We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Fun and funky!”

We can't find prices for this accommodation
Our online travel partners don't provide prices for this accommodation, but we can search other options in St. Petersburg
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Dickens House Bed and Breakfast
Certificate of Excellence
Reviewed November 25, 2013

My wife and I stayed at the Dickens House last Saturday, and found it delightful! Ed Caldwell is a most genial and helpful host--gave us much useful information about restaurant choices for that evening. The house is a lovingly restored Arts and Crafts masterpiece; our room was clean and most comfortable. We'll stay here again

Stayed: November 2013, traveled as a couple
Thank Addicotts
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review
Reviews (209)
Traveler rating
Traveler type
Time of year
Language

75 - 81 of 209 reviews

Reviewed October 30, 2013

We chose the Dickens house based on the tripadvisor reviews and we were extremely happy with our stay. The house is charming, decorated just right, comfortable, clean and in a very nice location. Ed the owner was a perfect host.....immediately like a good friend. Everything you need is readily available. Ed's breakfast's were fantastic and very relaxing. It's obvious that Ed has put a lot of time and effort into making the Dickens House so appealing! We stayed in the Dickens Suite and just loved it. The next time we are in St. Petersburg, there will be no question where we stay. Thanks again to Ed, we truly enjoyed our stay!
Marilyn & Xavier

  • Stayed: October 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Marilyn S
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed October 1, 2013

My wife and I recently stayed here for a long weekend and it was just the getaway we were looking for. Upon arrival, Ed was so warm and welcoming and made us both feel at home. The Dickens House has been beautifully restored and it was fascinating to hear Ed describe the history of the home. The breakfast each morning was delicious and always accompanied with good conversation. We left the Dickens House rejuvenated and relaxed...just what we needed.

  • Stayed: September 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank RobKral
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed September 17, 2013

My partner and I stayed at Dickens House in mid-June (our apologies Ed for this delayed review) and had an overall wonderful stay. Ed is an excellent (and knowledgeable) host and provided us with a delicious breakfast (and did not skimp on portion sizes, which we really appreciated) each day of our stay. Ed gave us great advice as to outdoor activities in the area and was very accommodating, providing us with beach towels, chairs and a cooler. Dickens House provides comfortable (and clean) accommodations and is located in a great neighborhood within walking distance (or trolley service) of museums, parks, the pier and fine dining. Overall, we had a fantastic stay and will be visiting again should our travel plans take us through St. Pete. Also, note that the Dali Museum is a must see.

  • Stayed: June 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank T F
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed September 15, 2013

We stayed with Ed for a week while we dropped our son off at college as a freshman at Eckerd College.
We were super busy all the time, but Ed really took care of us with great accommodations and fantastic breakfasts.
It's clean, comfortable and cool - despite us staying during August.
Ed is a fun and entertaining host with great knowledge of the St Petersburg area.
We met other guests from France, Italy, Switzerland and Germany and had many interesting conversations around the breakfast table.
Our son will be at Eckerd for a few years - we know where we will be staying when we come to visit! Strongly recommended!

  • Stayed: August 2013, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank nmac3320
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed September 9, 2013

I surprised my husband with a night away for his birthday and we had the best time! The owner, Ed was so warm and welcoming. I spent a long time looking at all the sites and his sounded the best. We were not disappointed. His breakfast is out of this world and the rooms were clean and comfy. I would stay back here in a heartbeat!.

Room Tip: Since it was a slow time of year,Ed let us have our choice and it was difficult to choose -we chose...
See more room tips
  • Stayed: September 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank cathy p
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed August 2, 2013

We, a family of 3 from Amsterdam, wanted to visit the best kept secret of Florida: The Frank LLoyd Wright constructions of the Florida South College in Lakeland. After some googling we found a B&B in St. Petersburg which looked very nice on the website. It did not tell that the owner, Ed Dickens, is a very exceptional host. The way we were invited in his house, the way he took care of us at the breakfast, the way he was interested in our little holiday stories and experiences, all of that was of a quality we don't come across very often. We loved it, and can sure advise everybody who is in the neighbourhood, to stay overnight at Ed's.

Room Tip: The cottage suite was our choice and it met our expectations to the fullest.
See more room tips
  • Stayed: July 2013, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank AZweerman
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these St. Petersburg hotels
0.6 mi away
Avalon Hotel
Avalon Hotel
#1 of 43 in St. Petersburg
194 reviews
0.6 mi away
Hollander Hotel
Hollander Hotel
#2 of 43 in St. Petersburg
1,400 reviews
0.6 mi away
The Inn on Third
The Inn on Third
#5 of 43 in St. Petersburg
602 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.6 mi away
Hampton Inn and Suites St. Petersburg Downtown
1.5 mi away
Staybridge Suites St. Petersburg Downtown
0.9 mi away
Hilton St Petersburg Bayfront
Hilton St Petersburg Bayfront
#11 of 43 in St. Petersburg
1,657 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Dickens House Bed and Breakfast? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Dickens House Bed and Breakfast

Address: 335 8th Ave NE, St. Petersburg, FL 33701-1904
Location: United States > Florida > St. Petersburg
Amenities:
Free Breakfast
Hotel Style:
Ranked #2 of 5 B&Bs / Inns in St. Petersburg
Price Range: $172 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Number of rooms: 5
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Recommended by NBC Today travel correspondent, Peter Greenberg, and listed in Frommer's - Florida, as the highest rated B&B in Tampa Bay. We have Rough Guide's only official "Recommended By" award in Tampa Bay. Extraordinary 1912 Arts and Crafts restoration featuring unpainted woodwork, casual but refined interiors, Wi-Fi, guest computer, whirlpool tubs, fine cotton linens, Egyptian towels. A multi course gourmet breakfast is served daily. National Historic district neighborhood and downtown location all in one! ... more   less 

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing