We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“Enjoyable experience and brief escape”

Museum of Fine Arts
Ranked #11 of 125 things to do in St. Petersburg
Certificate of Excellence
More attraction details
Attraction details
Recommended length of visit: 2-3 hours
Owner description: From a legendary permanent collection, to compelling traveling exibitions, the MFA is ready to inspire with diverse and ever-changing opportunities to experience art. Discover over 4,500 years of civilization in thousands of objects ranging from antiquity to the present- the only comprehensive art collection of its kind on Florida's west coast.
Tallahassee, Florida
Level Contributor
30 reviews
8 attraction reviews
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 23 helpful votes
“Enjoyable experience and brief escape”
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed May 30, 2013

I had visited this museum once in the early 2000s and May 2013. The first time was a freezing day and I was alone, looking for something to do. This last time, it was extremely hot and a busy weekend and it seemed like the only thing that should be done! I went with my partner on a romantic weekend trip. As it was a holiday weekend, the museum unpleasantly noisy until we were some one the only people left inside. And then a wedding crowd came in and loud music started! Luckily, we were about to leave at that point. The museum had changed little since my last visit. The collection isn't very large, but I appreciate the variety very much. There are rooms grouped by culture, time period. There are clay pieces from the beginnings of civilization to modern paintings. I have favorites from most rooms, one imported room itself is even a favorite. I tend to be more interested in paintings, but I liked the sculptural pieces most. I think that this is the strongest area, greatest focus of the museum. Go to the site for a good idea of what they have. http://fine-arts.org/fine-arts-permanent-collection/ If one is in the Tampa bay area for art, I recommend Ringling for a stronger painting collection, but this is close in quality. It's also less fatiguing--most slow paced viewers could take 2 hours (But I could do 3 and enjoy seating areas), and it costs a bit less!

Visited May 2013
Helpful?
Thank Caldoria
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

678 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    383
    214
    66
    10
    5
Date | Rating
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Japanese first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Tampa, Florida
Level Contributor
91 reviews
36 attraction reviews
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 32 helpful votes
“Great place for culture if you're in Downtown St. Pete”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed May 27, 2013

The people Behind this museum seem as committed to it success as any other museum I've visited. beautiful place. Extremely well situated on the waterfront of Downtown St. Pete. try to head there during one of the special events or a charity event.

Visited September 2012
Helpful?
Thank FritziinTampa
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Nokomis, Florida
Level Contributor
29 reviews
6 attraction reviews
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 9 helpful votes
“Excellent Permanent Collection”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed May 26, 2013

The Museum of Fine Arts in St. Petersburg, Florida, is one of those classic museums with a fine permanent collection and often, a special showing worth traveling to see. It's worth checking often online to see what they are offering, and if you have never been there, you will be surprised by what they own and how beautifully their important works are displayed. Imagine, Monet, Cezanne, Renoir all reside there! I can never leave without visiting the gift shop which offers excellent gifts for children, and too, some special remembrances for yourself. Across the street is a small but excellent Chihuly Collection, and also in the neighborhood are wonderful restaurants with different ethnic foods and the opportunity to relax and talk about what you have just seen. Save the Dali Museum for another day and another great experience!

Visited September 2012
Helpful?
Thank Angela R
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Santa Maria de Dota, Costa Rica
Level Contributor
45 reviews
34 attraction reviews
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 21 helpful votes
“Not world class, but still decent.”
3 of 5 bubbles Reviewed May 19, 2013

The Museum of FIne Arts in St. Pete is a very nice local museum. They have a decent collection for what it is. However, if you've been to some of the bigger US museums (ie, the Met), you'll be left wishing for something. Definitely worth a trip. Docent is actually pretty decent, too.

Helpful?
Thank kipnoodle
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Evansville, Indiana
Level Contributor
23 reviews
8 attraction reviews
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 8 helpful votes
“A diverse collection”
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed May 6, 2013

A very nice collection of art covering many different eras. Not so large that you can't see the entire museum in a few hours. Their cafe is a nice spot for a snack or lunch.

Helpful?
Thank PetLuvR
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers who viewed Museum of Fine Arts also viewed

 
 

Been to Museum of Fine Arts? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing