We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
Book On TripAdvisor Bonus Book your hotel on TripAdvisor — then save 20% on things to do for your trip. Use code BOOKTOSAVE.

“Outstanding staff, spotless room!” 5 of 5 stars
Review of Comfort Inn & Suites Northeast - Gateway

Best prices for -
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 8 more sites!
Comfort Inn & Suites Northeast - Gateway
Ranked #10 of 42 Hotels in St. Petersburg
Certificate of Excellence
Simpsonville, South Carolina
Level Contributor
15 reviews
7 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 13 helpful votes
“Outstanding staff, spotless room!”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed March 14, 2013

Traveling alone to see family in the area, I found that this hotel was a great central location. Just mins from my family, downtown, and the airport. Glenn was incredibly friendly and helpful, a joy to see every time I returned. The suite was very very clean and a great size for the price, I loved the separation between rooms and the bathroom was very modern. I will be staying here again.

  • Stayed February 2013, traveled with family
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Value
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Location
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Service
Helpful?
6 Thank Nichole K
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
comfortinn947, General Manager at Comfort Inn & Suites Northeast - Gateway, responded to this review, April 10, 2013
Thank you for choosing Comfort Inn & Suites St. Petersburg for your stay while visiting us here in the Sunshine State! We are genuinely thrilled that you had such a good stay at our property. I will personally share your comments to both the housekeeping and front desk staff, and hope that you will choose to stay with us on your next trip to Florida. Warmest regards, General Manager FL947.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

175 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    105
    44
    18
    4
    4
See reviews for
58
51
10
33
Rating summary
  • Sleep Quality
  • Location
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (26)
Date | Rating
  • Chinese (Simplified) first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • Portuguese first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Cincinnati, Ohio
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 5 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed March 9, 2013

Perfect hotel for my friends and I. We were visiting St. Petersburg for spring break. And this hotel we stayed at was the best. Also staff was friendly but Glenn was outstanding. The rooms were very clean also housekeepers were topnotch.

  • Stayed February 2013, traveled with friends
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Value
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Location
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Service
Helpful?
5 Thank Ronnie P
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
comfortinn947, General Manager at Comfort Inn & Suites Northeast - Gateway, responded to this review, April 10, 2013
Thank you for staying with us here at the Comfort Inn & Suites St. Petersburg during your spring break vacation. We are glad that you had a fantastic stay with us. I will pass along your compliments to the housekeeping and front desk staff, and hope to see you again next year! Kindest regards, General Manager.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Swedesboro, New Jersey
Level Contributor
3 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 7 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed March 7, 2013

Eleven family members gathered in St. Petersburg for a three night stay from 2/28 to 3/3/13. Even though the hotel was very busy at this time of the season, we did not experience a single problem due to the caring and always attentive staff at all stations throughout the hotel. I would like to thank the room service staff and give a special thanks to the breakfast room attendants. Glen, at the front desk, was extremely friendly every time we saw him even though he worked very long shifts over the weekend. He let us use the breakfast room for an evening birthday party for our family. We told the GM, Jeremy, about Glens GREAT service and Jeremy said that "Glen did exactly what he should have." That just shows us that the customer care starts at the top and it is passed along to the entire staff. With the cleanliness of the hotel, we thought it was new. Glen told us it was 3.5 years old. The cleanliness of the rooms, breakfast room and the overall look outside was terrific. I would highly recommend this hotel to anyone staying in the St. Pete area. Thank you for such a GREAT place to stay.

  • Stayed March 2013, traveled with family
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Value
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Location
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Service
Helpful?
6 Thank Chuc L
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
comfortinn947, General Manager at Comfort Inn & Suites Northeast - Gateway, responded to this review, April 10, 2013
Thank you for your kind words and compliments, we are glad that you gave us the opportunity to serve you and your family for your family reunion. It is heartwarming to know that we were able to help make it so very special for you. Thank you again for choosing Comfort Inn & Suites St. Petersburg for your Florida family reunion! General Manager and Staff, FL947.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Ohio, United States
Level Contributor
14 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 8 helpful votes
3 of 5 stars Reviewed March 5, 2013

Housekeeping at this hotel was exceptional. The hotel was spotless. Located about 15 - 20 minutes from beaches. One word of caution, beware of anything you are assured of over the phone. We went in February. I called the week before to confirm pool and hot tub were "open and ready for swimming". I asked this question specifically, three different was. Each time assured "yes. The pool is ready for swimming, Yes you will be able to go swimming, yes the hot tub is open. We drove 1,200 miles to be told when I asked about pool hours. "It's open until 10:00, but you can't go swimming. The water's too cold." Turn out pool is NOT heated and Hot tub had a closed by county board of health (which I took a pic of) and was less than 1/2 full of what appeared to be rain water or water form last year.). Hot tub had not been open since last year. Wish they would have been honest up front. Hotel's response upon conveying this complaint: "We could check out whenever we want".

  • Stayed February 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 3 of 5 stars
      Value
    • 3 of 5 stars
      Location
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 stars
      Service
Helpful?
2 Thank Dee C
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
comfortinn947, General Manager at Comfort Inn & Suites Northeast - Gateway, responded to this review, April 11, 2013
Thank you for choosing Comfort Inn & Suites St. Petersburg for your Florida vacation! We truly appreciate your comments about our "exceptional housekeeping" and that the "hotel was spotless". I will pass along your comments to our valued housekeeping staff.

We deeply regret that you were not satisfied with the communication which you received concerning our outdoor hot tub. During your stay we were in a transitional period during which the hot tub was removed and replaced with a beautiful palm tree. Unfortunately our pool is not heated, and though the pool was open, even in Florida February is a chilly month to go for a dip.

We have since addressed the communication issue with our front desk staff and hope that you will consider giving us the opportunity to earn your business in the future. Thank you for your review of out property! Warmest regards, General Manager and Staff of Comfort Inn & Suites St. Petersburg.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
London, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
189 reviews
41 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 60 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed February 24, 2013

The hotel is situated alongside a busy freeway and there is some traffic noise but, other than that, we enjoyed our stay here. Friendly staff, clean rooms, modern decor. I would certainly stay at the Comfort Inn again if ever in St Petersburg. Not over-priced either.

  • Stayed February 2013, traveled with friends
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Value
    • 3 of 5 stars
      Location
    • 3 of 5 stars
      Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Service
Helpful?
Thank Terry B
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
comfortinn947, General Manager at Comfort Inn & Suites Northeast - Gateway, responded to this review, April 11, 2013
Thank you for taking the time to review your stay at Comfort Inn. Though we do have "Friendly staff, clean rooms, modern decor", I believe that you may have reviewed the wrong location as we are not located along a "busy freeway". We are located in what is considered the Gateway area of St. Petersburg, and though we have easy access to the interstate, all Gulf Beaches, the bridges to Tampa, and many local restuarants and attractions, we are in a rather quiet spot surrounded by local high-end office buildings. We will gladly pass along your compliments however to the staff at the location which you stayed. Thank you, General Manager-Comfort Inn & Suites St. Petersburg 875 94th Avenue North St. Petersburg, FL 33702.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Sarasota
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 5 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed February 23, 2013

I'm writing you to share an experience my daughter and I had during your stay at the Comfort Inn & Suites located at 875 94th Ave, North. My daughter, Samantha Poland had booked a room on February 20th of which I joined her. She was staying one night so she could take her RN Certificate Test (close by) at 7:00 AM the next morning. We were concerned that we may need to check out late the next day to give her ample time to complete the test with no pressure of worrying about making the normal check out time.

When we entered your hotel, I was quite impressed of the cleanliness and nice decor. We were kindly greeted immediately by Glenn H. who exemplified a friendly welcome. We explained that Samantha was taking her RN Certification Test and felt pressure about an early check out. He took a personal concern and arranged for a 1:00 check out time, telling her that she should not worry and to just concentrate on her test the next morning.

When we arrived to our room, again it was very clean and comfortable. Experiences such as these at time do not come to often. I wanted to make sure that Glenn H. is commended for courteousness and personal attention he gave my daughter and I.

We will recommend your hotel to my daughter's classmates.

Thank you,

Dawn C.

  • Stayed February 2013, traveled on business
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Value
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Location
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Service
Helpful?
5 Thank drummer22
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
comfortinn947, General Manager at Comfort Inn & Suites Northeast - Gateway, responded to this review, April 11, 2013
Thank you for sharing your experience during your stay with us here at Comfort Inn & Suites St. Petersburg. We are glad is was so good! We really appreciate you telling all of you daughters classmates how wonderful your experience was, and look forward to taking care of their lodging needs as well.

Per your request I have commended Glenn H. on his "courteousness" and the "personal attention" that he gave to your daughter and yourself. We hope that you will stay with us again if you are ever in St. Petersburg in the future. Kindest regards, General Manager FL947.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Mitlon, WI
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 4 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed February 16, 2013

We stayed here one night, needing a room before checking into our rental home. Glenn not only gave us a room at a small discount, but also upgraded us to a suite. I had the opportunity to watch Glenn interact with other guests. He was very welcoming, cordial, and wished others to have a safe travel. This hotel was very clean and updated (only 3.5 years old). Our room was very comfortable and clean. It was quiet and I appreciated a hvac unit that would turn off when the room reached a desired temperature. I have nothing negative to say about our stay and recommend this motel.

  • Stayed February 2013, traveled with family
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Value
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Location
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Service
Helpful?
4 Thank Niel B
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
comfortinn947, General Manager at Comfort Inn & Suites Northeast - Gateway, responded to this review, April 11, 2013
Thank you for taking the time to share just how wonderful your stay with us at Comfort Inn & Suites St. Petersburg was. We strive to offer the utmost in customer service and cleanliness, and truly appreciate that it does not go unnoticed. We have worked very hard to make this a "top ten" property in St. Petersburg, Florida. And you are correct, this is by far the newest Comfort Inn & Suites in St. Petersburg. Thanks again for staying with us, we look forward to serving your family and friends when they visit our beautiful city! Best regards, General Manager and Staff.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these St. Petersburg hotels
5.6 mi away
Hampton Inn St. Petersburg
Hampton Inn St. Petersburg
#8 of 42 in St. Petersburg
4.0 of 5 stars 564 reviews
2.5 mi away
Hilton Saint Petersburg Carillon Park
5.6 mi away
Hollander Hotel
Hollander Hotel
#3 of 42 in St. Petersburg
4.5 of 5 stars 1,057 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
2.8 mi away
Comfort Inn North
Comfort Inn North
#12 of 42 in St. Petersburg
4.0 of 5 stars 97 reviews
6.4 mi away
Staybridge Suites St. Petersburg Downtown
6.0 mi away
Hampton Inn and Suites St. Petersburg Downtown
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Comfort Inn & Suites Northeast - Gateway? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Comfort Inn & Suites Northeast - Gateway

Property: Comfort Inn & Suites Northeast - Gateway
Address: 875 94th Avenue North, St. Petersburg, FL 33702
Phone Number:
Location: United States > Florida > St. Petersburg
Amenities:
Business Center with Internet Access Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#5 Business Hotel in St. Petersburg
#6 Family Hotel in St. Petersburg
#7 Romantic Hotel in St. Petersburg
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$
Hotel Class:3 star — Comfort Inn & Suites Northeast - Gateway 3*
Number of rooms: 53
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
All spacious guest rooms are air conditioned and come equipped with microwaves, coffee makers, refrigerators, flat-screen televisions, pillow-top mattresses, hair dryers, irons and ironing boards. Some rooms feature sofa sleepers and whirlpool bathtubs. Handicap accessible rooms are available. This is a 100 percent non-smoking hotel. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Hotwire, Orbitz, Otel, Odigeo, Choice Hotels, Priceline, Expedia, Hotels.com and Travelocity so you can book your Comfort Inn & Suites Northeast - Gateway reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Comfort Inn And Suites Saint Petersburg
Comfort Inn & Suites Saint Petersburg Hotel St. Petersburg
Comfort Inn St Petersburg

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing