We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Cozy and welcoming”

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 2 more sites!
Watergarden Inn at the Bay
Certificate of Excellence
Reviewed March 17, 2013

Our review mirrors those on here as well. We had a 3-night stay at Watergarden on a short trip for Spring Training baseball March 9-11. Bill and Wilder are most-welcoming hosts, preparing a light but delicious continental breakfast spread for us every morning (Bill's cappuccino is a MUST!). Less than 2 blocks to the ocean/pier, the only thing that we noted was that there is some street traffic (we stayed in the 2nd-floor Egret room) but it was on a Saturday night and this is "high season". Within easy walking distance of Chihuly, P. Buckley Moss studio, several sidewalk cafes and other must-sees (do take in the Dali!), we would go back again in a heartbeat and very much appreciate their hospitality.

Room Tip: Weekends may be a little noisier with the rooms facing the street, but not bad.
See more room tips
  • Stayed: March 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank pegpaw
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a ReviewReviews (412)
Traveler rating
Traveler type
Time of year
Language

252 - 258 of 412 reviews

Reviewed March 11, 2013

Lovely B&B in heart of St. Petersburg. Everything is in walking distance from here- shops, great restaurants, the waterfront, pier and museums. Bill and Wilder are terrific hosts. By the time we left (we stayed 1 week) I felt like we were old friends. They were so friendly and accommodating. No request seemed too hard to fill. It was great waking up every morning to Bill's happy demeanor offering to make me one of his killer cappuccino's. Our room was absolutely lovely and so comfortable. We stayed in the Sailboat room which was a large suite with an amazingly comfortable antique bed and other furnishings along with a flat screen tv. The only thing that was a little awkward there was one of the posts from the bed was in the middle of the TV no matter where you were in the bed trying to watch. The room had a non working fireplace and large bathroom with jacuzzi tub which was so wonderful to use after a long day touring the city. One of the most fun things we did was use the bikes that Bill and Wilder make available and rode for about 8 miles around the St. Pete waterfront. Stunning! The only other thing that was a little bit of a bummer was that the heated pool was not so warm the first day that we got to use it after a 3 day cold spell, but that wouldn't keep us from going back. All in all we had a lovely stay and this is one of the best B&B's we've ever stayed at. Highly recommend.

  • Stayed: February 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank artsygirl
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed March 7, 2013

We were going to be in St. Petersburg and hoped to find a nice place that was near the museums, restaurants, and everything else the bay area has to offer. This B&B had stellar reviews, so we booked a room. What a great place! The innkeepers are personable and helpful. The location is convenient to everything. We parked the car (they have their own lot) and walked or took the trolley everywhere. Our room was nicely furnished and comfortable, with a whirlpool tub, a walk-in shower and a Keurig coffee maker. There are nice common areas where you could sit and talk or read. The grounds were beautifully designed and maintained, with a pool that looked like fun, but weather in the 40s kept us out of the water. Oh, and the breakfast! Sometimes at a B&B you have a short window of time to get up and eat, but here you have plenty of time to sleep in a bit and still have breakfast. It's served buffet style, with enough variety to suit most anybody. Bill is happy to make you an espresso, too.
Watergarden Inn at the Bay helped to make our short trip a memorable vacation. We look forward to returning soon.

  • Stayed: March 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Dancer812
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed March 6, 2013

The Inn is located one block from great restaurants, art and the bay area of St. Pete. The owners could not have been more accommodating. Our room was lovely. The pool is private and the grounds are lush and private. And, parking is free!!! We would definitely return to this wonderful inn.

  • Stayed: March 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank candice8165
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed March 4, 2013 via mobile

St Petersburg is a beautiful town. On one of the best streets right off the bay you'll find the Water Garden Inn owned and run by a couple from Seattle. They have already won an award for their renovation. Or should I say preservation, and for their landscaping. The pool and lush surroundings are a fine retreat right in the middle of downtown. Bill and Wilder are more like gracious hosts than b&b proprietors. My room was a little bit small but very comfy with a huge whirlpool tub--also very quiet and serene. This is my new favorite home in St Pete.

  • Stayed: February 2013
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank urbaneexplorer
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed March 1, 2013

We echo all other positive comments below, good location, very friendly and helpful owners and an excellent healthy breakfast. We are keen on good coffee and Bill also seems to enjoy serving good coffee to his guests with Nespresso (type) machines in all bedrooms as well as the kitchen and lounge areas. We had an enjoyable day on bikes and came back to an oasis of calm and a lovely swimming pool. They deserve to do well and to be NUMBER 1.

Room Tip: We had egret room on the front but there was no traffic noise at night.
See more room tips
  • Stayed: February 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank 2Turners
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed February 25, 2013

Great location, one block off the bay between the Chihuly glass and Dali's painting. Watergarden is an oasis of peace and quiet. Wil and Bill are friendly helpful and entertaining without being intrusive. Interesting clean rooms. And when you add their pool to all there is to do just a step out the door it's like your own little upscale resort. Very reasonable rates as well. You wont go wrong here.

Room Tip: Free off street parking as well
See more room tips
  • Stayed: February 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank pnutandbensparents
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these St. Petersburg hotels
0.4 mi away
Avalon Hotel
Avalon Hotel
#1 of 43 in St. Petersburg
243 reviews
0.3 mi away
Hollander Hotel
Hollander Hotel
#2 of 43 in St. Petersburg
1,455 reviews
0.3 mi away
Hampton Inn and Suites St. Petersburg Downtown
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.3 mi away
Hyatt Place St. Petersburg / Downtown
Hyatt Place St. Petersburg / Dow...
#10 of 43 in St. Petersburg
113 reviews
8.2 mi away
Hilton Saint Petersburg Carillon Park
0.3 mi away
The Inn on Third
The Inn on Third
#5 of 43 in St. Petersburg
616 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Watergarden Inn at the Bay? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Watergarden Inn at the Bay

Address: 126 4th Ave NE, St. Petersburg, FL 33701-3402
Phone Number:
Location: United States > Florida > St. Petersburg
Amenities:
Business Center with Internet Access Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
Ranked #1 of 6 B&Bs / Inns in St. Petersburg
Price Range: $158 - $332 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:3.5 star — Watergarden Inn at the Bay 3.5*
Number of rooms: 14
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Discover your private oasis on over 1/2 acre in the heart of downtown. Steps away from Beach Drive shops and restaurants, fabulous museums, exciting sports venues, picturesque waterfront and marinas. Watergarden Inn at the Bay offers gracious accommodations and warm hospitality to travelers who enjoy privacy and comfort. 14 unique rooms & suites from Luxurious to romantic. Lounge by our pool or a private garden spot. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Hotels.com, Expedia, Travelocity and Orbitz so you can book your Watergarden Inn at the Bay reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing