We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Smoking!”

Ted Peters Famous Smoked Fish
Ranked #22 of 902 Restaurants in St. Petersburg
Certificate of Excellence
Price range: $0 - $20
Cuisines: Seafood
More restaurant details
Restaurant details
Good for: Families with children, Local cuisine
Dining options: Dinner, Lunch, Breakfast, Takeout
Hudson, Florida
Level Contributor
103 reviews
64 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 27 helpful votes
“Smoking!”
Reviewed January 28, 2013

I would recommend this place without hesitation. We once lived in Largo and it was a once or twice a month destination. Hadn't been there in 15 years (We moved). But the food was still as good as ever. The prices have escalated a LOT. But we'll be back.

  • Visited January 2013
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
Thank Kenny T
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

783 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    407
    224
    84
    42
    26
Rating summary
    Food
    Service
    Value
    Atmosphere
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Portuguese first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
North Carolina
Level Contributor
99 reviews
59 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 49 helpful votes
“Always Good!”
Reviewed January 14, 2013

I lived in the St. Pete - Clearwater area on and off for 15 years and the one constant was Ted Peters. I've driven in by car, motorcycle and boat, with friends and family and the service and food remained the same. A buddy described it as a place with, "the coldest beer and the best fish spread and hamburgers in town, bar none!". When we have friends come up from the area we have one request, "fish spread!" I've even given the smoked mackerel as a Christmas present! Oh yeah, I've got the T-shirt too! It's a great place.

  • Visited December 2012
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
1 Thank USCGRetired
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Alaska
Level Contributor
117 reviews
55 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 23 helpful votes
“fun and tasty!”
Reviewed January 13, 2013

Fun little smokehouse restaurant and take out.Great smoked fish and very friendly owner! We tried the vert tasty smoked mahi and mullet but were too late in the day for the rest. Sides were also yummy!

  • Visited October 2012
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
1 Thank AlaskaLH
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Dalgety Bay, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
61 reviews
29 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 44 helpful votes
“Unique!”
Reviewed December 31, 2012

Smoked fish paste par excellence! Staff can be a little abrupt but the place is always so busy. Remember they're closed all day Tuesday.

Visited December 2012
Helpful?
1 Thank Christine M
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Level Contributor
36 reviews
25 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 6 helpful votes
“The place for smoked fish in St Pete”
Reviewed December 29, 2012 via mobile

This was our first time to visit St. Petersburg, and we went here with friends who knew Ted Peters from years ago. This is a great local establishment, well worth visiting if you want to try smoked fish and excellent German potato salad. We had the smoked salmon and mackerel, both of which were very good and served in large portions - more than we could possibly eat. This is a cash-only, family-run establishment that has been in operation for over 50 years. The food is definitely worth trying.

    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
1 Thank Foodiedumonde
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers who viewed Ted Peters Famous Smoked Fish also viewed

 

Been to Ted Peters Famous Smoked Fish? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing