We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“Old school fish smoke house.”

Ted Peters Famous Smoked Fish
Ranked #22 of 893 Restaurants in St. Petersburg
Certificate of Excellence
Price range: $0 - $20
Cuisines: American, Seafood
More restaurant details
Restaurant details
Good for: Dining on a budget, Kids, Families with children, Local cuisine
Dining options: Lunch, Dinner, Highchairs Available, Outdoor Seating, Parking Available, Seating, Serves Alcohol, Takeout, Waitstaff, Wheelchair Accessible
Level Contributor
27 reviews
13 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 12 helpful votes
“Old school fish smoke house.”
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed March 9, 2013 via mobile

Fresh smoked fish they way it's meant to be. Great value for lunch and dinner. Huge portions of freshly smoked fish. Get there early as some fish sell out quick. Not a fancy place. But who needs fancy when you serve food like they do.

    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
Thank Agrouzis
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

766 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    400
    219
    80
    41
    26
Rating summary
    Food
    Service
    Value
    Atmosphere
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Portuguese first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Ocala, Florida
Level Contributor
19 reviews
12 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 8 helpful votes
“Fantastic Smoked Fish”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed March 3, 2013

The place looks like it has been there since the 50's with covered outside seating. The aroma of the smoked fish is wonderful and the portions are hug. My wife and myself split a smoked salmon dinner plate that we could hardly finish. The New England soup is great too. The only regret we have is that we could not bring back the smoked fish home since we had to leave before the opened the next day. Make sure you try fish spread too. Once you eat here you will understand why it has been around since 1955. Great service too.

Visited February 2013
Helpful?
Thank Philip O
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Lewisberry, Pennsylvania
Level Contributor
137 reviews
57 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 49 helpful votes
“Plentiful and good. Unique experience.”
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed February 28, 2013

We chose to eat outside. It is liking having a picnic. This place is right along the road so it reminded me of eating at an ice cream stand or hot dog spot along the road while on a trip. My husband and I ordered a dinner salmon meal and a lunch portion of mahi-mahi. The dinner meal comes with german potato salad and coleslaw. We ended up taking over half of what we ordered. I wish we had ordered the dinner meal and paid the extra $2 for an extra plate and fork. The meal comes with a small dish of smoked fish spread ( sort of like tuna salad but not really - it is 50% of 2 different kinds of smoked fish). It is not a cheap meal but is very budget friendly for a fish dinner and the amount of food you get. You can eat inside - but we didn't even look inside so I can't say anything about that part. Very casual, good service and attention as well.

  • Visited February 2013
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
Thank msfigment
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Henniker
Level Contributor
66 reviews
33 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 83 helpful votes
“Everything is good!”
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed February 25, 2013

This is a fairly small place, lots of outside seating on a busy street; one would go here for the food for sure. The atmosphere is totally casual. The smoked fish spread is just the best! Also the potato salad, warm and delicious!

    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
Thank SunshineKodiak
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Ottawa, Canada
Level Contributor
99 reviews
53 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 51 helpful votes
“Smoked fish al fresco”
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed February 14, 2013

The decor is "20th century picnic table" but the food is great. You can eat in...well it is sort of outside, but this is Florida! Several varieties of smoked fish, German style (hot) potato salad, slaw, etc. You can enjoy a draft as well. We chose take-out. This meant going into the "smoke house" where you can see first hand how the fish is smoked. We chose the salmon which was very smoky and as tender as butter. Another reviewer mentioned the wood fireplace inside, but we did not investigate that closely. The place is packed at lunch hour, so arrive early!

  • Visited January 2013
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
1 Thank BobNepean
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers who viewed Ted Peters Famous Smoked Fish also viewed

 

Been to Ted Peters Famous Smoked Fish? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing