We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“Wonderful Weekend!!!”

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
Dickens House Bed and Breakfast
Certificate of Excellence
Cape Coral, Florida
Level Contributor
25 reviews
9 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 7 helpful votes
“Wonderful Weekend!!!”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed May 13, 2012

We were here for the St. Anthony's Triathlon . Ed is a delight. He welcomed us at the curb, gave us many tips about the area and told us about the history regarding the home. The guests that weekend were all involved with parts of the event. Ed made sure we all had the foods we were used to having on race day and recovery foods afterwards. The breakfast on Sunday was gourmet. If you have the opportunity, this bed and breakfast is a real gem.

Room Tip: We had the Cracker and Orange rooms. Nice.
See more room tips
  • Stayed April 2012, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank vols521
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

208 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    190
    16
    1
    1
    0
See reviews for
15
137
6
12
Rating summary
  • Location
    5 of 5 bubbles
  • Sleep Quality
    5 of 5 bubbles
  • Rooms
    5 of 5 bubbles
  • Service
    5 of 5 bubbles
  • Value
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Cleanliness
    5 of 5 bubbles
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (32)
Date | Rating
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Any
English first
Cape Cod
Level Contributor
2 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed May 10, 2012

Just returned from our annual visit to our daughter and grand daughter in St.Pete. This is the 2nd year in a row we stayed at the Dickens House. The house is breath taking. Ed has completely restored this C1900 craftsman house to its original splender. what a great job he did. It's a perfect location, easy walk or very short drive to downtown. Splended rooms, large and comfortable. Ed is a gracious host and does some wonderful breakfast. My favorite was the Tempura eggs, i stole the recipe. Our annual march trip will always include a stay with Ed at tbe Dichens House

  • Stayed March 2012, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank AshleyManor
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Fort Lauderdale, Florida, United States
2 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed April 18, 2012

We just had our fourth stay at Dickens’ House over the past five years and it simply keeps getting better. My wife and I look forward to attending the Tampa bay Blues Festival each year which is held within walking distance at Vinoy Park. But besides the festival it is staying at Ed Caldwell’s establishment that we look forward to most. From the gourmet breakfast prepared each morning to the ambiance and charm of old Florida we simply have come to love the Dickens’ House. Each year we get to enjoy stimulating conversations with fellow guests at breakfast and especially with Ed himself who we now consider a friend. We appreciate and have come to be spoiled by the excellent service we have experienced. We highly recommend Dickens’ House and we look forward to many more visits. Thank you Ed!

  • Stayed April 2012, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank GLG1973
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Baltimore, Maryland
Level Contributor
20 reviews
10 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 13 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed February 29, 2012

I have stayed at The Dickens House twice and plan to again. Ed the manager is very attentive to details and accomodating. I enjoyed fresh brownies and chocolate chip cookies each evening. The breakfast spread is diverse with lots of fresh fruit, cereal (if requested), biscuits, cinnamon rolls, choice of teas and coffee. The location is unbeatable as is the Arts and Crafts decor.

  • Stayed February 2012, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Jill A
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
South Glastonbury, Connecticut
Level Contributor
13 reviews
5 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 4 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed February 29, 2012

I will opt for this B&B over a hotel any time I'm in St. Pete. I stayed recently for 3 nights on a business trip. Everything was impeccably clean. The inn itself is a beautifully restored older building, but the rooms have all the modern comforts. Ed and Brett serve a great breakfast daily. It's close enough to downtown to walk to dinner on Beach Drive, and it's only a few blocks from the water and a lovely waterfront park.

Room Tip: The Orange Blossom room is good for one person. It might be a tad small for a couple.
See more room tips
  • Stayed February 2012, traveled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank TravelerTF
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Clermont, Florida
Level Contributor
53 reviews
17 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 10 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed February 9, 2012

We stayed the last few days of December 2011 and loved everything about this place. Though parking is on the street, there's plenty of space and you can walk to the downtown area in just a couple of minutes. We never used the car! Nice neighborhood, lovely home (1912), and the innkeeper, Ed, was the nicest host. He was also a super chef for our morning breakfasts! Room was the Perry Snell and very comfortable. Plan to come back with my husband soon! This trip had been with our foreign exchange student from Spain (16 years old) and she enjoyed talking with Ed and the other guests. St. Pete is wonderful!!

Room Tip: Perry Snell comfortable for two. Suites are available.
See more room tips
  • Stayed December 2011, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Apprider
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Martinsburg, West Virginia
Level Contributor
188 reviews
32 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 191 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed December 5, 2011

We arrived late on Friday evening and had the door code beforehand. The Inn was very quiet that evening. We didn't even think that there were any other folks lodging there.

Saturday morning, we meet the InnKeeper (Ed) who gave us a history on the house/neighborhood and we got a full (very yummy) breakfast. Several other couples joined us as well. We got to meet some interesting people.

We actually lodged in St Petersburg but our events Sat/Sun took us to Tampa. We like to stay on the outskirts and often select B&B's as our lodging choice.

Saturday evening there was some road noise outside our window but nothing really that would have prevented us for getting a good nights rest. Just a party or event of some sort down the street. Nothing the B&B could have done about that.

Sunday morning, another heartly breakfast and smooth checkout.

All in all - nice B&B. Specific to our room (Perry Snell) the bed was comfortable and the quality of the sheets/bedding was amazing. The pillows were too fluffy for our liking but that's my only compliant and really each customer I'm sure has their 'favorite' type of pillow. The room was large enough for our 2 night stay. Room was very clean. The bathroom had everyone we needed. I enjoyed the whirpool tub although the jets were in the 'corners' which was a little odd and not in the best spot for a nice massage. Once again, my only complaint about the bathroom and its very minor.

The house itself was getting decorated for the holidays and looked very charming. Plenty of great magazines and books to help us unwind. Landscaping around the property was very tropical and well maintained. Neighborhood seemed very safe. Parking out front was limited during this weekend due to the events in the Neighborhood but the owner quickly provided us an alley spot behind the house which was very much appreciated since I have a brand new car.

Wonderful stay. Check this place out if you ever have the opportunity. Thanks ED for making the weekend a nice one!

Jenn & Raul

Stayed December 2011, traveled as a couple
Helpful?
Thank Jenn123444
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these St. Petersburg hotels
0.6 mi away
Hollander Hotel
Hollander Hotel
#4 of 42 in St. Petersburg
4.5 of 5 bubbles 1,290 reviews
0.6 mi away
Hampton Inn and Suites St. Petersburg Downtown
0.9 mi away
Hilton St Petersburg Bayfront
Hilton St Petersburg Bayfront
#10 of 42 in St. Petersburg
4.0 of 5 bubbles 1,506 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
1.5 mi away
Staybridge Suites St. Petersburg Downtown
0.6 mi away
The Inn on Third
The Inn on Third
#2 of 42 in St. Petersburg
4.5 of 5 bubbles 571 reviews
0.7 mi away
Ponce De Leon Hotel
Ponce De Leon Hotel
#19 of 42 in St. Petersburg
3.5 of 5 bubbles 628 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Dickens House Bed and Breakfast? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Dickens House Bed and Breakfast

Property: Dickens House Bed and Breakfast
Address: 335 8th Ave NE, St. Petersburg, FL 33701-1904
Location: United States > Florida > St. Petersburg
Amenities:
Free Breakfast
Hotel Style:
Ranked #2 of 6 B&Bs / Inns in St. Petersburg
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $
Number of rooms: 5
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Recommended by NBC Today travel correspondent, Peter Greenberg, and listed in Frommer's - Florida, as the highest rated B&B in Tampa Bay. We have Rough Guide's only official "Recommended By" award in Tampa Bay. Extraordinary 1912 Arts and Crafts restoration featuring unpainted woodwork, casual but refined interiors, Wi-Fi, guest computer, whirlpool tubs, fine cotton linens, Egyptian towels. A multi course gourmet breakfast is served daily. National Historic district neighborhood and downtown location all in one! ... more   less 

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing