We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“Don't think. Just go.”

Ted Peters Famous Smoked Fish
Ranked #22 of 893 Restaurants in St. Petersburg
Certificate of Excellence
Price range: $0 - $20
Cuisines: American, Seafood
More restaurant details
Restaurant details
Good for: Dining on a budget, Kids, Families with children, Local cuisine
Dining options: Lunch, Dinner, Highchairs Available, Outdoor Seating, Parking Available, Seating, Serves Alcohol, Takeout, Waitstaff, Wheelchair Accessible
Pickerington, Ohio
Level Contributor
13 reviews
7 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 14 helpful votes
“Don't think. Just go.”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed January 31, 2013

We get smoked salmon to go and eat it at our hotel with a glass of wine while watching the sun set. The flavor is as good as the fresh smoked salmon we have eaten in Seattle. The price is very fair and it just smells so good when you drive by. If you like seafood, you have to visit here.

If you are on St. Pete Beach, it is only a VERY short drive up Pasadena from Gulf Blvd. Worth the trip.

Important notes:
They are closed on Tuesdays.
They only take CASH.

  • Visited January 2013
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
1 Thank FairfieldPhoto
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

766 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    400
    219
    80
    41
    26
Rating summary
    Food
    Service
    Value
    Atmosphere
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Portuguese first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Hudson, Florida
Level Contributor
86 reviews
58 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 26 helpful votes
“Smoking!”
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed January 28, 2013

I would recommend this place without hesitation. We once lived in Largo and it was a once or twice a month destination. Hadn't been there in 15 years (We moved). But the food was still as good as ever. The prices have escalated a LOT. But we'll be back.

  • Visited January 2013
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
Thank Kenny T
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
North Carolina
Level Contributor
97 reviews
58 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 48 helpful votes
“Always Good!”
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed January 14, 2013

I lived in the St. Pete - Clearwater area on and off for 15 years and the one constant was Ted Peters. I've driven in by car, motorcycle and boat, with friends and family and the service and food remained the same. A buddy described it as a place with, "the coldest beer and the best fish spread and hamburgers in town, bar none!". When we have friends come up from the area we have one request, "fish spread!" I've even given the smoked mackerel as a Christmas present! Oh yeah, I've got the T-shirt too! It's a great place.

  • Visited December 2012
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
1 Thank USCGRetired
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Alaska
Level Contributor
114 reviews
54 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 23 helpful votes
“fun and tasty!”
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed January 13, 2013

Fun little smokehouse restaurant and take out.Great smoked fish and very friendly owner! We tried the vert tasty smoked mahi and mullet but were too late in the day for the rest. Sides were also yummy!

  • Visited October 2012
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
1 Thank AlaskaLH
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Dalgety Bay, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
62 reviews
30 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 43 helpful votes
“Unique!”
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed December 31, 2012

Smoked fish paste par excellence! Staff can be a little abrupt but the place is always so busy. Remember they're closed all day Tuesday.

Visited December 2012
Helpful?
1 Thank Christine M
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers who viewed Ted Peters Famous Smoked Fish also viewed

 

Been to Ted Peters Famous Smoked Fish? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing