We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Mostly a nice stay, single travelers be cautious!!!”

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 9 more sites!
TradeWinds Island Grand Resort
Ranked #10 of 32 Hotels in St. Pete Beach
Certificate of Excellence
Level Contributor
715 reviews
190 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 483 helpful votes
“Mostly a nice stay, single travelers be cautious!!!”
Reviewed November 10, 2004

After a room change (see below), this was a very nice stay in the Breckenridge building (nearest the adult pool, where I never saw anyone under the age of 17, and he was mature and quiet.) Spotless housekeeping, roomy accomodations. Also included was a wet bar, refrig, microwave, table/charis, as well as seating area. While this building does not have open-air patios, it has a nice tropical feel, and it is more out of the way of the main building. The pools are smallish, but you can have a decent paddle around, i.e. these are not the tropical oceans as at some newer resorts. However, the long, wide, sandy beach is just outside your door, as are beach chairs with cabana covers. There is a paddle coat canal and other activities for the kiddies, including a pirate activity.

Mark, the bellman, should be put in charge of this place.

Since I was here for a conference, and had been here before for a conference, I mostly ate on-site durig the day. The Flying Bridge open-air bar puts out a nice grouper sandwich, as well as decent cocktails and breezy views. Dinner in the nicer restaurant was pretty good. Starbuck's cafe in the main lobby. The breakfast in Bermudas (in the Breckinridge building) was only okay. The coffee should be stronger; the off-the-menu waffle was dry, but nicely loaded with fruit; the buffet is okay for the price, but the fruit could be nicer. Bagels and muffins available in the deli. Overpriced Pizza Hut on site.

For off-site dinner, HIGHLY recommended are Maritana at the Don Cesar (fine, formal dining) and Snapper's (excellent food at moderate prices, across the street and up a block or two.)

The only thing that detracted from the stay was (1) the first room I was given, and (2) being seated next to wait station in their half-empty fine dining restaurant. Room #7255 (and all ending in 55) seem to be the only rooms that are best described as caves with almost no windows, and smaller than average. Like I say, I've been here before for conferences. Since I arrived a day before the conference began, when the hotel seemed half-empty and would fill with myown conference, I attribute this to my being a single person they could "stick" with the room. I cannot say that it was becuase I was female. A colleague traveling at the same time was similarly given a cave on another floor. When I complained, they readily changed me to a nicer room (on a floor which filled with all my other conference attendees.) MOST hotels I know would leave the few worst rooms 'til last. I also asked for a different table in that half-empty restaurant, and they accomodated, but jsut be aware: single travelers are NOT always given the best treatment.

Yes, the Don Cesar is a nicer stay, but this place is fine, especially if you get a good rate and you need to be here for a conference.

Helpful?
3 Thank Mme_X
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

5,301 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    2,810
    1,280
    621
    366
    224
See reviews for
2,257
1,021
75
818
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (1,396)
Date | Rating
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Norwegian first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Any
English first
Westfield, New Jersey
Level Contributor
37 reviews
14 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 40 helpful votes
Reviewed November 9, 2004

great hotel and facilities with lots of activities including many
options for kids. Very friendly helpful staff, w/minor exception of
housekeeping. Food was average, rooms were nice with awesome views of the
beach.

  • Stayed November 2004
    • Value
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank danielh5
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
London, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
4 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 10 helpful votes
Reviewed September 27, 2004

We stayed at the Tradewinds Island Grand Resort in August 2004 and thoroughly enjoyed it. The complex is very picturesque with waterways leading around the different buildings, you can use paddleboats once a day on your explorer pass (this came free with our package from Virgin holidays). There are four swimming pools and plenty going on for the kids. One night a week there is an Elvis impersonator who does the 'Aloha from Hawaii' set, he was excellent. Also Pirate night and singers in one of the bars five nights a week. There was a huge waterslide on the beach, which although great fun we found expensive at $3 a go or $30 a day. All in all we would definitely stay there again.

  • Stayed August 2004
    • Value
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
3 Thank PJW507
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Michigan
Level Contributor
8 reviews
5 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 16 helpful votes
Reviewed September 1, 2004

We stayed at the Tradewinds Island Grand with two other couples in May 2004. We had a two-bedroom suite with a full kitchen and living room area in the Jacaranda Building. Our room was very clean and newly remodeled with bright decor. The bathrooms were very nice with marble counters and hardwood/pergo floors. The staff was very nice and the resort was very clean. There was plenty to see and do here...especially when we had three babies that we took for walks each morning...there was plenty of pathways throughout the resort. Their regular prices seemed high, but we got a great deal somehow! Besides the small balcony on one side of our room, we also had access to a spacious patio area right outside our door, with table, umbrella and lounge chairs. This was great since you could get a lot of sun on once side and shade on the other. I would definitly stay here again if we had the same room.

Helpful?
2 Thank Mama-jello
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
A TripAdvisor Member
Reviewed August 29, 2004

If it weren't for a great Bellman, we would have had a disastrous vacation. We reserved a one-bedroom suite (we have a son) and were first sent to a regular room. To correct the mistake, they sent us to a tiny suite overlooking the huge air conditioning units on the roof. The room had no bathtub (it was a handicap room), no counter in the bathroom, and a 20" TV, which was important because we wanted to watch the Olympics at night. We called the manager (Jennifer), and she gave us the option to move to a room directly over the tiny pool that contained scores of screaming kids. In walks the Bellman with our bags from the first room. He listened to us, made a phone call, and got us into a very nice suite in a good location. I now feel bad about only tipping him $30, because he truly saved our week. Other than that, the resort is old, tired, and besides the great beach, needs some major rennovating.

Helpful?
2 Thank A TripAdvisor Member
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
A TripAdvisor Member
Reviewed August 23, 2004

DO NOT STAY AT TRADEWINDS... WARNING!!!
my wedding experience was ruined at this hotel. We made our reservations for 3 nights at the hotel for a King bed N/S and they moved our room 3 times and never got it right! They tried to over charge us... my wedding night my husband and I were in two double beds! The resort is dirty and falling apart. The staff is under staffed. You can smell rotting food near the restaurants. The beach is dirty and there are kids EVERYWHERE good luck sleeping because there is no curfew and they are in the pool splashing till 1am (not kidding) The parking is horrible and the rooms are dumpy and WAY over priced.

  • Stayed July 2004
    • Value
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
4 Thank A TripAdvisor Member
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Mississauga, Ontario
2 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 13 helpful votes
Reviewed August 22, 2004

We stayed at the Tradewinds Aug 14-21 2004 and had a fabulous time. This is a very family oriented resort with lots of kids around and lots of activities to choose from if you want to keep busy. We spent the previous week at Disney so, all we wanted to do was relax on the beach and by the pool. Our 5 year old daughter enjoyed quite a few activities at the kids club and was well looked after. Our room was clean, the property is well looked after, and the staff was very gracious, prompt and friendly. Many thanks to Jeff, Ron, and the two Lesleys at the KONK kids club. Hats off to all the staff working hard on the beach. It was super hot and they still provided service with a smile!

Helpful?
3 Thank Suzanne N
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near St. Pete Beach
1.5 mi away
The Don CeSar
The Don CeSar
#8 of 32 in St. Pete Beach
3,523 reviews
18.2 mi away
Sandpearl Resort
Sandpearl Resort
#7 of 98 in Clearwater
2,346 reviews
0.2 mi away
Sirata Beach Resort
Sirata Beach Resort
#14 of 32 in St. Pete Beach
4,022 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.2 mi away
Guy Harvey Outpost, a TradeWinds Beach Resort
0.3 mi away
Grand Plaza Beachfront Resort Hotel & Conference Center
17.1 mi away
Coconut Cove All Suite Hotel
Coconut Cove All Suite Hotel
#25 of 98 in Clearwater
463 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to TradeWinds Island Grand Resort? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about TradeWinds Island Grand Resort

Property: TradeWinds Island Grand Resort
Address: 5500 Gulf Blvd., St. Pete Beach, FL 33706-2323
Phone Number:
Location: United States > Florida > St. Pete Beach
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Beach Business Center with Internet Access Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Children Activities (Kid / Family Friendly) Kitchenette Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Restaurant Room Service Shuttle Bus service Spa Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#3 Business Hotel in St. Pete Beach
#4 Top resorts Hotel in St. Pete Beach
#4 Spa Hotel in St. Pete Beach
#8 On the Beach Hotel in St. Pete Beach
#10 Romantic Hotel in St. Pete Beach
#13 Family Hotel in St. Pete Beach
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$$
Hotel Class:4 star — TradeWinds Island Grand Resort 4*
Number of rooms: 585
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
TradeWinds Island Grand spans 20 lush, tropical acres and boasts a heritage of award-winning service and certification as a Florida Green Lodge. Overlooking the tranquil waters of the Gulf of Mexico, Island Grand is located on the white sand beaches of St. Pete Beach, consistently ranked one of America's Top Beaches by TripAdvisor. Discover 201 things to do with a variety of recreation activities including JetLev flight center, The Floating Water Park, children's programs, paddleboats, tennis, stand-up paddleboards, a three story tall inflatable waterslide and more. Island Grand offers multiple dining and entertainment venues along with sand-in-your-toes beach bars. Pamper yourself with a beachfront massage at Body Works Salon & Spa. Relax on a beach cabana or lounge next to one of 5 heated pools and 2 whirlpools. Our on-site resort transportation and car rental agency makes getting to Island Grand easy and stress free. It's not just a vacation. At TradeWinds, it's a totally immersive experience. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Expedia, Booking.com, Orbitz, Travelocity, Hotels.com, Hotwire, TripOnline SA, Cancelon, Evoline ltd, getaroom.com and HotelQuickly so you can book your TradeWinds Island Grand Resort reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Tradewinds Island Grand Beach Hotel Saint Pete Beach
Tradewinds Island Saint Pete Beach
TradeWinds Island Grand Resort St. Pete Beach, Florida

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing