We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Excellent Visit”
Review of Sawgrass Lake Park

Sawgrass Lake Park
Certificate of Excellence
Attraction details
Toronto, Canada
Level Contributor
1 review
“Excellent Visit”
Reviewed October 29, 2012

We found this by accident and weren't disappointed!! Lots of young and baby gators, turtles and we were lucky to see momma and her baby gators too!

Visited October 2012
Helpful?
Thank KarenW82402
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

511 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    310
    156
    35
    7
    3
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Polish first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Albany, OR
Level Contributor
278 reviews
106 attraction reviews
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 102 helpful votes
“The concierge got it right on this one!”
Reviewed October 23, 2012

We drove to Sawgrass Lake thinking that we might see some nice scenery and maybe a bird or two. There's an interpretive center of sorts, raised wooden walkways and a viewing tower next to the lake. And there are gators! We saw nine baby foot-long gators about fifteen feet away from the boardwalk, some swimming, others lounging in the sun. We waited for the mother, but finally had to give up. I was hoping to see a flying squirrel, and a squirrel ran down the railing and jumped into a tree. Good enough. The scenery was beautiful (some trash, as usual, marred the beauty) and all the people we met were friendly and as happy to be out strolling as we were.

Visited October 2012
Helpful?
1 Thank stillhall
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Largo, Florida
Level Contributor
69 reviews
35 attraction reviews
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 37 helpful votes
“real gators”
Reviewed October 21, 2012

saw a mama gator and her babies...
walkways shaded
bathroom fountains foe drinking...
you can ride your bike
they are some deck above water so you can enjoy the view better

Helpful?
Thank AuCaPi
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Newport, Rhode Island
Level Contributor
137 reviews
52 attraction reviews
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 57 helpful votes
“Loved it”
Reviewed October 20, 2012

So tranquil and peaceful...I could have stayed longer...great walking trails ...!
I will return for sure....

Visited October 2012
Helpful?
Thank Newporter2551
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
St. Petersburg, Florida
Level Contributor
65 reviews
18 attraction reviews
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 18 helpful votes
“Hidden Treaure in St Petersburg”
Reviewed October 16, 2012

We love going to Sawgrass Lake Park. It's a hidden treasure in the middle of St Petersburg, FL. We love the boardwalks in the middle of the woods. Peaceful walk through a lovely tree canopy where you can see all kinds of Florida wildlife. We have never missed spotting young alligators in the waters.

Visited October 2012
Helpful?
Thank 4Housers
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers who viewed Sawgrass Lake Park also viewed

 

Been to Sawgrass Lake Park? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing