We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Lunch”

Ted Peters Famous Smoked Fish
Ranked #24 of 908 Restaurants in St. Petersburg
Certificate of Excellence
Price range: $0 - $20
Cuisines: Seafood
More restaurant details
Restaurant details
Good for: Families with children, Local cuisine
Dining options: Dinner, Breakfast, Lunch, Takeout
Norwich, United Kingdom
Level 6 Contributor
255 reviews
212 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 110 helpful votes
“Lunch”
Reviewed April 11, 2014

Have eaten here several times in the past and every time has been good. This time was no exception.

My Maui Maui fish lunch was enough for me and didn't really come with any trimmings although unlike the Salmon dinner which did have potato salad etc. Portions may have got a little smaller over the years although they are still plenty.

Only one draught beer was on offer.

Service was a little slow to begin with the place as ever was busy.

Highly recommended.

  • Visited April 2014
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
Thank 01760
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

794 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    415
    225
    85
    42
    27
Rating summary
    Food
    Service
    Value
    Atmosphere
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Portuguese first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Hudson, Florida
Level 4 Contributor
34 reviews
28 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 13 helpful votes
“Worst decision to stop in here”
Reviewed April 10, 2014

If you want over priced flavorless fish then by all means eat here. The only good thing about this place was the service which was average. I've truly never walked away from a meal so disappointed. We will obviously never return

  • Visited March 2014
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
1 Thank CourtneyM158
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Appleton, Wisconsin
Level 6 Contributor
196 reviews
99 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 63 helpful votes
“Awesome smoked salmon”
Reviewed March 28, 2014 via mobile

We had driven by this place several times and were intrigued. Reading the reviews on Trip Advisor made us want to give it a try. Luckily our waitress said one dinner was enough for two. So for a two dollar extra place setting charge we took her advice and still brought food home! We had the salmon which was terrific but also the German potato salad, cole slaw and horseradish sauce were yummy. Be warned, this is a cash only restaurant and beer and wine choices are extremely limited. Can't wait to go back to this no frills establishment.

Visited March 2014
Helpful?
Thank Mark C
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
San Ramon, California
Level 3 Contributor
15 reviews
9 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 8 helpful votes
“One of a kind”
Reviewed March 20, 2014

I started eating here when Ted Peters was still alive and continue to return whenever I visit St. Pete. The ambiance is quaint and the smoked fish fantastic! The staff is always friendly. Check out the silver dollar on the bar. (Full disclosure-Ted was my great uncle and my 2 cousins are doing a terrific job at continuing the tradition, but that still shouldn't detract from my love of the food and the people)

  • Visited April 2013
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
Thank DaCaDad
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Toronto, Canada
Level 6 Contributor
177 reviews
66 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 88 helpful votes
“Consistently Very Good”
Reviewed March 15, 2014

It's a very unpretentious place (looks like a shack on the left side of Pasadena Avenue, on the way to Tyrone Sq Mall). We ate in the restaurant, and we also did take-out. Service is excellent - they serve beer too. The smoked fish is very good although a bit pricey - I guess quality does command a premium! Be aware that they only take cash in the restaurant. Ted Peters is definitely worth a visit even if you are not a fish lover as they also serve other foods, like burgers and ribs...It's been around sine the 1950's. The food is excellent, and freshly made. We have been eating here on vacation since the 1990...Our son took a piece of smoked Salmon back home with him to Canada and loved having it for dinner once he returned from vacation. I hope that they continue smoking their great fish for many years to come.

  • Visited March 2014
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
Thank CanukTraveller2010
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers who viewed Ted Peters Famous Smoked Fish also viewed

 

Been to Ted Peters Famous Smoked Fish? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing