We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“More than an Excellent Property”

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 11 more sites!
TradeWinds Island Grand Resort
Ranked #10 of 32 Hotels in St. Pete Beach
Certificate of Excellence
Florida
1 review
“More than an Excellent Property”
Reviewed December 17, 2009

My wife and I have been to the Tradewinds at least 4 to 6 times, everytime it gets better. The entire staff at the Tradewinds we came in contact with was courteous and very accomodating to our needs. When we checked in we had a bell boy who remembered on during our entire stay. Last year we went to buffett and the waitress we had was not the greatest. We told this to one of the waiters at the Flying Firsh (Bill) and he made sure we had an excellent waitress this year. Because of last years problem One of the Dining Room Managers gave us a glass of wine on the house. This hotel is great not only for families but for married couples and singles as well.

  • Stayed November 2009, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank aic1971
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

5,420 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    2,874
    1,308
    637
    375
    226
See reviews for
2,344
1,035
77
823
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (1,428)
Date | Rating
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Norwegian first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Any
English first
Florida
1 review
Reviewed December 17, 2009

I went to a conference and had a wonderful experience. The staff was able to put on a great "show" for 700 hundred people with wonderful breakfasts and lunches.
The room was very clean with a great view of the beach in the back and a "Swan Lake" in the front. I was able to watch the Gators vs. Alabama game from a cozy grill with great, huge, Piña Colada. The only bad thing was the Gators' score,

wWll definitley recommend this hotel to anyone who wants to visit St. Pete.

  • Stayed December 2009, traveled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank celesteflorida
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Washington, D.C.
Level 4 Contributor
24 reviews
18 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 54 helpful votes
Reviewed December 17, 2009

I booked on Priceline for a decent rate, but was disappointed with the quality of the supposedly 4-star resort and with the ridiculously high $25 a day resort fee (which you're stuck with as an additional charge if you book on Priceline). We enjoyed our stay, but were surprised and disappointed since we were expecting a 4-star resort. This should not be considered a 4-star resort. The public spaces, gardens and pool areas were nice, but the rooms were 3-star level at best. The bedding, linens, soaps and decor were not nice and the facilities seem old and out of style. The public spaces in our building were outdated and had sponge paint (not 4-star quality). I don't think a 4-star resort should have a Pizza Hut Express 20 yards from your room either. For comparison, we booked a 4-start night on Priceline on the same trip and got the Tampa Intercontinental -- a much nicer hotel that legitimately deserves a 4-star rating.

The Tradewinds complex (this is a large place with lots of rooms) is on a nice wide stretch of beach and has loungers on the beach and at the pool (I guess that's where my $25 a day went). The pools and gardens are nice and I had a good but overpriced fish sandwich and $3 bottle of water from one of the bars. Our room had a nice view of the ocean and a patio (ground level), which we enjoyed. There are family activities here if that's what you're looking for, but we were not. The pool was warm and enjoyable and the fitness center was perfectly fine.

The Tradewinds requires a $25 resort fee on top of the room rate, which was too high given the facilities and activities available. I'd consider staying again, but just realize the rooms and public spaces are not what I would consider to be 4 stars.

  • Stayed December 2009, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank BGDC
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
York, PA
Level 4 Contributor
34 reviews
31 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 21 helpful votes
Reviewed December 16, 2009

Just got back from a stay in St Pete Beach at the Tradewinds. I got a 3 night stay off priceline as a blind buy for this hotel. For the super low price I paid I was very pleased with this hotel, but I wouldn't have paid the published rate for it. It's listed as a 4 star and I think it's more in line with a 3 star, but that's just my opinion. The location on the beach is great. The service both at check in and check out were very nice, all the staff was happy and helpful. Our room wasn't wonderful, but it was OK. I couldn't get past the god awful color scheme of the place, it was bright and yellow, and blue and orange... My only true complaint was the shower. Very low pressure and you could feel the old tub under a new insert they put in when renovating it was squishy. Also the shower head was very low on the wall, I'm 5'7" and it was right at my head. I noticed they had signs about being a green resort, so I'm going to assume the water pressure was their way of limiting water use, and I get that, but when I have to spend twice the amount of time in the shower to get the shampoo out of my hair, it's not really conserving anything. Our room had a table with 4 chairs, a mini fridge, micro wave, plates, utensils and a wet bar which was a very nice surprise. The property it's self is very nice, it was clean with many bars, pools and restaurants. The food we had was OK, nothing wonderful, but it was good. They have a load of kids activities, big blow up slide, trampoline, a club area for them, Saturday night they showed a Christmas movie out by one of the pools which I thought was a very nice touch, not sure it that was a weekly occurrence or a special holiday treat. They do charge a 25$ a day resort fee per room, however that covered the WiFi in our room and around the resort, parking, and the cabanas by the beach, I had no issue with that since I've stayed in many hotels where I've had to pay 10$ - 15$ a day for each of those things. The Tradewinds only had one sit down restaurant that served food early, they had a breakfast buffet set up but I was just looking for two eggs, bagel and coffee so we opted to go off site for breakfast. There is a shopping plaza with some shops and a few restaurants across the street, we went to a nice place called Skidders.

  • Stayed December 2009, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank forkrisf
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Atlanta
Level 3 Contributor
11 reviews
6 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 11 helpful votes
Reviewed December 15, 2009

Paid $55 on priceline. They added fees to pay for their parking lot paving, $28, place was empty and still gave worst rooms. Give to a charity of your choice, boycott greedy persons.

  • Stayed December 2009, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank dd1965
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Tampa
Level 3 Contributor
13 reviews
5 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 9 helpful votes
Reviewed December 13, 2009

Had a super stay after Thanskgiving. Property is impressive, beach is great, restaurants provided excellent service. Resort staff concerned, informative and professional all the way. Only down side was the weather, cold, and probably the only element that Tradewinds could not control. (Only criticism - teach beachside bartenders how to make a Pina Colada ! ) We will be back for sure.

  • Stayed November 2009, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank GaryTampa
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Vermont
Level 4 Contributor
25 reviews
6 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 14 helpful votes
Reviewed December 9, 2009

We've been to Florida before but not to St. Pete Beach. We read reviews on the Tradewinds, both good and bad, but found the Island Grand to accommodate our needs nicely. With five heated pools, paddleboats, a gift shop (with typically overpriced trinkets) and a handful of on-site restaurants, the resort made it easy for us to relax and our kids to have a great time. The beach is wide and beautiful. There is a giant waterslide on the beach which looked like fun but there's a charge to use it, per slide, which is ridiculous. The resort does offer beach toys for kids though as well as nice Cabanas at no cost. We just wanted a quick get-away so we went for the lowest cost room; it faced the parking lot and was fine although a bit tight for a family of four. At the risk of sounding cheap, we were disappointed that there was no continental breakfast or at the very least complimentary coffee; this seems to be standard at most hotels. It poured rain one day and the concierge wasn't very helpful; gave us a list of things to do that included getting our photos developed at a local pharmacy but didn't even include the resort's own kid's club. Overall though the resort was very clean and well maintained and allowed us to relax which is just what we needed. The only major downside to us was the surrounding area did not seem safe, especially at night, as we waited for the local trolley. Supermarket and convenience stores are not really within walking distance either. If you want to go to stores or attractions, it's a drive.

  • Stayed November 2009, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank ShelbyJune
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near St. Pete Beach
1.5 mi away
The Don CeSar
The Don CeSar
#7 of 32 in St. Pete Beach
3,683 reviews
18.2 mi away
Sandpearl Resort
Sandpearl Resort
#7 of 98 in Clearwater
2,392 reviews
0.3 mi away
Postcard Inn on the Beach
Postcard Inn on the Beach
#19 of 32 in St. Pete Beach
535 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.2 mi away
Sirata Beach Resort
Sirata Beach Resort
#13 of 32 in St. Pete Beach
4,202 reviews
0.2 mi away
Guy Harvey Outpost, a TradeWinds Beach Resort
0.3 mi away
Grand Plaza Beachfront Resort Hotel & Conference Center
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to TradeWinds Island Grand Resort? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about TradeWinds Island Grand Resort

Property: TradeWinds Island Grand Resort
Address: 5500 Gulf Blvd., St. Pete Beach, FL 33706-2323
Phone Number:
Location: United States > Florida > St. Pete Beach
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Beach Business Center with Internet Access Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Children Activities (Kid / Family Friendly) Kitchenette Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Restaurant Room Service Shuttle Bus service Spa Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#3 Business Hotel in St. Pete Beach
#4 Spa Hotel in St. Pete Beach
#4 Top resorts Hotel in St. Pete Beach
#8 On the Beach Hotel in St. Pete Beach
#10 Romantic Hotel in St. Pete Beach
#13 Family Hotel in St. Pete Beach
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$$
Hotel Class:4 star — TradeWinds Island Grand Resort 4*
Number of rooms: 585
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
TradeWinds Island Grand spans 20 lush, tropical acres and boasts a heritage of award-winning service and certification as a Florida Green Lodge. Overlooking the tranquil waters of the Gulf of Mexico, Island Grand is located on the white sand beaches of St. Pete Beach, consistently ranked one of America's Top Beaches by TripAdvisor. Discover 201 things to do with a variety of recreation activities including JetLev flight center, The Floating Water Park, children's programs, paddleboats, tennis, stand-up paddleboards, a three story tall inflatable waterslide and more. Island Grand offers multiple dining and entertainment venues along with sand-in-your-toes beach bars. Pamper yourself with a beachfront massage at Body Works Salon & Spa. Relax on a beach cabana or lounge next to one of 5 heated pools and 2 whirlpools. Our on-site resort transportation and car rental agency makes getting to Island Grand easy and stress free. It's not just a vacation. At TradeWinds, it's a totally immersive experience. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Orbitz, Hotels.com, Booking.com, Expedia, Priceline, TravelUp, Cancelon, TripOnline SA, Hotwire, Travelocity, HotelQuickly, Evoline ltd and getaroom.com so you can book your TradeWinds Island Grand Resort reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Tradewinds Island Grand Beach Hotel Saint Pete Beach
Tradewinds Island Saint Pete Beach
TradeWinds Island Grand Resort St. Pete Beach, Florida

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing