We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Absolutely fabulous!”

We can't find prices for this accommodation
Our online travel partners don't provide prices for this accommodation, but we can search other options in St. Petersburg
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Dickens House Bed and Breakfast
Certificate of Excellence
Reviewed April 16, 2011

My husband and I have gone to the Tampa Bay Blues festival for the past 15 years, we have stayed in many different places. This was our second year staying at the Dickens House, and we will never stay anywhere else again. The breakfasts are second to none! The rooms are very comfortable and clean, it's more like staying with family then renting a room. Ed, the proprietor is very hospitable and easy to talk to, after 5 minutes on our first stay we felt like we were talking to a friend. I would definitly recomend Dickens House to anyone coming to the St Pete area!!

  • Stayed: April 2011, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank RMorgan3152002
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review
Reviews (209)
There are newer reviews for Dickens House Bed and Breakfast
See the most recent reviews
Traveler rating
Traveler type
Time of year
Language

126 - 132 of 209 reviews

Reviewed April 3, 2011

It is very relaxing. We have been there on several occasions. Going there makes you realize how much we in today's society take things for granted. How Dickens House goes out of their way to provide the best service they can for any occasion. It's the behind the scenes that we take for granted on what it takes to make things happen. The little touches and also how important it is to take the time to write the reviews. They are very personable. Breakfast is great. Just can't say enough. Very informative on what is going on in the area, what restaurants are available, etc. Ed is great. Jane helps whenever she is needed to do whatever.

  • Stayed: April 2011, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Becky34601
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed April 2, 2011

We thourghly enjoyed our two nights there.
The B&B is well located and close to lovely restaurants and, in particular, two museums well worth visiting viz. the Chihuly and the Fine Art Museum.

The house is beautifully restored and has a wonderful ambiance.
The room we had - Perry Snell- was well appointed, immaculately clean and had a view over looking the street. Noise at night was not a problem.

Each morning we enjoyed a freshly- cooked and delicious breakfast from our host, Ed, who was most gracious and convivial.

Free access to Wi-Fi and the use of a PC was available.

Overall, highly recommended.

  • Stayed: March 2011
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
2  Thank daoshaug
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed March 29, 2011

My husband and I stayed in the Dickens Suite for our anniversary, and we absolutely loved it! The jacuzzi tub was great. We really enjoyed the breakfasts, plenty to eat and wonderful home-cooked food! The brioche french toast and the breakfast burritos with salsa were to die for!! Ed was very friendly and informative about what places we should visit while in St. Pete. We would definitely stay here again on our next trip to St. Pete!

  • Stayed: March 2011, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Jennybythesea
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed March 29, 2011

If you're visiting St. Pete, or if you're a local looking for a romantic get-away, you're not going to find anywhere better than the Dickens House. This beautiful, charming cottage is brimming with character. The owner, Ed, obviously loves his job. The rooms are beautifully re-done, the property is spotless and the food he serves for breakfast is first-rate. I got married here and my guests couldn't stop raving about the location. Hurry -- right now I'd say that the Dickens House is still a hidden treasure. But it won't be hidden for much longer.

  • Stayed: March 2011, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank cljohn74
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed March 27, 2011

I have reviewed other B&B’s, some good and some not so good. I pride myself on the fact that since I am an avid user of Tripadvisor reviews, I must only give a truly honest review. When it comes to a B&B of the finest, the Dickens House is by far an A-1 establishment. We had a 4 day stay here while visiting St. Petersburg for pleasure. Ed, the host, has seen to everything. Our room, the Perry Snell Room, was picture perfect as we entered. Ed thought of everything! There was even a linen spray on the bedside table! Despite being an older home, there were enough outlets for our numerous chargers for cell phones and cameras. That was a plus for us. The room was great as was the entire house which was set up for the comfort of the guests.
The B& B is in walking distance to town and on a very quiet sheet. You must sit on the front porch in the evening and listen to the quiet and just relax. There was also seating out in back of the house but we enjoyed the porch.
Ed’s breakfasts were outstanding. Every morning was a different breakfast entree along with fresh fruit, muffins or biscotti, and unlimited coffee. We loved the breakfast burrito, the eggs done in ramekins, and the wonderful eggs Benedict. It is evident that our host is health conscientious in his choice of lighter foods, yet this does not take away from the gourmet meals.
I must mention Ed’s lovely sister who we met when we first arrived. We saw her once or twice during our stay helping out where needed. She was another delight of the Dickens House!
There really is no other place to stay in St. Petersburg that is close to everything and has all the comforts and more of home.

  • Stayed: March 2011, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
2  Thank BostonLadybug
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed March 13, 2011

Dickens House is the perfect place to stay for any work or leisure trip to St Petersburg Florida! Ed was the perfect host! Friendly, helpful and cooks an awesome breakfast. We couldn't have found a more warming and welcoming place to stay. The B&B is perfectly located for all amenities in the city, all within walking distance and the B&B is wonderfully comfortable and luxurious.

The bed provided one of the most amazing nights sleep I have ever experienced! We will be back :)

  • Stayed: March 2011, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank r0seyred22
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these St. Petersburg hotels
0.6 mi away
Hollander Hotel
Hollander Hotel
#3 of 42 in St. Petersburg
1,381 reviews
0.6 mi away
Avalon Hotel
Avalon Hotel
#1 of 42 in St. Petersburg
180 reviews
0.6 mi away
Hampton Inn and Suites St. Petersburg Downtown
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.6 mi away
The Inn on Third
The Inn on Third
#2 of 42 in St. Petersburg
599 reviews
0.9 mi away
Hilton St Petersburg Bayfront
Hilton St Petersburg Bayfront
#11 of 42 in St. Petersburg
1,638 reviews
0.5 mi away
Hotel Indigo St Petersburg Downtown North
Hotel Indigo St Petersburg Downt...
#17 of 42 in St. Petersburg
533 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Dickens House Bed and Breakfast? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Dickens House Bed and Breakfast

Address: 335 8th Ave NE, St. Petersburg, FL 33701-1904
Location: United States > Florida > St. Petersburg
Amenities:
Free Breakfast
Hotel Style:
Ranked #2 of 5 B&Bs / Inns in St. Petersburg
Price Range: $172 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Number of rooms: 5
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Recommended by NBC Today travel correspondent, Peter Greenberg, and listed in Frommer's - Florida, as the highest rated B&B in Tampa Bay. We have Rough Guide's only official "Recommended By" award in Tampa Bay. Extraordinary 1912 Arts and Crafts restoration featuring unpainted woodwork, casual but refined interiors, Wi-Fi, guest computer, whirlpool tubs, fine cotton linens, Egyptian towels. A multi course gourmet breakfast is served daily. National Historic district neighborhood and downtown location all in one! ... more   less 

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing