We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“perfect honeymoon”

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 2 more sites!
Watergarden Inn at the Bay
Certificate of Excellence
new york
1 review
“perfect honeymoon”
Reviewed July 19, 2008

My new wife and I stayed at the Inn at the Bay for the first two nights of our honeymoon, and it was PERFECT. Beautiful room, wonderful, comfortable, king size bed...The owner Dennis was very hospitable, friendly, and helpful, as were all working there at the Inn. The breakfast was tasty and filling, complete with fresh fruit and nice presentation. The whirlpool tub was fantastic, one of the highlights of the room as it is difficult to find a hotel that has this amenity without charging an outrageous price, especially being so close to the water. Close to everything, including nice restaurants. Hope to stay here again on one of our anniversaries. Would highly reccomend Inn at the Bay for any couple seeking a romantic getaway.

  • Liked — customer service, unique room
  • Stayed July 2008, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Check in / front desk
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
    • Business service (e.g., internet access)
Helpful?
Thank honeymooner20
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

401 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    350
    39
    9
    3
    0
See reviews for
39
238
29
22
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (79)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Indiana
1 review
Reviewed June 18, 2008

Dennis and Jewly have created a gem and you don't want to miss their unique brand of hospitality. The Inn is merely steps to the ocean waters of the bay at the pristine marina and park, the cosmopolitan cultural mecca of the Old Northeast section of St. Petersburg, a host of other B&Bs and boutique hotels, as well as the finest and widest selection of dining you will find anywhere. But don’t plan to dine out until evening because the innkeepers serve sumptuous 2-course breakfast fare that we have seldom seen in our decades of B&B stays; you will need all day to feel hunger again after these generous portions and stick-to-your-ribs servings chosen by the innkeeps. We stayed 4 days and were served no two breakfasts alike. And prepare to sleep like logs in the luxurious feather beds! We found ourselves hesitant to be separated from their extravagant comfort. Only a few miles to the award-winning Fort De Soto Beach, but we saw dolphins at the bay only steps from the Inn!
First rate robes, DVD and CD players, Ethernet and wireless Internet, huge whirlpool tub, in-room coffee pot, and fresh-baked goodies on our bed every day made this an unforgettable stay. Amenities abound including ample courtyard filled with exotic plants, flowers and koi pond, private gazebo, lighted deck with plush wicker furnishings and a balcony overlooking the courtyard with bistro seating. A custom fireplace and sitting parlor flank the sunny game room which houses a large collection of local art from a group known as “The Highwaymen” and the business center (computer with Internet access and printer). We loved having our own climate control in our memorable suite, The Dolphin Room. Generous discounts for multiple nights make this super affordable and a steal for the price.
The gracious hosts are supreme and the Inn sublime. Five stars! Definitely a “Don’t Miss”. We’ll be back.

  • Liked — Heavenly beds and sumptous 2-course breakfasts
  • Disliked — Cannot think of anything!
  • Stayed June 2008, traveled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Check in / front desk
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
    • Business service (e.g., internet access)
Helpful?
Thank 4Petessake
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
greenville, sc
Level Contributor
112 reviews
22 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 149 helpful votes
Reviewed May 22, 2008

Just returned from a two night midweek stay at the Inn at the Bay.
CF was the innkeeper with whom we had most contact and he was always available but never intrusive. He was excellent in providing directions, suggestions, and accurate information about the area enabling us to get the most out of our too short stay.

The location was excellent for downtown attractions and Tropicana Field. If you are not up for walking (and there were no major downtown attractions that were not within 20 minute or less walk from the inn), there is a thorough downtown trolley with a stop right around the corner rom the inn.

The bed in the room was very comfortable and the room was decorated with obvious affection. The double whirlpool bath/rainforest shower felt luxurious and the housekeeping was immaculate.

As for the breakfasts, I applaud the Inn's efforts to be out of the ordinary. Breakfast the first morning was excellent, the second morning was not as pleasing to my palate. But different strokes and my sense is that the breakfasts at the Inn are consistently of high quality.

My wife and I are already planning a return trip to the area and would have no hesitation staying at the Inn at the Bay again.

  • Liked — Friendliness, comfort,cleanliness, location
  • Stayed May 2008, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Check in / front desk
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank deepfreud
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Florida Space Coast
1 review
Reviewed April 1, 2008

My husband and I celebrated our 20th wedding anniversary at this beautiful bed & breakfast. We wanted to do something different for us and special, and it was! Dennis was so nice and welcoming right from the start. Throughout our stay he was available to us when needed but not intrusive. Our room...the honeymoon suite on the 3rd floor... was spotless. I wanted to take the bed home! It was so soft and comfortable! On our first night stay, while we were out to dinner, Dennis decorated our room with rose petals, had chocolate covered strawberries on a platter for us, and a chilled bottle of champagne. We did order all of these items, but didn't expect it to be so beautiful. The lights were down low with lit candles in the fireplace. Just exquisite. The Inn was charming with amazing attention to detail. The breakfasts were absolutely delicious! Thank you, Dennis, for your care towards us, and for helping to make our anniversary at your beautiful Inn a special and memorable time that we will always remember.

Stayed March 2008
Helpful?
Thank grace777
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Southampton, UK.
1 review
Reviewed February 8, 2008

From the moment of arrival Dennis & Jewly catered for our needs in every way possible. We stayed in the Dolphin room which was absolutely amazing. The most comfortable beds with the most amazing hot tub. We will be coming back here in the near future. Don't bother paying for a substandard hotel, look up the Inn At The Bay when in St. Petersburg!!

All the best, Justin & Alicia. :-)

  • Liked — The bed/hot tub.
  • Disliked — Stairs!
  • Stayed January 2008, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Check in / front desk
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
    • Business service (e.g., internet access)
Helpful?
Thank Jkw777
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Miami, FL
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 3 helpful votes
Reviewed February 1, 2008

The cliche "once you go 1st class, you can't fly coach" actually finds meaning with the Inn at the Bay. I've never experienced a B&B and had the best, stress free, romantic getaway weekend imaginable.

They excel in every level of quality that measure's a stay. My room was spacious and described accurately. The staff and owner (didn't get to meet the Mrs.) were courteous and a pleasure to talk with. Fresh made cookies readily accessible. The small, yet private courtyard was a both romantic and relaxing. Each morning we were greeted with a exquisitely prepared and absolutely delicious breakfast. Location was walking distance to the museums, restaurants, bay and pier.

We an incredible time and recommend it everyone.

Stayed December 2007
Helpful?
3 Thank Mia33138
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
New Albany, Ohio
Level Contributor
15 reviews
11 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 14 helpful votes
Reviewed January 31, 2008

My wife and I stayed at the Inn at the Bay for two nights, January 9 and 10. We reserved the Hibiscus room. The B&B is in a terrific location, only a short walk to the Bay and to the city. It is convenient to everything. We walked everywhere, the farthest point being to the outstanding Salvador Dali museum. Upon arrival we were amicably greeted by owner Dennis who assisted us with our luggage. The Hibiscus room was both lovely and comfortable. The breakfasts consisted of two very tasty and nicely prepared courses served by their friendly cook. Free parking is behind the inn. Our stay there was perfect.

  • Liked — Location and inviting atmosphere of the B&B
  • Disliked — Nothing
  • Stayed January 2008, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Check in / front desk
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Business service (e.g., internet access)
Helpful?
Thank TravelWithZim
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these St. Petersburg hotels
0.3 mi away
Hollander Hotel
Hollander Hotel
#3 of 42 in St. Petersburg
1,342 reviews
0.5 mi away
Hilton St Petersburg Bayfront
Hilton St Petersburg Bayfront
#10 of 42 in St. Petersburg
1,561 reviews
0.3 mi away
Hampton Inn and Suites St. Petersburg Downtown
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
1.1 mi away
Staybridge Suites St. Petersburg Downtown
0.3 mi away
The Inn on Third
The Inn on Third
#5 of 42 in St. Petersburg
584 reviews
0.4 mi away
Avalon Hotel
Avalon Hotel
#4 of 42 in St. Petersburg
127 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Watergarden Inn at the Bay? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Watergarden Inn at the Bay

Property: Watergarden Inn at the Bay
Address: 126 4th Ave NE, St. Petersburg, FL 33701-3402
Phone Number:
Location: United States > Florida > St. Petersburg
Amenities:
Business Center with Internet Access Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
Ranked #1 of 5 B&Bs / Inns in St. Petersburg
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$
Number of rooms: 14
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Discover your private oasis on over 1/2 acre in the heart of downtown. Steps away from Beach Drive shops and restaurants, fabulous museums, exciting sports venues, picturesque waterfront and marinas. Watergarden Inn at the Bay offers gracious accommodations and warm hospitality to travelers who enjoy privacy and comfort. 14 unique rooms & suites from Luxurious to romantic. Lounge by our pool or a private garden spot. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Hotels.com, Hotwire and Orbitz so you can book your Watergarden Inn at the Bay reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing