We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“Ignore the negative comments”

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 10 more sites!
TradeWinds Island Grand Resort
Ranked #11 of 32 Hotels in St. Pete Beach
Certificate of Excellence
Glasgow, Scotland
Level Contributor
15 reviews
6 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 26 helpful votes
“Ignore the negative comments”
Reviewed November 6, 2006

Ignore any really negative comments you read about the Tradewinds Island Grand, I think the people who write them are being too picky. The hotel in a whole is absolutely superb. With hundreds of rooms your bound to get maybe 1 or 2 not 100% at any one time, but I'll bet there close to it. My family and I visited in July at the height of the season when it was very busy and I have to say that not only were all the staff fantastic, from the concierge and reception to housekeeping. In fact everyone we spoke to was more than happy to help. The hotel itself was fantastic. We upgraded to a gulf view room and the view was amazing. The room itself was pretty basic but had everything we needed including a small kitchen with a toaster and microwave. The digital safe took a couple of mins to figure out though! If you decide to go to st. pete beach you need to take a walk along the beach at sunset. One word, Amazing! As the sun sets, if you look out onto the gulf watch for the dolphins. What an experience. Also, if you like to watch dolphins take a trip on the Dolphin Screamer. A huge speedboat that speeds across the gulf and dolphins swim and dive in it's wake trying to keep up. Go to St petes and go to Tradewinds Island Grand and you'll have a brilliant time. My 7 year old daughter is still talking about it and that was after 2 weeks in Orlando!!

Stayed October 2006
Helpful?
4 Thank gazbjo
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

5,178 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    2,743
    1,245
    611
    358
    221
See reviews for
2,194
998
74
797
Rating summary
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Sleep Quality
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Rooms
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Service
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Value
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Cleanliness
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (1,362)
Date | Rating
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Norwegian first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Any
English first
Leeds
Level Contributor
9 reviews
5 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 46 helpful votes
Reviewed October 29, 2006

Just returned home after spending time in Orlando and four nights at the Tradewinds. I booked this hotel way back in January basing my choice on the good reviews on Tripadvisor. Since then I had regularly checked the reviews and on several occasions was slightly perturbed to find some not very good reports and seriously considered cancelling. I am glad I did not! On arrival we upgraded to a gulf view room and the view was beautiful. Lovely white beaches - on one occasion we sat on our balcony and watched a couple getting married on the beach. We did not bother with the resort fee (currently $25 per day) as we did not feel we would make use of all the amenities. There is a childrens club and our two were booked into the Spongebob Squarepants evening. I dropped them off at the activities centre at 6pm and picked them up at 9pm. We took this opportunity to go for a meal at Silas Dents Steakhouse just across the road. The grounds of the hotel are well manicured and we had a go on the paddleboats (it kills the knees - you have been warned). Also liked using the hammocks which were near the beach. For you non-drivers there is a Suncoast Trolley with stops just outside the hotel that go from Pass a Grille all the way up to Clearwater Beach. It costs $1.50 per trip or $3.50 for a Go card that lasts all day. There are plenty of restaurants within walking distance and a Publix supermarket with plenty of choice for breakfast/lunch items. All in all a lovely hotel, great location and I would recommend this place to anyone. Take no notice of the bad reviews.

  • Liked — The location.
  • Disliked — Nothing.
  • Tips/Secrets — None
  • Stayed October 2006, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Check in / front desk
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
7 Thank scenic2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Clermont, Fl
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
Reviewed October 11, 2006

We love this resort, this was our second year to book this resort.
There are so many activities for the children even in the off season of September. Any requests I had of the housekeeping staff was responded to immediately.
The restaurants on the property are excellent and for variety there are numerous other restaurants in walking distance.
We hope to return in the future!

  • Liked — beach access and beautiful sunsets
  • Disliked — still dealing with the end of Red Tide
  • Stayed September 2006, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Check in / front desk
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
    • Business service (e.g., internet access)
Helpful?
2 Thank clermont03
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Orlando
2 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 5 helpful votes
Reviewed October 9, 2006

I believe as a Concierge for over 12 years, I tend to notice a little more about Hotels and Resorts than the regular Guest. My experience at the Tradewinds Resort in St. Pete Beach was nothing short of exceptional. The Doorman, Front Desk Agent and Bellman each welcomed me with a genuine (not fake) smile. They never just went through the "motions" of their duties, they cared about what they were doing.
Although my room did not have a view of the Beach (which was just steps away) it was beautifully appointed, clean and neat. The property's landscaping was very well tended as well as the common areas. Even though there is plenty to do and activity is everywhere, there are still plenty of areas to just sit or layout and relax.
The restaurants and there are several were very good offering all sorts of selections and reasonably priced.
I look forward to my next visit which will be for a longer stay.

  • Liked — Clean and neatly appointed rooms with the beach just steps away.
  • Disliked — That my stay was to short.
  • Tips/Secrets — Don't hesitate in asking the Staff for advice...they are exceptionally helpful and care that you have a good time.
  • Stayed September 2006, traveled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Check in / front desk
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
5 Thank ConciergeOrlan
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Ohio
Level Contributor
7 reviews
6 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 47 helpful votes
Reviewed October 8, 2006

Stayed here in late September. During the week occupancy was very low, but it picked up considerably on the weekend.

We were supposed to have a 3 bedroom gulf front suite. We ended up with a 1 BR suite with two adjoining rooms. They advised that a "normal" three BR suite consists of a 2BR suite plus 1 adjoining room. I am not sure what the difference would have been, but I do know that this setup was less than desireable. Once they opened all of the adjoining doors, we have TV's, dinette tables, and wires all over the room. These items were normally kept in front of the closed adjoining doors, but had to be moved into the middle of the rooms in order to have the doors open.

The rooms smelled very strongly of an unpleasant deodorizer or insecticide. The rooms were clean, but a little shabby. We did enjoy the full kitchen and feel that we saved quite a bit of money as we ate breakfast and lunch in our room each day.

Housekeeping was friendly and arrived early each day after we made our preference known the first two mornings.

The building layouts seems unplanned and there is no direct way to the beach from the J building. It was nice to have so many pools to choose from. The sports bar needs a big overhaul and the installation of TV's made in the past 10 years would be nice.

Overall, the service was acceptable. I would say this is a three star resort.

  • Liked — Beachfront location
  • Disliked — Smelly room that was a bit shabby, poor layout of multi bedroom suite
  • Tips/Secrets — This is not the Don Cesar!
  • Stayed September 2006, traveled with family
    • Location
    • Check in / front desk
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
    • Business service (e.g., internet access)
Helpful?
6 Thank going_with_toddlers
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
davis, ca
2 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 7 helpful votes
Reviewed October 6, 2006

I stayed at The TradeWinds in August with my husband and 13 yr. old son. We were very disappointed to say the least -- on many different levels. When we first arrived we were put in a a balcony ocean front parlor room, as requested. The sliding door to the balcony was completely covered with some type of dirty film; you could barely see the gulf through it. There was also noisy construction taking place outside the building. We were moved to another room but it was a smaller room with a smaller balcony. This room also turned out to be problematic in that the air conditioner was not working properly and kept breaking down. The second room also had full-sized beds instead of queens (which we didn't notice until bedtime). The mattresses were positively painful. You could feel the coils and they were already sagging -- even though these beds were supposed to be less than a year old. We were very close to moving down the street to another hotel (fancier AND cheaper, as it turned out), but the staff moved us to a larger suite room. I will say the staff were all very nice and professional and the problems did not seem to be their fault at all.
The property itself just seemed to be outdated and a bit moldy We were told that there had been a lot of recent renovation. Hard to believe. The rooms did have an updated color sceme and were pretty, but this did not transfer to outside of the rooms themselves.
Another problem was not related to the hotel but, rather, to the location and time of year. DO NOT GO TO THE CLEARWATER AREA IN AUGUST! It was very much like a ghost town and rather depressing. The biggest problem, however, is that from April 'til October they have Stingrays mating near the shore. We were told we would be fine if we did "the stingray shuffle." Thanks but no thanks. So we ended up spending all of our time in a small, crowded hotel pool.
Oh--and I might add that they had these old, worn-down, thread-bare, small towels at the pool. Talk about "declasse!"
AND -- in August CLEARWATER IS NOT "CLEAR" WATER. We chose this area specifically because the water was supposed to be so beautiful. Well, it was murky and unimpressive. So, I truly would not recommend this hotel -- and be careful of the time of year as well.

  • Liked — Color schemes in rooms
  • Disliked — beds, rundown property
  • Tips/Secrets — Don't go
  • Stayed August 2006, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Check in / front desk
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
5 Thank pamdelaney
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Winter Springs, Florida, Usa
Level Contributor
6 reviews
4 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
Reviewed October 5, 2006

The Tradewinds Grand Isle is a very pretty hotel with a gorgeous beach. We stayed there for two nights in October when there were very few customers. We live in Central Florida but wanted a change of scenery during a school break. It was nice to have the hotel to ourselves. The atmosphere was very peaceful.

We had two teenagers with us. They particularly liked the beach slide, hammocks, pools, swans (real) and paddleboats.

Food prices in the hotel restaurants were reasonable for a resort. I bought pastries and cereal in the hotel deli every morning. We enjoyed a particularly nice dinner at the Bermuda's restaurant.

Our beachfront balcony suite was in the Jacaranda building on the sixth floor. The view from the beachfront room was outstanding. The balcony itself is very narrow, but there is room for a chair or two. The teens slept on a sofa bed that was not very comfortable. Other than that, the room (with a kitchen) was nicely designed, very clean, and met our needs. The refrigerator was large and spotless. It was great to have two TVs in the suite too.

One of the outdoor pools is located underneath a building. This is an excellent place to hang out without getting a sunburn. The weather was perfect during our stay. The beach was mildly smelly due to the aftermath of a red tide. Still it was possible to enjoy a nice stroll along the beach.

Employees were friendly and helpful. Although we didn't have young kids with us, the pirate-themed activities looked very appealing.

  • Liked — The tasteful, tranquil tropical design of the entire resort.
  • Disliked — Sofabed mattress in our suite was flimsy.
  • Tips/Secrets — Use the Entertainment book to save money on last-minute reservations. And shop for beach gear at the huge store across the street.
  • Stayed October 2006, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Check in / front desk
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank rontel
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near St. Pete Beach
1.5 mi away
The Don CeSar
The Don CeSar
#8 of 32 in St. Pete Beach
3,389 reviews
0.6 mi away
Dolphin Beach Resort
Dolphin Beach Resort
#21 of 32 in St. Pete Beach
938 reviews
0.2 mi away
Sirata Beach Resort
Sirata Beach Resort
#16 of 32 in St. Pete Beach
3,804 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
17.1 mi away
Coconut Cove All Suite Hotel
Coconut Cove All Suite Hotel
#23 of 95 in Clearwater
454 reviews
0.2 mi away
Guy Harvey Outpost, a TradeWinds Beach Resort
0.3 mi away
Grand Plaza Beachfront Resort Hotel & Conference Center
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to TradeWinds Island Grand Resort? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about TradeWinds Island Grand Resort

Property: TradeWinds Island Grand Resort
Address: 5500 Gulf Blvd., St. Pete Beach, FL 33706
Phone Number:
Location: United States > Florida > St. Pete Beach
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Beach Business Center with Internet Access Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Children Activities (Kid / Family Friendly) Kitchenette Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Restaurant Room Service Shuttle Bus service Spa Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#3 Top resorts Hotel in St. Pete Beach
#3 Business Hotel in St. Pete Beach
#4 Spa Hotel in St. Pete Beach
#9 On the Beach Hotel in St. Pete Beach
#10 Romantic Hotel in St. Pete Beach
#13 Family Hotel in St. Pete Beach
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$$
Hotel Class:4 star — TradeWinds Island Grand Resort 4*
Number of rooms: 585
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
TradeWinds Island Grand spans 20 lush, tropical acres and boasts a heritage of award-winning service and certification as a Florida Green Lodge. Overlooking the tranquil waters of the Gulf of Mexico, Island Grand is located on the white sand beaches of St. Pete Beach, consistently ranked one of America's Top Beaches by TripAdvisor. Discover 201 things to do with a variety of recreation activities including JetLev flight center, The Floating Water Park, children's programs, paddleboats, tennis, stand-up paddleboards, a three story tall inflatable waterslide and more. Island Grand offers multiple dining and entertainment venues along with sand-in-your-toes beach bars. Pamper yourself with a beachfront massage at Body Works Salon & Spa. Relax on a beach cabana or lounge next to one of 5 heated pools and 2 whirlpools. Our on-site resort transportation and car rental agency makes getting to Island Grand easy and stress free. It's not just a vacation. At TradeWinds, it's a totally immersive experience. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Orbitz, Booking.com, Hotwire, Hotels.com, TripOnline SA, Expedia, Travelocity, HotelsClick, Evoline ltd, getaroom.com, Jetsetter and HotelQuickly so you can book your TradeWinds Island Grand Resort reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Tradewinds Island Grand Beach Hotel Saint Pete Beach
Tradewinds Island Saint Pete Beach
TradeWinds Island Grand Resort St. Pete Beach, Florida

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing