We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
$25 Amazon.com Gift Card Get yours when you book a hotel on TripAdvisor and review your stay!

“Smoking!” 4 of 5 stars
Review of Ted Peters Famous Smoked Fish

Ted Peters Famous Smoked Fish
Ranked #17 of 860 Restaurants in St. Petersburg
Certificate of Excellence
Price range: $0 - $20
Cuisines: American, Seafood
More restaurant details
Restaurant details
Good for: Dining on a budget, Families with children, Local cuisine
Dining options: Lunch, Dinner, Outdoor Seating, Parking Available, Seating, Serves Alcohol, Takeout, Waitstaff, Wheelchair Accessible
Hudson
Level Contributor
76 reviews
51 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 17 helpful votes
“Smoking!”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed January 28, 2013

I would recommend this place without hesitation. We once lived in Largo and it was a once or twice a month destination. Hadn't been there in 15 years (We moved). But the food was still as good as ever. The prices have escalated a LOT. But we'll be back.

  • Visited January 2013
    • 3 of 5 stars
      Value
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Atmosphere
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Service
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Food
Helpful?
Thank Kenny T
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

662 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    350
    188
    67
    35
    22
Rating summary
    Food
    Service
    Value
    Atmosphere
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Portuguese first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
North Carolina
Level Contributor
74 reviews
42 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 44 helpful votes
“Always Good!”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed January 14, 2013

I lived in the St. Pete - Clearwater area on and off for 15 years and the one constant was Ted Peters. I've driven in by car, motorcycle and boat, with friends and family and the service and food remained the same. A buddy described it as a place with, "the coldest beer and the best fish spread and hamburgers in town, bar none!". When we have friends come up from the area we have one request, "fish spread!" I've even given the smoked mackerel as a Christmas present! Oh yeah, I've got the T-shirt too! It's a great place.

  • Visited December 2012
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Value
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Atmosphere
    • 3 of 5 stars
      Service
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Food
Helpful?
1 Thank USCGRetired
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Alaska
Level Contributor
112 reviews
53 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 22 helpful votes
“fun and tasty!”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed January 13, 2013

Fun little smokehouse restaurant and take out.Great smoked fish and very friendly owner! We tried the vert tasty smoked mahi and mullet but were too late in the day for the rest. Sides were also yummy!

  • Visited October 2012
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Value
    • 3 of 5 stars
      Atmosphere
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Service
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Food
Helpful?
1 Thank AlaskaLH
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Dalgety Bay, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
58 reviews
26 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 39 helpful votes
“Unique!”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed December 31, 2012

Smoked fish paste par excellence! Staff can be a little abrupt but the place is always so busy. Remember they're closed all day Tuesday.

Visited December 2012
Helpful?
1 Thank Christine M
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Level Contributor
36 reviews
25 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 6 helpful votes
“The place for smoked fish in St Pete”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed December 29, 2012 via mobile

This was our first time to visit St. Petersburg, and we went here with friends who knew Ted Peters from years ago. This is a great local establishment, well worth visiting if you want to try smoked fish and excellent German potato salad. We had the smoked salmon and mackerel, both of which were very good and served in large portions - more than we could possibly eat. This is a cash-only, family-run establishment that has been in operation for over 50 years. The food is definitely worth trying.

    • 4 of 5 stars
      Value
    • 3 of 5 stars
      Atmosphere
    • 3 of 5 stars
      Service
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Food
Helpful?
1 Thank Foodiedumonde
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers who viewed Ted Peters Famous Smoked Fish also viewed

 

Been to Ted Peters Famous Smoked Fish? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing