We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“A Great Value in NE St. Pete”

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 11 more sites!
Comfort Inn & Suites Northeast - Gateway
Ranked #12 of 42 Hotels in St. Petersburg
Certificate of Excellence
Tallahassee, Florida
Level Contributor
26 reviews
12 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 18 helpful votes
“A Great Value in NE St. Pete”
Reviewed September 2, 2013

This was my first time at this property and it won't be the last. I choose this hotel based on a combination of price and it's TripAdvisor rating and wasn't disappointed. I spent Labor Day weekend here. The good things started at check-in when I was given a complimentary upgrade to a King Suite. There was hardly anyone else on the third floor so it was very quiet even though I was close to the elevator. You could just about see your reflection in the tile in the public areas.


Two things I always look for are water pressure in the shower (pretty good) and the air conditioning (excellent). The mini-fridge kept things exceptionally cold. Very nice flat-screen TV.

The hot breakfast was good with plenty of choices from cereal to waffles to ultra-hard scrambled eggs and sausage patties.


There was no ice machine on the third floor despite a wall sign pointing to one end of the floor and the room didn't have a complimentary bottle of hair conditioner. This was apparently due to a transition in brands but the weekend desk clerk was clueless about the existence of the old supply in the office behind his station and gave a snipe-hunt story about guests preferring hand lotion over conditioner. The bathrooms are tiny, one person at a time.

  • Stayed September 2013, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Ronsch
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
comfortinn947, General Manager at Comfort Inn & Suites Northeast - Gateway, responded to this review, September 4, 2013
Thank you for taking the time to contribute to our "Great Rating" her on TripAdvisor! Comfort Inn does not require conditioner but sounds like out front desk agent was able to get their hands on a back room supply to accommodate your request. Regarding Ice we do have those machines on the first and second floor but only soda on the 3rd floor. However, I am glad you enjoyed the impromptu complimentary upgrade to a king suite and were able to relax on our quiet third floor!

Please take the time to LIKE US at Facebook.com/ComfortInnStPete

Regards -

Jeremy Robinson
GM
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

203 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    123
    50
    21
    4
    5
See reviews for
67
62
12
37
Rating summary
  • Sleep Quality
  • Location
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (30)
Date | Rating
  • Chinese (Simplified) first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • Portuguese first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Tampa Fl
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
Reviewed August 26, 2013

The room was nice and clean. The continental breakfast was good and had a variety of things to choose from. The ac unit worked great. The employees were super nice and helpful. Over all a good hotel to stay at.

  • Stayed August 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Review collected in partnership with Easytobook.com

Helpful?
1 Thank Kaitlyn F
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
comfortinn947, General Manager at Comfort Inn & Suites Northeast - Gateway, responded to this review, August 28, 2013
Hi Kaitlyn-

Thank you for taking time out of your day to share your great experience with the TripAdvisor World. I am glad you enjoyed the many options on our full hot breakfast buffet. Most people rave about the Belgian waffles, scrambled eggs and sausage along with the convenience of yogurt and fruit ;) I am glad the staff was friendly and everything was clean and working condition! Please like us at Facebook.com/ComfortInnStPete and we hope you stay with us again soon!

Sincerely -

Jeremy Robinson
GM
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Decatur, Georgia
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
Reviewed August 16, 2013

There were a lot of great things about this hotel but one disappointing interaction with a staff member spoiled the experience.

I was actually very happy with this hotel at first. The female staff member who checked me in was delightful – friendly, helpful and just a pleasure to deal with. My room was extremely clean and very comfortable and the hotel was conveniently located. I can’t think of anything that I would have changed.

However, the next morning it was as if I woke up in a completely different hotel. After an event the night before that went very late, I slept later than I had intended. It was close to 11:00 and not being certain of the checkout time, I called the front desk to ask. Finding that checkout was at 11:00, I explained that I was not quite ready and asked for a later checkout of noon.

Instead of being accommodated, I was told in the rudest, almost shaming tone I have ever heard from a hotel staff member that they did not do late checkouts. I then got a lecture about always knowing the checkout time of a hotel and I was told that I needed to leave the room immediately. He treated me like more of a freeloader than a guest.

I then apologized about my confusion with the checkout time and explained that I was neither dressed nor packed up. I was then told that I could take a few minutes but that I needed to leave as soon as possible. Which I did - leaving a couple of items behind in my haste, unfortunately.

I understand that no hotel is obligated to accommodate a late checkout request and that despite the apparent emptiness of the hotel the night before that there might have been a good reason that a late checkout could not be given that day. But the nasty way that it was handled was just unacceptable. It’s a shame that a lovely hotel like this one has such inflexible policies and such a rude desk clerk who feels that it is appropriate to shame and embarrass a guest who has a pretty common request.

  • Stayed August 2013, traveled solo
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank JennAgain68
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
comfortinn947, General Manager at Comfort Inn & Suites Northeast - Gateway, responded to this review, August 19, 2013
Thank you for your comments and I apologize for the inappropriate tone that you say you received. I assure you that is not tolerated and definitely sounds like a different hotel. However, I did speak with my staff in regards to this issue as we pride ourselves in customer satisfaction. Moreover, checkout time is 11am but we try to accommodate all that we can and Noon is generally the norm but if we had a sold out house the next day or not you should not have to feel that way and for that I apologize.

Sincerely -
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Level Contributor
34 reviews
9 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 20 helpful votes
Reviewed August 3, 2013 via mobile

I stay at this string of hotels often due to a discount I get. This by far is the best. Very nice staff. Very clean rooms. Very close to good food and a short 25 min drive to the beach. I dealt with all three shifts at the front desk and they were great. I will return when in the area. Only one flaw is I like a larger breakfast selection. Other comforts seem to have more options.

  • Stayed August 2013
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Nesy76
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
comfortinn947, General Manager at Comfort Inn & Suites Northeast - Gateway, responded to this review, August 5, 2013
Thank you for your nice review and we look forward to having you back! We are a top ranked hotel! Our hotel is ranked 3rd in the State and is in the top 13% in the Nation and we are on the rise!!!! As you know our breakfast does consist of Belgian Waffles, Scrambled Eggs, Sausage Patties, Fresh Fruit, Yogurt, Cereal, Coffee an assortment of Juices and Muffins and this is all included in your rate!
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Alpharetta, Georgia
Level Contributor
3 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 3 helpful votes
Reviewed July 7, 2013

I stayed here while working on my move to the area. It was very clean and the staff was very friendly. Breakfast was great with lots of selections. You get a lot for your money and I would highly recommend this hotel.

  • Stayed May 2013
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank Matthewatay
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
comfortinn947, General Manager at Comfort Inn & Suites Northeast - Gateway, responded to this review, August 5, 2013
Thank you Matthew for the great review! Welcome to St. Petersburg! Whenever friends or family are in town please send them our way! Also, pop in some time and say Hi, I love meeting our guests! I will be sure to share this review with our staff. Thanks again.

- Jeremy Robinson
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
New York
Level Contributor
34 reviews
22 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 24 helpful votes
Reviewed July 7, 2013

Hotel is clean, but in my room I find bugs in bathroom and bathroom is liking, Breakfast is absolutely terrible, nothing is unavailable or just ended. When I ask to ex-stand to check out time(they extend till 12.00 I ask till 2.00 P.M), hotel was empty and reason because cleaning personal want to clean room before 1.00 P.M.Location is very far from downtown, almost in prom zone, this 2.5 stat hotel, and price little high for this property.

  • Stayed July 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank travelguy6
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
comfortinn947, General Manager at Comfort Inn & Suites Northeast - Gateway, responded to this review, July 10, 2013
I saw your stay was during the Fourth of July Holiday where we were actually sold out Also, Check Out time is at 11AM so I am glad they did extend your check out time as a courtesy and I hope in that additional time you were able to enjoy your in room 42" Flat Screen TV! Either way, thank you for your visit to our hotel and for your comments.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Key Largo, Florida
Level Contributor
6 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 5 helpful votes
Reviewed June 27, 2013

My husband and I stayed at Comfort Inn and Suites on a recent trip to Saint Petersburg. We were completely satisfied with our stay. The interior was clean and modern, and the rooms were both comfortable and nicely decorated. The staff was friendly, and cheerful. Glen (the desk clerk) was very helpful, and went above and beyond to ensure our stay was enjoyable.

We will definitely be back!

Sincerely,
Key Largo Visitor

  • Stayed June 2013, traveled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
3 Thank Gail P
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
comfortinn947, General Manager at Comfort Inn & Suites Northeast - Gateway, responded to this review, July 3, 2013
Thank you for reviewing your stay with us at Comfort Inn & Suites St. Petersburg. We are most pleased that you were so satisfied with your stay here. Glenn certainly does exemplify the standards of customer service that we strive to offer, and I will pass along your compliments to him as well as the rest of the staff. We hope to see you next time you are in St. Petersburg. Sincerely, General Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these St. Petersburg hotels
2.5 mi away
Hilton Saint Petersburg Carillon Park
6.4 mi away
Staybridge Suites St. Petersburg Downtown
5.6 mi away
Hampton Inn St. Petersburg
Hampton Inn St. Petersburg
#10 of 42 in St. Petersburg
4.0 of 5 bubbles 723 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
2.8 mi away
Comfort Inn North
Comfort Inn North
#8 of 42 in St. Petersburg
4.0 of 5 bubbles 192 reviews
5.6 mi away
Hollander Hotel
Hollander Hotel
#4 of 42 in St. Petersburg
4.5 of 5 bubbles 1,323 reviews
1.8 mi away
La Quinta Inn & Suites St. Petersburg Northeast
La Quinta Inn & Suites St. Peter...
#17 of 42 in St. Petersburg
4.0 of 5 bubbles 304 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Comfort Inn & Suites Northeast - Gateway? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Comfort Inn & Suites Northeast - Gateway

Property: Comfort Inn & Suites Northeast - Gateway
Address: 875 94th Ave N, St. Petersburg, FL 33702-2444
Phone Number:
Location: United States > Florida > St. Petersburg
Amenities:
Business Center with Internet Access Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#5 Business Hotel in St. Petersburg
#6 Family Hotel in St. Petersburg
#7 Romantic Hotel in St. Petersburg
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$
Hotel Class:3 star — Comfort Inn & Suites Northeast - Gateway 3*
Number of rooms: 53
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
All spacious guest rooms are air conditioned and come equipped with microwaves, coffee makers, refrigerators, flat-screen televisions, pillow-top mattresses, hair dryers, irons and ironing boards. Some rooms feature sofa sleepers and whirlpool bathtubs. Handicap accessible rooms are available. This is a 100 percent non-smoking hotel. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Expedia, Booking.com, Choice Hotels, Hotwire, Orbitz, Priceline, Hotels.com, Cheap Tickets, Cancelon, getaroom.com, HotelsClick, TripOnline SA and HotelQuickly so you can book your Comfort Inn & Suites Northeast - Gateway reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Comfort Inn And Suites Saint Petersburg
Comfort Inn & Suites Saint Petersburg Hotel St. Petersburg
Comfort Inn St Petersburg

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing