We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Just a great place to stay!”

We can't find prices for this accommodation
Our online travel partners don't provide prices for this accommodation, but we can search other options in St. Petersburg
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Dickens House Bed and Breakfast
Certificate of Excellence
Reviewed September 15, 2013

We stayed with Ed for a week while we dropped our son off at college as a freshman at Eckerd College.
We were super busy all the time, but Ed really took care of us with great accommodations and fantastic breakfasts.
It's clean, comfortable and cool - despite us staying during August.
Ed is a fun and entertaining host with great knowledge of the St Petersburg area.
We met other guests from France, Italy, Switzerland and Germany and had many interesting conversations around the breakfast table.
Our son will be at Eckerd for a few years - we know where we will be staying when we come to visit! Strongly recommended!

  • Stayed: August 2013, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank nmac3320
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review
Reviews (209)
Traveler rating
Traveler type
Time of year
Language

79 - 85 of 209 reviews

Reviewed September 9, 2013

I surprised my husband with a night away for his birthday and we had the best time! The owner, Ed was so warm and welcoming. I spent a long time looking at all the sites and his sounded the best. We were not disappointed. His breakfast is out of this world and the rooms were clean and comfy. I would stay back here in a heartbeat!.

Room Tip: Since it was a slow time of year,Ed let us have our choice and it was difficult to choose -we chose...
See more room tips
  • Stayed: September 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank cathy p
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed August 2, 2013

We, a family of 3 from Amsterdam, wanted to visit the best kept secret of Florida: The Frank LLoyd Wright constructions of the Florida South College in Lakeland. After some googling we found a B&B in St. Petersburg which looked very nice on the website. It did not tell that the owner, Ed Dickens, is a very exceptional host. The way we were invited in his house, the way he took care of us at the breakfast, the way he was interested in our little holiday stories and experiences, all of that was of a quality we don't come across very often. We loved it, and can sure advise everybody who is in the neighbourhood, to stay overnight at Ed's.

Room Tip: The cottage suite was our choice and it met our expectations to the fullest.
See more room tips
  • Stayed: July 2013, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank AZweerman
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed July 12, 2013

if you have the chance to stay in the Tampa-St Petersburg area, make sure you visit the Dickens House Bed and Breakfast ! Love the historic NE area of St Pete and this house. Ed, the Inn Keeper, has done a great job with this property and it is just terrific....very clean and very well decorated. You will like you are in a "home away from home". The breakfast will not disappoint you at all either, We cannot say enough good things about this wonderful B & B.
Ed will make sure you are aware of dinner choices, places to go, and his favorite local places. We enjoyed the front porch with a little evening refreshment, too. Ceiling fans help keep you cool while you are outside on the porch,

  • Stayed: June 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank flabeachfan
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed June 14, 2013

As usual we had a delightful stay at this casual, welcoming B and B. The host makes his guests feel like family and the accommodations are pristine and comfortable. The breakfasts will be the highlight of your stay.

Joyce and Harold

  • Stayed: June 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Joyce P
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed June 7, 2013

Ed runs a very nice B&B to which we would gladly return if we visited St. Petersburg. My wife and I spent three nights there during May and June. The house is a well-restored Craftsman that had fallen on hard times. The house and furniture are very homey. The air conditioning works fine. The breakfasts were great. The company around the breakfast table had some long and spirited discussions.

About the only problems we had were the internet and cell-phone reception. For a good B&B in the heart of downtown St. Pete, I can overlook those problems. Besides, we spend too much time on the net and our cell phones.

  • Stayed: May 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank frabjous1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed June 2, 2013

The Dicken's House was the perfect place for my husband and to try a B and B for the first time. It felt like home. Our room was beautiful. The owner was a wealth of knowledge about the area and recommended wonderful restaurants, things to do and see. The breakfast was always delicious. I loved eating around the big round table and conversing with the other guest. Next time you come to St. Pete, check out the Dicken's House. You will thoroughly enjoy it.

  • Stayed: May 2013
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Lahoff03
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these St. Petersburg hotels
0.6 mi away
Avalon Hotel
Avalon Hotel
#1 of 43 in St. Petersburg
194 reviews
0.6 mi away
Hollander Hotel
Hollander Hotel
#2 of 43 in St. Petersburg
1,400 reviews
0.6 mi away
The Inn on Third
The Inn on Third
#5 of 43 in St. Petersburg
602 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.6 mi away
Hampton Inn and Suites St. Petersburg Downtown
1.5 mi away
Staybridge Suites St. Petersburg Downtown
0.9 mi away
Hilton St Petersburg Bayfront
Hilton St Petersburg Bayfront
#11 of 43 in St. Petersburg
1,657 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Dickens House Bed and Breakfast? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Dickens House Bed and Breakfast

Address: 335 8th Ave NE, St. Petersburg, FL 33701-1904
Location: United States > Florida > St. Petersburg
Amenities:
Free Breakfast
Hotel Style:
Ranked #2 of 5 B&Bs / Inns in St. Petersburg
Price Range: $172 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Number of rooms: 5
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Recommended by NBC Today travel correspondent, Peter Greenberg, and listed in Frommer's - Florida, as the highest rated B&B in Tampa Bay. We have Rough Guide's only official "Recommended By" award in Tampa Bay. Extraordinary 1912 Arts and Crafts restoration featuring unpainted woodwork, casual but refined interiors, Wi-Fi, guest computer, whirlpool tubs, fine cotton linens, Egyptian towels. A multi course gourmet breakfast is served daily. National Historic district neighborhood and downtown location all in one! ... more   less 

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing