hotel
Avalon Hotel
#1 of 43 in St. Petersburg
243 reviews
0.3 mi away
Hollander Hotel
Hollander Hotel
#2 of 43 in St. Petersburg
1,455 reviews
0.3 mi away
Hampton Inn and Suites St. Petersburg Downtown
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.3 mi away
Hyatt Place St. Petersburg / Downtown
Hyatt Place St. Petersburg / Dow...
#10 of 43 in St. Petersburg
113 reviews
8.2 mi away
Hilton Saint Petersburg Carillon Park
0.3 mi away
The Inn on Third
The Inn on Third
#5 of 43 in St. Petersburg
616 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Watergarden Inn at the Bay? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Watergarden Inn at the Bay

Address: 126 4th Ave NE, St. Petersburg, FL 33701-3402
Phone Number:
Location: United States > Florida > St. Petersburg
Amenities:
Business Center with Internet Access Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
Ranked #1 of 6 B&Bs / Inns in St. Petersburg
Price Range: $158 - $332 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:3.5 star — Watergarden Inn at the Bay 3.5*
Number of rooms: 14
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Discover your private oasis on over 1/2 acre in the heart of downtown. Steps away from Beach Drive shops and restaurants, fabulous museums, exciting sports venues, picturesque waterfront and marinas. Watergarden Inn at the Bay offers gracious accommodations and warm hospitality to travelers who enjoy privacy and comfort. 14 unique rooms & suites from Luxurious to romantic. Lounge by our pool or a private garden spot. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Hotels.com, Expedia, Travelocity and Orbitz so you can book your Watergarden Inn at the Bay reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing