We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“A lovely, welcoming place to stay”

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
Watergarden Inn at the Bay
Certificate of Excellence
Buckingham, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
69 reviews
16 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 36 helpful votes
“A lovely, welcoming place to stay”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed September 23, 2013

The Watergarden Inn is a really lovely place to stay. The property is furnished beautifully, the breakfast are delicious and plentiful, and best of all is the Keurig coffee/tea maker which makes a delicious cup of tea (very important to Brits abroad). The pool area is lovely and the water is warm (towels are provided). The Inn is situated about a 2 minute walk form the bay area where the main restaurants are located, so is right in the heart of town. Sadly we didn't meet the owners as they were on holiday's but their Inn Sitter Diane was wonderful, she really couldn't do enough for us, giving us tips on restaurants, and the "Looper" which is a trolley that loops around the town and bay that only cost 50c each, giving a guided tour of the area, and helping you get your bearings (best of all it is air conditioned!) We visited the Chihuly glass exhibition - I really cannot recommend it, and The Watergarden Inn highly enough.

  • Stayed September 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Stroudiepuss
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

395 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    347
    38
    7
    3
    0
See reviews for
39
233
28
22
Rating summary
  • Location
    5 of 5 bubbles
  • Sleep Quality
    5 of 5 bubbles
  • Rooms
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Service
    5 of 5 bubbles
  • Value
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Cleanliness
    5 of 5 bubbles
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (77)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Orlando, Florida
Level Contributor
3 reviews
3 hotel reviews
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed August 27, 2013

Went to St Pete for the Ray's game and D'Ali museum. Watergarden Inn at the Bay was the perfect location and quiet. We were able to walk to everything including the stadium but you can take the trolley if you don't want to walk.
Bill and Wilder were more than accommodating and offered a clean, great priced Inn with an excellent breakfast. We will be back.

Room Tip: We were being the office and we didn't hear anything
See more room tips
  • Stayed August 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Patricia G
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Merida, Mexico
Level Contributor
5 reviews
4 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 5 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed August 10, 2013

My husband and I thoroughly enjoyed our recent stay at this lovely inn. It so deserves it's number 1 ranking for B&Bs in St. Petersburg. The location is fantastic, steps away from all the restaurants, shops and museums on the Bay.
The owners, Bill and Wilder, were a pleasure to get to know. So much so that we booked a suite for a return in October.
The decor is very bright, clean and reminds you of Key West.
If visiting St. Petersburg you cannot do wrong by staying at the Watergarden Inn at the Bay. You will want to return, like us, for more!.
Kathie and Robert

  • Stayed August 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank kathiemhurt
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Level Contributor
4 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 3 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed August 5, 2013

We have been going to St. Pete for at least 10 years and have stayed in almost every historic property close to the Bay and the Pier. We chose the Dolphin Room as we were going for only one night. The room was spacious, clean, and extremely comfortable; complete with feather beds and Keurig coffee makers. Wilder and Bill are very informative and gracious hosts. We are already planning a return trip for the next few weeks. Leave the hotel behind and stay at the Watergarden Inn!

  • Stayed August 2013
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Cullenmw
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Florida
Level Contributor
18 reviews
7 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 13 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed August 5, 2013

Great little B&B to stay and it even has a pool to cool off after walking the downtown streets of St. Pete. Within walking distance to Beach Street and all of the restaurants, shopping and tourists traps. It has a Keurig coffee maker within your room. Rooms are clean. The beds have a feather mattress on top of the existing mattress that I could have done without due to the bunching of the feathers and it was uncomfortable. Owners of the Inn extremely nice and do make you feel welcome in their B&B. Continental breakfast was adequate along with another Keurig coffee maker and a cappucino maker. Directions should be posted how to operate the capuccino maker so that you do not have to rely on the Inn keeper for this.Taxi ride to the Rays game +/- $10.00 each way. Go with another couple and it is cut in half. Best way to go to the game...not have to worry about parking or paying the stadium parking fees.Wifi is great as well through out the building and even at the pool area.Bathroom is fine but could use a small cabinet or side table next to sink to place personal stuff on. Shelf above sink very small in the Manatee room for personal things.

Room Tip: Manatee room is on the alley side and is very quiet and on the 1st floor. They do have a ramp from t...
See more room tips
  • Stayed August 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank JS24
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
WilderW, Owner at Watergarden Inn at the Bay, responded to this review, August 7, 2013
It was wonderful having you stay with us at Watergarden Inn at the Bay and we appreciate the review! Next time you come, let us know that you'd prefer no feathers on the bed. We have several rooms without, or we can easily remove! Hope to see you again soon.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Rotonda West, Florida
Level Contributor
39 reviews
8 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 24 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed August 1, 2013

We chose this as a quick get away for our anniversary and were so glad that we did. This Inn is so cozy and comfortable and our innkeepers, Wilder and Bill could not have been more accommodating. They assisted us in finding 2 very special restaurants for our stay and providing us with directions and ideas of things to do. The gardens and pool area are beautiful. We really never needed to get in the car once we got there as everything is within an easy walking distance. Breakfast was very good with gourmet coffees, fruit pastries and even cereals.
This is definitely on our do again list !!!

Room Tip: We traveled with friends and chose the Hibiscus and Egret rooms so we could close the hall door and...
See more room tips
  • Stayed July 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Cindy H
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Palm Harbor, Florida
2 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed July 28, 2013

We've stayed at the Watergarden Inn for a couple of short, getaways. We live in the area - only 30 minutes away. It's very relaxing and quiet. The pool is an oasis, and even though we're Floridians, we enjoy just lounging by the pool with a good book. The owners are wonderful hosts and provide a wealth of local information on places to eat, etc. We love that we can park our car on arrival, and just walk to everything for the entire weekend. There are plenty of restaurants and things to do within walking distance. We will definitely return!

  • Stayed June 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Beverly W
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these St. Petersburg hotels
0.3 mi away
Hollander Hotel
Hollander Hotel
#4 of 42 in St. Petersburg
4.5 of 5 bubbles 1,291 reviews
1.1 mi away
Staybridge Suites St. Petersburg Downtown
0.3 mi away
Hampton Inn and Suites St. Petersburg Downtown
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.5 mi away
Hilton St Petersburg Bayfront
Hilton St Petersburg Bayfront
#10 of 42 in St. Petersburg
4.0 of 5 bubbles 1,507 reviews
0.3 mi away
The Inn on Third
The Inn on Third
#2 of 42 in St. Petersburg
4.5 of 5 bubbles 571 reviews
0.4 mi away
Avalon Hotel
Avalon Hotel
#7 of 42 in St. Petersburg
4.5 of 5 bubbles 105 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Watergarden Inn at the Bay? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Watergarden Inn at the Bay

Property: Watergarden Inn at the Bay
Address: 126 4th Ave NE, St. Petersburg, FL 33701-3402
Phone Number:
Location: United States > Florida > St. Petersburg
Amenities:
Business Center with Internet Access Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
Ranked #1 of 6 B&Bs / Inns in St. Petersburg
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$
Number of rooms: 14
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Discover your private oasis on over 1/2 acre in the heart of downtown. Steps away from Beach Drive shops and restaurants, fabulous museums, exciting sports venues, picturesque waterfront and marinas. Watergarden Inn at the Bay offers gracious accommodations and warm hospitality to travelers who enjoy privacy and comfort. 14 unique rooms & suites from Luxurious to romantic. Lounge by our pool or a private garden spot. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Hotwire so you can book your Watergarden Inn at the Bay reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing