We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Great hotel and very clean”

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 11 more sites!
Comfort Inn & Suites Northeast - Gateway
Ranked #14 of 42 Hotels in St. Petersburg
Certificate of Excellence
Reviewed June 30, 2010

We stayed 1 night while passing through St. Petersburg and found this hotel via the toll free choice hotel phone service. The hotel was very clean and we didnt see any of the issues listed here in prior reviews. They even opened up the pool for us after the posted closing time so we could enjoy a late night swim. I would not hesitate to stay here again!

  • Stayed: June 2010, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank Clyde R
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
comfortinn947, Manager at Comfort Inn & Suites Northeast - Gateway, responded to this reviewResponded January 14, 2011

Thank you so much for your feedback. We truly appreciate our guests' input and responses after their stay. Our goal is to efficiently make guests' stays more comfortable and enjoyable. We feel we can effectively achieve this by listening and actively responding to guest feedback. Thank you again,

Comfort Inn Tropicana Management

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review
Reviews (205)
There are newer reviews for Comfort Inn & Suites Northeast - Gateway
See the most recent reviews
Traveler rating
Traveler type
Time of year
Language

180 - 186 of 205 reviews

Reviewed June 1, 2010

This nearly new property was a gem of a find. We were in town to visit family but needed our own space with our children. The hotel was extremely elegantly decorated from the lobby to the breakfast area. Free buffet was wonderful to get our day started. Staff was helpful and attentive. The price couldn't be beat! Will definitley let my local family know to recommend this to others and we will be back next year!

  • Stayed: May 2010, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank rome2004
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
comfortinn947, Guest Relations Manager at Comfort Inn & Suites Northeast - Gateway, responded to this reviewResponded June 3, 2010

Thank you for taking the time to compliment your stay at our hotel.
We hope that you will give us another chance to serve you better.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed March 25, 2010

Hotel in good condition. The night auditor was great, but I didnt expect to see someone in jeans and windbreaker greet me at the desk. Alex took our reservation and had a great phone manner. The yound lady who served breakfast and worked the desk <i>didnt smile not once</i>. She didnt even stand to greet us when we came in. In fact she had headphones on every time I needed something that she would take off as if we were interupting whatever she was doing on the computer. The beds were clean but hard. Pillows were great. Breakfast bar was <b>VERY LIMITED</b>, we still left hungry.

My last night I got up about 1am to use the restroom and hit my ankle and tripped on the bed frame. Thankfully I caught myself before falling into the nightstand. I kindly notified the desk that morning and instead of an apology I received a defensive tone asking me why I didnt say something right away. Needless to say, it wasnt that big a deal until it was addressed in such a <b>poor</b> manner. I was simply showing courtesy to prevent someone else, who may not be lucky enough to catch themselves, from getting seriously injured.

Hotel has potential but I have to agree with another post that says <b>POOR SERVICE</b>

  • Stayed: March 2010, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank m0mma0f3
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
comfortinn947, Guest Relations Manager at Comfort Inn & Suites Northeast - Gateway, responded to this reviewResponded June 16, 2010

Thank you for talking the time to tell as about your stay at our hotel. We do appreciate hearing from our customers, as their comments are vital for us to continue improving our accommodations.

I am sorry that you weren’t satisfied with your stay at our hotel. The problems that you mentioned have been brought to the attention of our department. While the lack of service you experienced is unusual and not the standard of our hotel, there is no excuse for a lackadaisical attitude on the part of any of our employees. We are sorry for the inconvenience and annoyance this incident caused.

Thank you again for your comments. We hope that you will give us another chance to serve you better.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed March 15, 2010

I hate to give a bad review, but one of the critical things for me in lodgings is internet service. I always check to make sure prospective lodgings have good internet connections. This was the worst. It was impossible to use the wireless even though the manager rebooted the server a couple of times. So, he had me call their IT person in Wisconsin, who arranged for them to give me an ethernet cable to use. Even then, the term broadband seemed like a misnomer. It took forever just to find and reserve a hotel room for the night we left. Otherwise, the room was very nice, and the people who worked there were very pleasant.

  • Stayed: March 2010, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank sablatt
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
comfortinn947, GM at Comfort Inn & Suites Northeast - Gateway, responded to this reviewResponded March 22, 2010

I am sorry that these unfortunate incidents occurred and sincerely appreciate your continued patronage. Thank you for talking the time to tell as about your stay at our hotel. I certainly agree that your unsatisfactory experience does not represent the level of service we strive to provide.

The problems that you have mentioned have been brought to the attention of our department. We are sorry for the inconvenience and annoyance this incident caused.

Thank you again for your comments. We hope that you will give us another chance to serve you.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed January 20, 2010

We stayed for 2 nights starting Christmas Eve and enjoyed how the lobby was decorated for the holiday. The beds were roomy queens and so comfortable that I looked at the mattress to see what brand/style they were so I could look for them for my home. The sheets were of a high quality and very soft - something extremely important to me. The bathroom was immaculate, which immediately set me at ease about the cleanliness of the rest of the room.

  • Stayed: December 2009, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank cjcubed
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
comfortinn947, Guest Relations Manager at Comfort Inn & Suites Northeast - Gateway, responded to this reviewResponded June 16, 2010

Thank you for taking the time to compliment your stay at our hotel. We do appreciate hearing from our customers, as their comments are vital for us to continue improving our accommodations.

We hope that you will give us another chance to serve you better.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed November 12, 2009

Stayed here for just 1 night in November. The hotel wasn't the easiest to find & is located in just a so-so area, quite far from anything for tourists to do which was ok for us as we just wanted a quiet night which is what we got here. Stayed in a Ground Floor King. The hotel was quiet when we checked in at around 4PM on a Wednesday but got busier later on, mainly with business travlellers. There is an office complex to the rear of the hotel & for a while i observed the employees..from the comfort of the hotel's very nice hot-tub. Those poor working people! Oh well, we can't ALL be on around the world trips, can we. The hotel was clean & comfortable but definitely geared more towards the business traveller than the tourist i would say. Good business centre with free internet access.

  • Stayed: November 2008, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Oldham74
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
comfortinn947, Guest Relations Manager at Comfort Inn & Suites Northeast - Gateway, responded to this reviewResponded June 16, 2010

Thank you for taking the time to compliment your stay at our hotel. We do appreciate hearing from our customers, as their comments are vital for us to continue improving our accommodations.

We hope that you will give us another chance to serve you better.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed September 1, 2009

I stayed at this hotel for two nights in August 2009. I had a spacious room with a King sized bed. The bed was comfortable and had several pillows to choose from. If you REALLY want to nitpick, the blanket and comforter were a tiny bit worn but it didn't bother me and the sheets were soft. The heat/air conditioner has an individually controlled thermostat though I don't think it ever got as cold as I set it. The TV was a nice 32" flat panel with Verizon Fios cable. The TV has a timer which someone unfortunately set to go off at 6:15 AM! The bathroom was clean with plenty of towels. The shower rod is curved which seemed to keep out a lot of water. A bath mat is provided rolled up alongside of the tub to prevent mildew. There was a closet and a few drawers to store things in but not much storage space. A Bible was hidden in one of the night stand drawers.

Wifi access is provided with a user name and password. It worked great in my room.

The hotel lobby features a large flat panel TV mounted on the wall, several chairs and a staffed front desk.

The breakfast room is off the lobby with several tables and chairs. The continential buffet featured danishes, croissants, English muffns, bread, hard boiled eggs, cereal, milk, coffee, tea and make your own Belgian waffles. It also has a TV.

The hotel was very quiet and I didn't see too many other guests.

I checked out the pool which is 3' and 5' deep. It was unstaffed and towels are provided on site. A large insect was floating in the pool suggesting it hadn't been cleaned very recently. The water was warm and good for swimming.

The hotel is not situated near any tourist attractions and is in a rather industrial area with a gas station across the street and a Bank of America building nearby. It's a good 15-20 minutes to downtown St. Pete but is convenient to the Tampa and St. Pete/Clearwater airports.

The lobby hs many tourist brochures and information including discount coupons.

The hotel was clean and I especially liked that it was smoke free. There wasn't anything to bother my allergies!

I would stay here again if I had a car or access to one. I had a pleasant stay,

  • Stayed: August 2009, traveled solo
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank QNPoohBear
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
comfortinn947, Guest Relations Manager at Comfort Inn & Suites Northeast - Gateway, responded to this reviewResponded June 17, 2010

Thank you for taking the time to compliment your stay at our hotel. It is very great that you took time to describe all of our services in detail. We assure you that we will definitely pay attention to the services that you have mentioned including pool.

We do appreciate hearing from our customers, as their comments are vital for us to continue improving our accommodations.

We hope that you will give us another chance to serve you better.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these St. Petersburg hotels
2.8 mi away
Comfort Inn North
Comfort Inn North
#10 of 42 in St. Petersburg
214 reviews
5.6 mi away
Hampton Inn St. Petersburg
Hampton Inn St. Petersburg
#9 of 42 in St. Petersburg
779 reviews
2.5 mi away
Hilton Saint Petersburg Carillon Park
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
5.6 mi away
Hollander Hotel
Hollander Hotel
#3 of 42 in St. Petersburg
1,381 reviews
1.8 mi away
La Quinta Inn & Suites St. Petersburg Northeast
La Quinta Inn & Suites St. Peter...
#20 of 42 in St. Petersburg
318 reviews
6.4 mi away
Staybridge Suites St. Petersburg Downtown
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Comfort Inn & Suites Northeast - Gateway? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Comfort Inn & Suites Northeast - Gateway

Address: 875 94th Ave N, St. Petersburg, FL 33702-2444
Phone Number:
Location: United States > Florida > St. Petersburg
Amenities:
Business Center with Internet Access Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#5 Business Hotel in St. Petersburg
#6 Family Hotel in St. Petersburg
#7 Romantic Hotel in St. Petersburg
Price Range: $90 - $192 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:3 star — Comfort Inn & Suites Northeast - Gateway 3*
Number of rooms: 53
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
All spacious guest rooms are air conditioned and come equipped with microwaves, coffee makers, refrigerators, flat-screen televisions, pillow-top mattresses, hair dryers, irons and ironing boards. Some rooms feature sofa sleepers and whirlpool bathtubs. Handicap accessible rooms are available. This is a 100 percent non-smoking hotel. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Hotels.com, Priceline, Booking.com, Choice Hotels, Expedia, Travelocity, Cancelon, TripOnline SA, Agoda, Hotwire, Cheap Tickets, getaroom.com and HotelQuickly so you can book your Comfort Inn & Suites Northeast - Gateway reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Comfort Inn And Suites Saint Petersburg
Comfort Inn & Suites Saint Petersburg Hotel St. Petersburg
Comfort Inn St Petersburg

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing