We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
New! Find and book your ideal hotel on TripAdvisor — and get the lowest prices

“Don't Let Its Looks Deceive You - The Food is Very Good” 4 of 5 bubbles
Review of Ted Peters Famous Smoked Fish

Ted Peters Famous Smoked Fish
Ranked #19 of 872 Restaurants in St. Petersburg
Certificate of Excellence
Price range: $0 - $20
Cuisines: American, Seafood
More restaurant details
Restaurant details
Good for: Local cuisine, Kids, Families with children, Dining on a budget
Dining options: Dinner, Lunch, Outdoor Seating, Parking Available, Seating, Serves Alcohol, Takeout, Waitstaff, Wheelchair Accessible
Hurst, Texas
Level Contributor
263 reviews
199 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 117 helpful votes
“Don't Let Its Looks Deceive You - The Food is Very Good”
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed November 20, 2012

I've been coming to St. Pete regularly on business over the past year and every time I've driven past the place on Pasadena Ave I've wondered about their food. After all a place that serves primarily smoked fish is not the norm for those of us who do not live near the ocean or a large body of water. But then again there were always plenty people dining at various hours of the day, which certainly appealed to the foodie in me, and to my adventurous palate.
This trip I made certain I didn't drive past it in the wrong lane or was left wondering if the food was really that good. So this timeI stopped in about 11:45 AM for lunch, and there weren't many tables left so I knew I was in for a treat. My waitress assisted this Ted Peters newbie with the menu and I tried the smoked mackerel lunch plate, which I must admit it was a delightful experience. The food was very good, the waitresses were helpful and understanding (not impatient with some tourist she might never see again) and the overall experience was truly unique. I'm looking forward to trying the fish spread on my next trip especially since there were so many around me who were continuously commenting about how good it was. Rest assured I will be back again on my next trip.

  • Visited November 2012
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Atmosphere
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Food
Helpful?
Thank Bruce W
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

705 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    368
    203
    73
    37
    24
Rating summary
    Food
    Service
    Value
    Atmosphere
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Portuguese first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Level Contributor
41 reviews
33 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 6 helpful votes
“The aroma called us!”
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed November 19, 2012

We found ourselves sitting in traffic at approx. 11:45am today and could smell the aroma of smoked food. My sister and I said" we're pulling in where ever that smell is coming from". Great little find, took the last 2 seats at the outside bar and the tables around us filled up quickly. By the time we left, cars were waiting for parking spots and people waiting for tables. Started with the fish spread which we ended up taking half home in a doggie bag. Next we had lunch portion of mahi-mahi and mackerel. Again half went home with us and made a great appetizer for the guys after golfing. I was offered a sample of the manhattan (red) clam chowder which was surprising good....just too much food to order. Service was interesting....If I was in town for longer than a week I'd be back for the tasty smoked fish! It might be helpful to know they take cash only. Our bill was about $44 pre tip. I also got a great looking t-shirt for approx. $12.

  • Visited November 2012
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Atmosphere
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Service
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Food
Helpful?
Thank pleasantgal
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Dunedin, Florida
Level Contributor
75 reviews
29 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 18 helpful votes
“Too much noise”
2 of 5 bubbles Reviewed November 16, 2012

The restaurant was full of guests and we could hardly hear ourselves. The food was good but not outstanding. It is best to arrive early to avoid the business rush.

Helpful?
1 Thank snodgress_betty
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Chicago, Illinois
Level Contributor
59 reviews
38 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 47 helpful votes
“Unbelievable Smoked Fish!”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed November 13, 2012

We found this gem as a fluke driving by at ~11am, I could smell the smoking process from the road and knew it was a place I wanted to go - we decided to head there for a late lunch. This place is fantastic - we sat outside in the wonderful FL weather at long pinic tables and ordered smoked fish spread pretty much all around - one member of the group ordered the lunch portion of the smoked salmon. We also ordered german potato salad for the table. Everyone LOVED their meal - I could NOT get over the amazing smoked flavor (it's heavy) that the meaty fish spread provided. The salmon was a lot less heavy of a smoked flavor but still to die for; lunch portion was about 8 oz of gorgeous meaty salmon. Clearly, this is a "famous smoked fish" place, so if you go, don't get something outside of the smoked fish options. My recommendation, order a large water, the smoked fish spread (~$7) on toasted bread with tomato - wash it down with a pint of beer (~$2) and enjoy! Definitely worth seeking out, we went at 2pm and this place was still packed so plan accordingly. If you are in the area, definitely make this a place to eat while in FL!

Visited November 2012
Helpful?
Thank jmeleeS
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Galway, Ireland
Level Contributor
45 reviews
18 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 15 helpful votes
“beautiful smoked fish”
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed November 13, 2012

If you like smoked fish this is the place for you.My 18 year old son wanted to try Ted Peters as he saw it on t.v. here in Europe.I must say the fish is excellent.I had Mahi-Mahi with the potatoe salad which is covered in fried bacon, grease and all.I could get addicted to that stuff.We sat outside even though the traffic is very busy passing by.Everyone was very friendly and the whole experience was very pleasant.I would definitely recommend this place

  • Visited November 2012
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Atmosphere
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Food
Helpful?
Thank Tom B
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers who viewed Ted Peters Famous Smoked Fish also viewed

 
St. Petersburg, FL
 

Been to Ted Peters Famous Smoked Fish? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing