We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
Dickens House Bed and Breakfast
Our online travel partners don't provide prices for this accommodation but we can search other options in St. Petersburg
See available hotels
Nearby Hotels
Terrace Park Suites(St. Petersburg)
View Hotel
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
View Hotel
Certificate of Excellence
  • Pool
  • Restaurant
The Birchwood(St. Petersburg)
View Hotel
  • Free Wifi
  • Restaurant
View Hotel
  • Free Wifi
  • Pool
Hollander Hotel(St. Petersburg)
View Hotel
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
The Cordova Inn(St. Petersburg)
View Hotel
  • Free Wifi
  • Breakfast included
View Hotel
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Wifi
  • Breakfast included
The Inn on Third(St. Petersburg)
View Hotel
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
Avalon Hotel(St. Petersburg)
View Hotel
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
View Hotel
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Wifi
  • Pool
Reviews (210)
Filter reviews
210 results
Traveler rating
192
16
1
1
0
Traveler type
Time of year
LanguageAll languages
More languages
192
16
1
1
0
Show reviews that mention
All reviewsed caldwellb bother guestscottage roomfresh fruittrolley busstreet parkingtrolley servicedali museumblues festivalwithin walking distance of downtownqueen bedmodern amenitiescommon areaslocation is greatbeach drivewe've stayed
FilterAll languages
Updating list...
77 - 82 of 210 reviews
Reviewed October 1, 2013

My wife and I recently stayed here for a long weekend and it was just the getaway we were looking for. Upon arrival, Ed was so warm and welcoming and made us both feel at home. The Dickens House has been beautifully restored and it was fascinating to hear Ed describe the history of the home. The breakfast each morning was delicious and always accompanied with good conversation. We left the Dickens House rejuvenated and relaxed...just what we needed.

  • Stayed: September 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank RobKral
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed September 17, 2013

My partner and I stayed at Dickens House in mid-June (our apologies Ed for this delayed review) and had an overall wonderful stay. Ed is an excellent (and knowledgeable) host and provided us with a delicious breakfast (and did not skimp on portion sizes, which we really appreciated) each day of our stay. Ed gave us great advice as to outdoor activities in the area and was very accommodating, providing us with beach towels, chairs and a cooler. Dickens House provides comfortable (and clean) accommodations and is located in a great neighborhood within walking distance (or trolley service) of museums, parks, the pier and fine dining. Overall, we had a fantastic stay and will be visiting again should our travel plans take us through St. Pete. Also, note that the Dali Museum is a must see.

  • Stayed: June 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank T F
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed September 15, 2013

We stayed with Ed for a week while we dropped our son off at college as a freshman at Eckerd College.
We were super busy all the time, but Ed really took care of us with great accommodations and fantastic breakfasts.
It's clean, comfortable and cool - despite us staying during August.
Ed is a fun and entertaining host with great knowledge of the St Petersburg area.
We met other guests from France, Italy, Switzerland and Germany and had many interesting conversations around the breakfast table.
Our son will be at Eckerd for a few years - we know where we will be staying when we come to visit! Strongly recommended!

  • Stayed: August 2013, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank nmac3320
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed September 9, 2013

I surprised my husband with a night away for his birthday and we had the best time! The owner, Ed was so warm and welcoming. I spent a long time looking at all the sites and his sounded the best. We were not disappointed. His breakfast is out of this world and the rooms were clean and comfy. I would stay back here in a heartbeat!.

Room Tip: Since it was a slow time of year,Ed let us have our choice and it was difficult to choose -we chose the cottage suite. It was delightful!
  • Stayed: September 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank cathy p
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed August 2, 2013

We, a family of 3 from Amsterdam, wanted to visit the best kept secret of Florida: The Frank LLoyd Wright constructions of the Florida South College in Lakeland. After some googling we found a B&B in St. Petersburg which looked very nice on the website. It did not tell that the owner, Ed Dickens, is a very exceptional host. The way we were invited in his house, the way he took care of us at the breakfast, the way he was interested in our little holiday stories and experiences, all of that was of a quality we don't come across very often. We loved it, and can sure advise everybody who is in the neighbourhood, to stay overnight at Ed's.

Room Tip: The cottage suite was our choice and it met our expectations to the fullest.
  • Stayed: July 2013, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank AZweerman
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
View more reviews