We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“Relaxing Getaway with the Kids”

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 9 more sites!
TradeWinds Island Grand Resort
Ranked #11 of 32 Hotels in St. Pete Beach
Certificate of Excellence
A TripAdvisor Member
“Relaxing Getaway with the Kids”
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed January 2, 2005

I just spent a enjoyable, relaxing 5 days at the Tradewind Grand Resort. I have to say I was pretty anxious prior to arriving based on scathing reviews I'd read on tridpadvisor, after I'd booked the vacation, especially regarding cleanliness and size of the rooms. However, I have to report that I was pleasantly suprised to find a very clean tropical view room in the Jacaranda Building with a balcony that also had views of the beach. I have to admit the room was on the small side, but confortable enough and like I said very clean. Also, the microwave, half fridge and toaster are an added bonus for late night and early morning snacks. The supermarket Publix is right up the street if you want to fill the fridge. All of the staff are very friendly and helpful. The surroundings, including the canal around the resort with the swans, ducks and beautiful fish is very serene. The Flying Bridge Restaurant which is adjacent the the pools and very close the beach is in perfect location for hungry kids who've spent most of the morning playing at the beach and pool has great frozen drinks and lunch selections that are affordable. The food comes out quick, hot and tasty. There are other restaurants on site including Pizza Hut and an ice cream station. Overall, I'd have to say I had wonderful time at the Tradewind Grand resort and would come again.

  • Stayed January 2005
    • Value
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
6 Thank A TripAdvisor Member
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

5,191 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    2,753
    1,248
    611
    358
    221
See reviews for
2,202
1,001
74
797
Rating summary
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Sleep Quality
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Rooms
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Service
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Value
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Cleanliness
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (1,364)
Date | Rating
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Norwegian first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Any
English first
A TripAdvisor Member
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed December 29, 2004

Conference facility was under renovations, but very accomodating under the circumstances of the season Florida had experienced. Resort setting was great for family attending. Accomodations, leisure activities, beach, pools, landscaping, paddle boats, on site restaurants including Pizza Hut for the kids or a fast meal all combined for an excellant experience. Recommend to one and all.

Helpful?
Thank A TripAdvisor Member
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Norfolk, VA
2 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 3 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed December 28, 2004

I was sent to the Tradewinds on business, and I absolutely loved it. The accommodations were great, the food was fantastic, and the people were friendly. I would recommend the resort to anyone!

Helpful?
1 Thank WDWfan13
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
A TripAdvisor Member
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed December 28, 2004

Need a quiet get away? Tired of the endless work week at home and/or at work? After too many long hours of getting up and going to work and worrying about paying the bills and "getting ahead," I decided to take my family for a little "quality time" to the beach. So close in distance, yet so far from relevance, I decided to think out of my normal "box" and take advantage of the beautiful state in which I live. I booked a 2 night 3 day stay at the Tradewinds Island Grand Beach Resort.
With activities for my 13 and 17 year old to enjoy, my husband and I had a wonderful time. Just knowing that the kids were with us and having a good time we were able to relax, ourselves. The restaurants were fabulous as was the service. They, too, helped to support the relaxing atmosphere. We can't wait to go back!

Helpful?
1 Thank A TripAdvisor Member
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
A TripAdvisor Member
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed December 21, 2004

All around great family resort. Excellent rooms overlooking senic St. Pete Beach. Very good selection of family orientated restaurants with competative pricing and good food. Very courteous and professional staff. Highly recommended!

Helpful?
1 Thank A TripAdvisor Member
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
West Greenwich, RI
Level Contributor
16 reviews
9 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 24 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed November 30, 2004

My friend & I booked our trip on Hotwire, so we didn't know what we were going to get until after purchase. Frankly, after I checked the reviews on Tripadvisor I was really concerned... they were very critical, especially of the cleanliness and there were several "family friendly" comments (we're 2 single 30-somethings with no kids). Turns out the place was great. Our room was spotless and very cute. There were many families there but the kids were under control and generally stuck to the "kiddie" areas. We weren't bothered at all. It's pretty self contained (beach, pool, bars, etc.) and although the nightlife in town is a little lacking, we found a couple of fun spots. All in all it was a great long weekend away from the cold!

Helpful?
3 Thank Nikki074
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
A TripAdvisor Member
3 of 5 bubbles Reviewed November 12, 2004

After endless discussion on where to spend our 10 yr wedding anniversary with our 2 kids (5yrs and 13 mos), we decided on TradeWinds (first week of Aug 04). We managed to get a deal (through Family Circle Magazine....50% off a suite) on a 1 bedroom suite in the Jacaranda Building, overlooking the pool area but high enough to have a view of the ocean. Pool noise did not bother us at all. Our suite had a balcony, which was nice but small. The suite was decent size...we especially appreciated having a kitchenette area (full size fridge, stove, toaster). There was a sofa bed in the living room which desperately needed to be replaced...no way anyone could be comfortable sleeping there. The biggest problem was housekeeping. The bathtub was cleaned only once in the 7 days we were there....and as anyone knows who has small kids, you need a clean bathtub for bathtime!! I called everyday to have the tub scrubbed, but to no avail. Other than the bathroom issue, all other houseskeeping issues were just ok.

The highlight of our trip was our twice daily visits to Fort DeSoto beach, ranked the #2 beach in the US (#1 is in Hawaii). Ft. DeSoto is breath taking...extremely clean, gorgeous water, endless beaches. The beachfront property at Tradewinds is not worth going to when you have Ft. DeSoto beach a few miles away (you'll need a car). Speaking of renting a car....well worth the money so that you can get groceries from the Publix down the street, go to Ft. DeSoto and get dinner from the numerous restaurants up and down the street around the Resort.

Overall impression...happy we only spent $149 night for the 1 bedroom suite. Would never dream of spending full price..it would not be worth it. This isn't a "resort"....just a reasonable place to stay if you're willing to put up with poor quality housekeeping and ok restaurants.

Wanda in reservations was extremely helpful and very , very nice!

  • Stayed July 2004, traveled on business
    • Value
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
7 Thank A TripAdvisor Member
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near St. Pete Beach
1.5 mi away
The Don CeSar
The Don CeSar
#7 of 32 in St. Pete Beach
4.0 of 5 bubbles 3,410 reviews
0.6 mi away
Dolphin Beach Resort
Dolphin Beach Resort
#21 of 32 in St. Pete Beach
3.5 of 5 bubbles 940 reviews
0.2 mi away
Sirata Beach Resort
Sirata Beach Resort
#16 of 32 in St. Pete Beach
4.0 of 5 bubbles 3,814 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
17.1 mi away
Coconut Cove All Suite Hotel
Coconut Cove All Suite Hotel
#23 of 96 in Clearwater
4.5 of 5 bubbles 454 reviews
0.2 mi away
Guy Harvey Outpost, a TradeWinds Beach Resort
0.3 mi away
Grand Plaza Beachfront Resort Hotel & Conference Center
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to TradeWinds Island Grand Resort? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about TradeWinds Island Grand Resort

Property: TradeWinds Island Grand Resort
Address: 5500 Gulf Blvd., St. Pete Beach, FL 33706
Phone Number:
Location: United States > Florida > St. Pete Beach
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Beach Business Center with Internet Access Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Children Activities (Kid / Family Friendly) Kitchenette Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Restaurant Room Service Shuttle Bus service Spa Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#3 Business Hotel in St. Pete Beach
#3 Top resorts Hotel in St. Pete Beach
#4 Spa Hotel in St. Pete Beach
#9 On the Beach Hotel in St. Pete Beach
#10 Romantic Hotel in St. Pete Beach
#13 Family Hotel in St. Pete Beach
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$$
Hotel Class:4 star — TradeWinds Island Grand Resort 4*
Number of rooms: 585
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
TradeWinds Island Grand spans 20 lush, tropical acres and boasts a heritage of award-winning service and certification as a Florida Green Lodge. Overlooking the tranquil waters of the Gulf of Mexico, Island Grand is located on the white sand beaches of St. Pete Beach, consistently ranked one of America's Top Beaches by TripAdvisor. Discover 201 things to do with a variety of recreation activities including JetLev flight center, The Floating Water Park, children's programs, paddleboats, tennis, stand-up paddleboards, a three story tall inflatable waterslide and more. Island Grand offers multiple dining and entertainment venues along with sand-in-your-toes beach bars. Pamper yourself with a beachfront massage at Body Works Salon & Spa. Relax on a beach cabana or lounge next to one of 5 heated pools and 2 whirlpools. Our on-site resort transportation and car rental agency makes getting to Island Grand easy and stress free. It's not just a vacation. At TradeWinds, it's a totally immersive experience. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Expedia, Booking.com, Hotwire, Travelocity, Orbitz, Hotels.com, getaroom.com, Evoline ltd, TripOnline SA, HotelsClick and HotelQuickly so you can book your TradeWinds Island Grand Resort reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Tradewinds Island Grand Beach Hotel Saint Pete Beach
Tradewinds Island Saint Pete Beach
TradeWinds Island Grand Resort St. Pete Beach, Florida

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing