We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“fun and tasty!”

Ted Peters Famous Smoked Fish
Ranked #21 of 902 Restaurants in St. Petersburg
Certificate of Excellence
Price range: $0 - $20
Cuisines: Seafood
More restaurant details
Restaurant details
Good for: Local cuisine, Families with children
Dining options: Lunch, Breakfast, Dinner, Takeout
Alaska
Level Contributor
117 reviews
55 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 23 helpful votes
“fun and tasty!”
Reviewed January 13, 2013

Fun little smokehouse restaurant and take out.Great smoked fish and very friendly owner! We tried the vert tasty smoked mahi and mullet but were too late in the day for the rest. Sides were also yummy!

  • Visited October 2012
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
1 Thank AlaskaLH
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

783 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    407
    224
    84
    42
    26
Rating summary
    Food
    Service
    Value
    Atmosphere
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Portuguese first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Dalgety Bay, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
61 reviews
29 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 44 helpful votes
“Unique!”
Reviewed December 31, 2012

Smoked fish paste par excellence! Staff can be a little abrupt but the place is always so busy. Remember they're closed all day Tuesday.

Visited December 2012
Helpful?
1 Thank Christine M
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Level Contributor
36 reviews
25 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 6 helpful votes
“The place for smoked fish in St Pete”
Reviewed December 29, 2012 via mobile

This was our first time to visit St. Petersburg, and we went here with friends who knew Ted Peters from years ago. This is a great local establishment, well worth visiting if you want to try smoked fish and excellent German potato salad. We had the smoked salmon and mackerel, both of which were very good and served in large portions - more than we could possibly eat. This is a cash-only, family-run establishment that has been in operation for over 50 years. The food is definitely worth trying.

    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
1 Thank Foodiedumonde
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Martinsville, Indiana
Level Contributor
180 reviews
126 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 60 helpful votes
“O.K. even with the Guy Fieri showcase...it was worth the trip”
Reviewed December 29, 2012

Smoked mullet.
Ummmmm. Not many folks try this- it is often considered either a "trash fish" or a "bait fish" but smokes so well.
One of our party had "pre-visited" a few months before, and when we came to the Clearwater, Florida area our goal was to return.
Cash only, folks. Yes, they have an ATM in the smokehouse.
The price?
About $18 for the smoked mullet (truly a lot of fish), some German potato salad (one of our party- a German by blood- said "These folks REALLY know how to make German potato salad that is not full of vinegar!), some sliced tomatoes (actually "redder" than most you find in the winter in the US), a pickle, and some cole slaw.
You really need to add to this some draft beer- it's not that expensive.
The other menu offerings would be salmon and mahi mahi. Prices can go as high as $21 for the mahi mahi with all the trimmings.
This place makes a "fish spread" that is 60% mahi mahi and 40% mullet- we wished that we had refrigeration, as we would have taken this back to the hotel!
Ask for a sample...it is amazing!
Service? Pretty good. There is (is there?) an enclosed area to the restaurant, but you can eat at picnic tables outside (which actually are within a few feet of Pasadena Avenue.)
We will return.
Highly recommended!

  • Visited December 2012
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
4 Thank Thomas S
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
St. Petersburg, Florida
1 review
“bland food”
Reviewed December 23, 2012

we went there as a special night out as the fish has always been great, what a shock. we ordered a two dinners , mind you the price was a shock to begin with. we have been eatting there for over 20 years, back when a dinner was 4.99. but back to the fish dinners. Bland, no favor, what happen a new way to smoke fish? I dont know if well be back, what a disappointment in the food from even 9 months ago.

  • Visited December 2012
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
Thank sherry r
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers who viewed Ted Peters Famous Smoked Fish also viewed

 

Been to Ted Peters Famous Smoked Fish? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing