We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
New! Find and book your ideal hotel on TripAdvisor — and get the lowest prices

“A BnB with a wonderful host! A must stay in St Petersburg!” 5 of 5 stars
Review of Dickens House Bed and Breakfast

We can't find prices for this accommodation
Our online travel partners don't provide prices for this accommodation, but we can search other options in St. Petersburg
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Dickens House Bed and Breakfast
Save
You added Dickens House Bed and Breakfast to your Saves list
Certificate of Excellence
Level Contributor
12 reviews
9 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
“A BnB with a wonderful host! A must stay in St Petersburg!”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed January 1, 2013 via mobile

What you can expect:
- A real southern comfort BnB. Perfectly shaped and decorated!
- A perfect Breakfast performed by the owner himself!
- Wonderful and lovely styled rooms!
- Everything is clean!
- A porch and a living room where you can relax throughout the day

Nothing to complain!

  • Stayed December 2012
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Value
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Location
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Service
Helpful?
Thank LeMinistreDuVoyage
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

194 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    179
    13
    1
    1
    0
See reviews for
15
126
6
12
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (30)
Date | Rating
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Any
English first
Miami, Florida
Level Contributor
4 reviews
4 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 7 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed December 26, 2012

If you love beautiful old homes (100 years is old by American standards,) with modern amenities, great hospitality and mouth-watering breakfasts then Dickens House is a must. The lovingly restored 1912 Craftsman-style, 3 story home is like taking a journey back in time. All the beautiful architectural details have been preserved keeping that warm homey feel - yet the bathrooms are beautifully updated and the beds are comfortable with plush pillows and nice linens. The location is extremely convenient. It is a 5-minute walk to restaurants, shops, a lovely park and the museums. Owner Ed Caldwell is warm and accommodating and an extremely knowledgeable host (particularly about St. Petersburg history). My partner and I stayed during Christmas weekend and now we'd like to return in Summer to explore the beautiful beaches the area has to offer. We look forward to enjoying Ed's company again and savor those amazing breakfasts that made us post pictures on facebook every time. : )

  • Stayed December 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Value
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Location
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Service
Helpful?
Thank Oscar J L
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Arnhem, The Netherlands
1 review
5 of 5 stars Reviewed December 21, 2012

We liked our stay in the Dikkens House very much. The rooms are very comfortable, beautifully styled and decorated, and everything is just perfect to the very detail. We also felt looked after very well. Arriving late we could use a code to enter on ourselves, found a map ready for us with nearby restaurant suggestions, and next morning: a gorgeous breakfast. Ed was a great host and we enjoyed the conversation very much! [Kees & Hilly van de Wiele from the Netherlands]

Room Tip: Each room is an experience
See more room tips
  • Stayed October 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Value
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Location
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Service
Helpful?
Thank KeesvdWiele
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Burnaby, Canada
Level Contributor
181 reviews
40 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 85 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed December 13, 2012 via mobile

I stayed at this B&B while visiting a cousin who lives nearby. The place lived up to its reputation in every respect. Ed is a great host. I happened to be there for the city's tour of heritage homes of which this is one. Ed and his sister Jane hosted dozens of visitors very graciously.

Stayed December 2012, traveled solo
Helpful?
Thank CanadianTraveler65
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Lexington, Massachusetts
Level Contributor
27 reviews
9 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 14 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed December 4, 2012

Our stay at Dickens House lived up to all the positive reviews here on TripAdvisor. The careful attention taken to ensure an enjoyable and hassle-free guest experience was evident as soon as we arrived. Ed was helpful and friendly from the start. His feedback on attractions and dining was most helpful -- and much appreciated since we only had a short time to explore St. Pete. We stayed in the Perry Snell room (which is larger than it appears on the website). The bed was comfy. The breakfast was plentiful and tasty. The house is in tiptop shape, beautifully-appointed, clean, and equipped with Wi-Fi. Reserving with Dickens House is a good decision.

Room Tip: I am a light sleeper but I slept like a rock. There is carpeting over hardwood along the stairs and...
See more room tips
  • Stayed November 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Value
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Location
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Service
Helpful?
1 Thank MissMaryC
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Niedersachsen
Level Contributor
4 reviews
4 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
5 of 5 stars Reviewed November 18, 2012

We were looking for a nice place to stay at St Petersburg and luckily found Dickens House!

The owner Ed is a really friendly and extremely attentive host. The "Perry-Snell" room was spacious, very clean and furnished with love for detail. We felt as if in a different time and world. Breakfast was superb, too: loads of fresh fruit, eggs, bread (enough for people from Germany ;-)), cream cheese, coffee, tea or whatever we could ask for.

Thank you Ed for the short but lovely stay at your house!

Best regards from Germany,

Sandra and Jan

  • Stayed October 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Value
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Location
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Service
Helpful?
Thank Hasenfuss82
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Miami
Level Contributor
76 reviews
27 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 30 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed October 29, 2012

We stayed two nights in the Dickens Suite which is an extremely comfortable room. Wonderful bedding, large bathroom and sitting area. The bathroom has great quality soaps, shampoo/conditioner and the towels were very plush. The home was very well maintained and very clean. Ed, the inn keeper, was such a gracious host. He thinks of every detail you may need during your stay. His breakfasts are delicious and it was such a joy to sit and chat with him if you wanted during and after breakfast. He was so gracious in welcoming his guests into his home. The Dickens House location is ideal. It is just a short walk to the downtown restaurants, the Fine Arts Museum, the Pier, the Park or to the tolley to get where ever you would need to go. We have travelled to St. Pete several times and stayed at several bed and breakfasts in the area. However, from now on this will be our home away from home when we travel to St. Pete.

  • Stayed October 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Value
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Location
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Service
Helpful?
Thank MiamiFirefighter
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these St. Petersburg hotels
0.6 mi away
Hollander Hotel
Hollander Hotel
#3 of 42 in St. Petersburg
4.5 of 5 stars 1,123 reviews
0.6 mi away
The Inn on Third
The Inn on Third
#5 of 42 in St. Petersburg
4.5 of 5 stars 520 reviews
0.6 mi away
Hampton Inn and Suites St. Petersburg Downtown
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.9 mi away
Hilton St Petersburg Bayfront
Hilton St Petersburg Bayfront
#9 of 42 in St. Petersburg
4.0 of 5 stars 1,327 reviews
0.7 mi away
Ponce De Leon Hotel
Ponce De Leon Hotel
#14 of 42 in St. Petersburg
3.5 of 5 stars 534 reviews
0.6 mi away
Courtyard St. Petersburg Downtown
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Dickens House Bed and Breakfast? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Dickens House Bed and Breakfast

Property: Dickens House Bed and Breakfast
Address: 335 8th Ave NE, St. Petersburg, FL 33701-1904
Location: United States > Florida > St. Petersburg
Amenities:
Free Breakfast
Hotel Style:
Ranked #2 of 7 B&Bs / Inns in St. Petersburg
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $
Number of rooms: 5
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Recommended by NBC Today travel correspondent, Peter Greenberg, and listed in Frommer's - Florida, as the highest rated B&B in Tampa Bay. We have Rough Guide's only official "Recommended By" award in Tampa Bay. Extraordinary 1912 Arts and Crafts restoration featuring unpainted woodwork, casual but refined interiors, Wi-Fi, guest computer, whirlpool tubs, fine cotton linens, Egyptian towels. A multi course gourmet breakfast is served daily. National Historic district neighborhood and downtown location all in one! ... more   less 

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing