We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Nice and clean hotel”

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 10 more sites!
Comfort Inn & Suites Northeast - Gateway
Ranked #17 of 43 Hotels in St. Petersburg
Certificate of Excellence
Reviewed September 21, 2013 via mobile

This was a nice and clean hotel. I stopped in at 2a.m. after a long drive from GA and the front desk staff was amazing he understood that l was tired and speeded up the process. The rooms were nice and clean, location was great, and the breakfast was awesome.

  • Stayed: September 2013
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Cee-Fla
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
comfortinn947, General Manager at Comfort Inn & Suites Northeast - Gateway, responded to this reviewResponded September 23, 2013

I'm glad you enjoyed our "Nice and Clean Hotel!" Our staff works very hard to deliver top notch customer service and it brings me joy to hear that they are doing "Amazing." Also, we just hired a new breakfast attendant "Lupe" and it is wonderful to hear the positive feedback about breakfast. Thank you for taking the time out of your day to share your experience and I will be sure to share this with my staff!

Please keep us in mind for future trips and like us at Facebook.com/ComfortInnStpete

Thanks again -

Jeremy Robinson
General Manager

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a ReviewReviews (211)
Traveler rating
Traveler type
Time of year
Language

132 - 138 of 211 reviews

Reviewed September 7, 2013

We live far north of here, and we came down to go to the dog track and we found this place. Upon check in, no reservation of course, we encountered a very nice young man. We got a nice room, for a nice price, at the last minute. So we got to our room and it is a nice room, king size bed, and the price was definitely right. Enjoying the dog track like we do, we would definitely stay at this Comfort Inn again. An absolutely positive experience!

  • Stayed: September 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Sue H
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
comfortinn947, General Manager at Comfort Inn & Suites Northeast - Gateway, responded to this reviewResponded September 18, 2013

Hi Sue -

I'm glad you stumbled across us and enjoyed your stay nice and close here to Derby Lane! Thank you for recognizing some of the nice aspects of your experience including our staff, the price and the rooms themselves. Please ask for me next time you visit us so I can put a face to the name. Thank you again for sharing your kind remarks.

Sincerely -

Jeremy S. Robinson
General Manager

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed September 3, 2013

Clean rooms and very good breakfast Very large selection of foods. I was not too happy with the bathroom as it was very small, and was given a ragged towel, but overall great place.Had tickets to the ballgame and was celebrating an anniversary. Front desk at check in and also at check out was most exceptional.Staff very accomodating with simple request, and found in room refridgerator kept our food cold. Will use again when in the area,and reccomend to friends. Price was great and no hassles at all.

  • Stayed: August 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank sgloria123
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
comfortinn947, General Manager at Comfort Inn & Suites Northeast - Gateway, responded to this reviewResponded September 4, 2013

Hello! I really appreciate you telling the TripAdvisor world about our "Clean Rooms" and that we had a "Very Good Breakfast!" We do have a full size tub and shower along with the space saver shower curtain rod but you are right the bathroom is not made for a group of people to occupy. Also I apologize for the towel, although I am sure it was clean I hope you requested a new towel as they are bountiful and we are in the process of eliminating those few troubled towels. Overall though it sounds like you had a great stay for your Baseball game and dinner and I am pleased to hear that our staff was "Exceptional and Very Accommodating!" Thank you for your review and we look forward to your return. You can tell your friends about us by Liking us at Facebook.com/ComfortInnStPete or at Twitter.com/StPeteComfort.

Sincerely -

Jeremy Robinson
GM

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed September 2, 2013

This was my first time at this property and it won't be the last. I choose this hotel based on a combination of price and it's TripAdvisor rating and wasn't disappointed. I spent Labor Day weekend here. The good things started at check-in when I was given a complimentary upgrade to a King Suite. There was hardly anyone else on the third floor so it was very quiet even though I was close to the elevator. You could just about see your reflection in the tile in the public areas.


Two things I always look for are water pressure in the shower (pretty good) and the air conditioning (excellent). The mini-fridge kept things exceptionally cold. Very nice flat-screen TV.

The hot breakfast was good with plenty of choices from cereal to waffles to ultra-hard scrambled eggs and sausage patties.


There was no ice machine on the third floor despite a wall sign pointing to one end of the floor and the room didn't have a complimentary bottle of hair conditioner. This was apparently due to a transition in brands but the weekend desk clerk was clueless about the existence of the old supply in the office behind his station and gave a snipe-hunt story about guests preferring hand lotion over conditioner. The bathrooms are tiny, one person at a time.

  • Stayed: September 2013, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Ronsch
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
comfortinn947, General Manager at Comfort Inn & Suites Northeast - Gateway, responded to this reviewResponded September 4, 2013

Thank you for taking the time to contribute to our "Great Rating" her on TripAdvisor! Comfort Inn does not require conditioner but sounds like out front desk agent was able to get their hands on a back room supply to accommodate your request. Regarding Ice we do have those machines on the first and second floor but only soda on the 3rd floor. However, I am glad you enjoyed the impromptu complimentary upgrade to a king suite and were able to relax on our quiet third floor!

Please take the time to LIKE US at Facebook.com/ComfortInnStPete

Regards -

Jeremy Robinson
GM

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed August 26, 2013

The room was nice and clean. The continental breakfast was good and had a variety of things to choose from. The ac unit worked great. The employees were super nice and helpful. Over all a good hotel to stay at.

  • Stayed: August 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Review collected in partnership with Easytobook.com
1  Thank Kaitlyn F
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
comfortinn947, General Manager at Comfort Inn & Suites Northeast - Gateway, responded to this reviewResponded August 28, 2013

Hi Kaitlyn-

Thank you for taking time out of your day to share your great experience with the TripAdvisor World. I am glad you enjoyed the many options on our full hot breakfast buffet. Most people rave about the Belgian waffles, scrambled eggs and sausage along with the convenience of yogurt and fruit ;) I am glad the staff was friendly and everything was clean and working condition! Please like us at Facebook.com/ComfortInnStPete and we hope you stay with us again soon!

Sincerely -

Jeremy Robinson
GM

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed August 16, 2013

There were a lot of great things about this hotel but one disappointing interaction with a staff member spoiled the experience.

I was actually very happy with this hotel at first. The female staff member who checked me in was delightful – friendly, helpful and just a pleasure to deal with. My room was extremely clean and very comfortable and the hotel was conveniently located. I can’t think of anything that I would have changed.

However, the next morning it was as if I woke up in a completely different hotel. After an event the night before that went very late, I slept later than I had intended. It was close to 11:00 and not being certain of the checkout time, I called the front desk to ask. Finding that checkout was at 11:00, I explained that I was not quite ready and asked for a later checkout of noon.

Instead of being accommodated, I was told in the rudest, almost shaming tone I have ever heard from a hotel staff member that they did not do late checkouts. I then got a lecture about always knowing the checkout time of a hotel and I was told that I needed to leave the room immediately. He treated me like more of a freeloader than a guest.

I then apologized about my confusion with the checkout time and explained that I was neither dressed nor packed up. I was then told that I could take a few minutes but that I needed to leave as soon as possible. Which I did - leaving a couple of items behind in my haste, unfortunately.

I understand that no hotel is obligated to accommodate a late checkout request and that despite the apparent emptiness of the hotel the night before that there might have been a good reason that a late checkout could not be given that day. But the nasty way that it was handled was just unacceptable. It’s a shame that a lovely hotel like this one has such inflexible policies and such a rude desk clerk who feels that it is appropriate to shame and embarrass a guest who has a pretty common request.

  • Stayed: August 2013, traveled solo
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank JennAgain68
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
comfortinn947, General Manager at Comfort Inn & Suites Northeast - Gateway, responded to this reviewResponded August 19, 2013

Thank you for your comments and I apologize for the inappropriate tone that you say you received. I assure you that is not tolerated and definitely sounds like a different hotel. However, I did speak with my staff in regards to this issue as we pride ourselves in customer satisfaction. Moreover, checkout time is 11am but we try to accommodate all that we can and Noon is generally the norm but if we had a sold out house the next day or not you should not have to feel that way and for that I apologize.

Sincerely -

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed August 3, 2013 via mobile

I stay at this string of hotels often due to a discount I get. This by far is the best. Very nice staff. Very clean rooms. Very close to good food and a short 25 min drive to the beach. I dealt with all three shifts at the front desk and they were great. I will return when in the area. Only one flaw is I like a larger breakfast selection. Other comforts seem to have more options.

  • Stayed: August 2013
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank Nesy76
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
comfortinn947, General Manager at Comfort Inn & Suites Northeast - Gateway, responded to this reviewResponded August 5, 2013

Thank you for your nice review and we look forward to having you back! We are a top ranked hotel! Our hotel is ranked 3rd in the State and is in the top 13% in the Nation and we are on the rise!!!! As you know our breakfast does consist of Belgian Waffles, Scrambled Eggs, Sausage Patties, Fresh Fruit, Yogurt, Cereal, Coffee an assortment of Juices and Muffins and this is all included in your rate!

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these St. Petersburg hotels
2.5 mi away
Hilton Saint Petersburg Carillon Park
5.6 mi away
Hampton Inn St. Petersburg
Hampton Inn St. Petersburg
#11 of 43 in St. Petersburg
822 reviews
2.8 mi away
Comfort Inn North
Comfort Inn North
#9 of 43 in St. Petersburg
232 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
1.8 mi away
La Quinta Inn & Suites St. Petersburg Northeast
La Quinta Inn & Suites St. Peter...
#20 of 43 in St. Petersburg
326 reviews
5.6 mi away
Hollander Hotel
Hollander Hotel
#2 of 43 in St. Petersburg
1,450 reviews
2.7 mi away
Holiday Inn Express Hotel & Suites St. Petersburg North I-275
Holiday Inn Express Hotel & Suit...
#25 of 43 in St. Petersburg
190 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Comfort Inn & Suites Northeast - Gateway? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Comfort Inn & Suites Northeast - Gateway

Address: 875 94th Ave N, St. Petersburg, FL 33702-2444
Phone Number:
Location: United States > Florida > St. Petersburg
Amenities:
Business Center with Internet Access Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#4 Family Hotel in St. Petersburg
#5 Business Hotel in St. Petersburg
#7 Romantic Hotel in St. Petersburg
Price Range: $133 - $214 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:3 star — Comfort Inn & Suites Northeast - Gateway 3*
Number of rooms: 53
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
All spacious guest rooms are air conditioned and come equipped with microwaves, coffee makers, refrigerators, flat-screen televisions, pillow-top mattresses, hair dryers, irons and ironing boards. Some rooms feature sofa sleepers and whirlpool bathtubs. Handicap accessible rooms are available. This is a 100 percent non-smoking hotel. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Choice Hotels, Expedia, Priceline, Booking.com, Hotels.com, Travelocity, getaroom.com, Hotwire, Orbitz, Cancelon, HotelQuickly and TripOnline SA so you can book your Comfort Inn & Suites Northeast - Gateway reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Comfort Inn And Suites Saint Petersburg
Comfort Inn & Suites Saint Petersburg Hotel St. Petersburg
Comfort Inn St Petersburg

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing