We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
$25 Amazon.com Gift Card Get yours when you book a hotel on TripAdvisor and review your stay!

“close to Derby Lane” 4 of 5 stars
Review of Comfort Inn & Suites Northeast - Gateway

Best prices for -
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 8 more sites!
Comfort Inn & Suites Northeast - Gateway
Ranked #10 of 42 Hotels in St. Petersburg
Certificate of Excellence
Weeki Wachee, Florida
Level Contributor
263 reviews
71 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 131 helpful votes
“close to Derby Lane”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed May 30, 2012

My husband and I stayed here to see and bet on the Preakness at Derby Lane. The hotel was in a good location for our needs and the rooms were clean and beds were very comfortable. We had breakfast at the hotel and the selection was your average continental breakfast. We enjoyed our stay and would definately return for the Belmont!

Room Tip: We stayed on the third floor and it was very quiet.
See more room tips
  • Stayed May 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Value
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Location
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Service
Helpful?
1 Thank lovetotravel0075
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

178 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    106
    44
    20
    4
    4
See reviews for
59
51
11
33
Rating summary
  • Sleep Quality
  • Location
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (26)
Date | Rating
  • Chinese (Simplified) first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • Portuguese first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Tallahassee, Florida
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 4 helpful votes
1 of 5 stars Reviewed March 24, 2012

This was a very dissapoinring hotel for the $. First of all... They advertise a hot tub on their marquis ... And it's broken, no heat. First dissapointment... Went to ask for pillows for the sofa bed for my children.. And was tOld.."there are enough pillows in your room" by the front desk clerk.... He then proceeded to tell me he would show me there was enough in my room,,, so .. Needless to say I received no pillows... Second dissapointment,... All I can say is do not stay here if you want to be talked to with respect!,,,

  • Stayed March 2012, traveled with family
    • 1 of 5 stars
      Value
    • 1 of 5 stars
      Location
    • 1 of 5 stars
      Sleep Quality
    • 1 of 5 stars
      Rooms
    • 1 of 5 stars
      Cleanliness
    • 1 of 5 stars
      Service
Helpful?
4 Thank Kate3333
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
London, Canada
Level Contributor
4 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 4 helpful votes
2 of 5 stars Reviewed March 22, 2012

This could be an excellent hotel. It is well maintained, clean and offers great amenities. It is also in a good location - quiet but with easy access to major routes. The problem is the total lack of front desk service. Check in and check-out were OK but don't expect any other assistance. The person in the room adjacent to ours had his television on ALL NIGHT, EVERY NIGHT. We complained to the front desk and were told that the occupant was a long-term guest and they could do nothing. And they wouldn't consider moving us to another room. Apparently all other rooms were booked. We were staying three nights and didn't want to start hunting for another place so we bought ear plugs. It helped but our sleep was still interrupted. This could have been... should have been a comfortable stay except for the abysmal lack of caring by the hotel management.

Room Tip: Choose another hotel.
See more room tips
  • Stayed February 2012, traveled with family
    • 3 of 5 stars
      Value
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Location
    • 1 of 5 stars
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Cleanliness
    • 1 of 5 stars
      Service
Helpful?
3 Thank davidp6349
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Ottawa, Canada
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 3 helpful votes
1 of 5 stars Reviewed March 11, 2012

Don't be fooled: steer clear of this disComfort Inn.The only saving grace of this place was the comfort of our beds once the lights were out. The service was non-existent. The only extra care that was taken by the staff was to deny us a blanket for the sofa bed, shut down the breakfast area very early, lock up the coffee machine so that no one could access it, leave the pool filthy and turn off the heat for good in the hot tub. I have stayed in many Comfort Inns across the country but this is the ABSOLUTE WORST by a long shot.

  • Stayed March 2012, traveled with family
    • 1 of 5 stars
      Value
    • 3 of 5 stars
      Location
    • 3 of 5 stars
      Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 stars
      Rooms
    • 1 of 5 stars
      Cleanliness
    • 1 of 5 stars
      Service
Helpful?
3 Thank Marie May L
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Level Contributor
39 reviews
10 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 6 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed February 7, 2012

fine hotel met my expectations for a comfort inn. this one seems smaller than other comfort inns. wasn't quite as fancy as others that i have stayed at for weddings i.e. in Nyack, NY. Also was disapointed that poll was not heated and it is situated in the shade so not inviting. Not a hotel to enjoy the outdoors at. Our window in the bedroom did not open. But the rooms are spacious, nice marble bathroom, flat screen tvs, wi-fi, nice bed, great staff kind and helpful. Only at times late at night they were no where to be found and i felt the entrance to the hotel was not safe. Very convenient: 10 minutes driving from downtown St. petersburg. GREAT value!

  • Stayed February 2012, traveled with family
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Value
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Location
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Service
Helpful?
1 Thank emcanflyhi
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Lakeland, Florida
Level Contributor
152 reviews
24 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 57 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed January 23, 2012

Second visit here and was as good as the first time. Hotel is very clean and the staff was friendly. Unfotunately the pool wasn't heated so we didn't get swim. The breakfast in the morning is nothing to talk about, and is like most free breakfasts offered by hotels. The room rate I felt was very reasonable and when returning to the area would stay with them again.

  • Stayed January 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Value
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Location
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Service
Helpful?
Thank larry51347
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Lexington, Kentucky
Level Contributor
79 reviews
32 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 86 helpful votes
2 of 5 stars Reviewed January 9, 2012

With so many other quality lodging options in the area, pick somewhere else. Upon arrival I went out side to check out hot tub, the same hot tub that was advertised on their website and flashing sign outside. I stuck my toe in the hot tub and it was FREEZING! I went in to ask the man at the front desk if it was broke or if it would be turned on later. He notified me they didn't have a hot tub any longer and wanted to know where I saw that they had one. That was very surprising to me since I just saw the hot tub and they have it on a flashing sign outside the hotel. He let me know it's now a kiddy pool. What a joke. The shower was awful. Low pressure and it made a high pitched squealing sound the entire time. The towels were thin and rough. Found hairs in the jacuzzi tub and in the "clean" towels. Like I said, with so many other good options in the area, do yourself a favor and skip this one.

  • Stayed January 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 2 of 5 stars
      Value
    • 3 of 5 stars
      Location
    • 2 of 5 stars
      Sleep Quality
    • 2 of 5 stars
      Rooms
    • 2 of 5 stars
      Cleanliness
    • 1 of 5 stars
      Service
Helpful?
1 Thank C_Ky_Traveller_
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near St. Petersburg
2.8 mi away
Comfort Inn North
Comfort Inn North
#12 of 42 in St. Petersburg
4.0 of 5 stars 106 reviews
5.6 mi away
Hampton Inn St. Petersburg
Hampton Inn St. Petersburg
#8 of 42 in St. Petersburg
4.0 of 5 stars 585 reviews
2.5 mi away
Hilton Saint Petersburg Carillon Park
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
5.4 mi away
Quality Inn & Suites at Tropicana Field
Quality Inn & Suites at Tropican...
#21 of 42 in St. Petersburg
4.0 of 5 stars 142 reviews
5.6 mi away
Hollander Hotel
Hollander Hotel
#4 of 42 in St. Petersburg
4.5 of 5 stars 1,088 reviews
6.4 mi away
Staybridge Suites St. Petersburg Downtown
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Comfort Inn & Suites Northeast - Gateway? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Comfort Inn & Suites Northeast - Gateway

Property: Comfort Inn & Suites Northeast - Gateway
Address: 875 94th Ave N, St. Petersburg, FL 33702-2444
Phone Number:
Location: United States > Florida > St. Petersburg
Amenities:
Business Center with Internet Access Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#5 Business Hotel in St. Petersburg
#6 Family Hotel in St. Petersburg
#7 Romantic Hotel in St. Petersburg
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$
Hotel Class:3 star — Comfort Inn & Suites Northeast - Gateway 3*
Number of rooms: 53
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
All spacious guest rooms are air conditioned and come equipped with microwaves, coffee makers, refrigerators, flat-screen televisions, pillow-top mattresses, hair dryers, irons and ironing boards. Some rooms feature sofa sleepers and whirlpool bathtubs. Handicap accessible rooms are available. This is a 100 percent non-smoking hotel. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Expedia, Hotwire, Orbitz, Odigeo, Priceline, Otel, Travelocity, Hotels.com and Choice Hotels so you can book your Comfort Inn & Suites Northeast - Gateway reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Comfort Inn And Suites Saint Petersburg
Comfort Inn & Suites Saint Petersburg Hotel St. Petersburg
Comfort Inn St Petersburg

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing