We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Amazing, Better than expected, Would go back for sure”

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 9 more sites!
TradeWinds Island Grand Resort
Ranked #10 of 32 Hotels in St. Pete Beach
Certificate of Excellence
Reviewed April 14, 2009

From the time we got there to the time we left, our stay was first class all the way.

Loved the resturants in the hotel and wife had an amazing time at the spa.

Will be back next year

Jim Ensom

  • Stayed: March 2009, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank jcensom98
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a ReviewReviews (5,611)
Traveler rating
Traveler type
Time of year
Language
  • More languages

4,869 - 4,875 of 5,611 reviews

Reviewed April 14, 2009

Dont you dare show up with a debit card, you will be treated like a second class citizen. No room charges, you will be billed for th entire stay at check in. Bathrooms are dated, the towel rack fell to the floor at first touch. The movie system on the TV was down for two days, and be ready to be ripped off at every turn. $3.75 for a bottle of water, we walked across the street and bought a case for $6.00, they only recommend certian restuarants, when the steak house across the street was great.

  • Stayed: April 2009, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank bassanif
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed April 12, 2009

After a winter in Pa. and a two day drive, it was like heaven when we got to Trade Winds. We arrived just before sundown and were able to make it to the beach for the show. We never left the resort for the time we were there. We ate all our meals at the resort and saw no .reason to leave

  • Stayed: April 2009, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank jimwebs
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed April 11, 2009

This resort is not worth the money. There are plenty of other hotels on the beach, that you can get your money's worth! There is a $50 resort fee, yet you have to pay $6 for the kids to use the trampoline and $4 for them to use the blow up slide on the beach. There are 4 pools on site, but one is an adults only pool and one is under a shaded area, so it was cold, no one wanted to go in, even though it's a heated pool! One pool is kids only, but there are so many kids, that there are not enough lounge chairs for the adults to sit and watch their kids. The other pool is for everyone and again, it's crowded and not enough lounge chairs. There should not even be an adults only pool...They should stay in a hotel that is adults only and there are plenty for that kind of thing.

The rooms were just ok...You can get the same at Holiday Inn or Hampton Inn...We had a standard parlor room, which included 2 queen beds, a table and 4 chairs, and microwave/fridge, sink.

The plus is that they have a few restaurants on site, which helped us when we got in late one night and the neighborhood restaurants were closed. They also have an express Pizza Hut and an ice cream parlor, which the kids loved!

I just didn't think it was worth the $210 a night!

  • Stayed: April 2009, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank JAmerican2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
suzie111, General Manager's Office at TradeWinds Island Grand Resort, responded to this reviewResponded June 3, 2009

The daily resort fee is $25, not $50 as stated. It includes self parking, wireless internet, fitness center, a 2-person beach cabana, tennis court, paddleboats, local phone calls, faxes and business center computer usage. Many guests perfer this fee rather than paying nominal fees for all the services listed.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed April 10, 2009

This was our first visit to the Tradewinds Island Grand Beach Resort. We were invited by our friends who have vacationed there many years. We joined them and several other families. All families had children ranging from age 8 to age 15. We found Tradewinds to be a kid friendly resort yet adults could be adults. The children were in a safe environment with plenty of age appropriate activities to keep them entertained throughtout the day. The staff was friendly and willing to assist with any needs. We look forward to our next visit and hope to make Tradewinds an annual vacation spot!

  • Stayed: March 2009, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank CharlieHope
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed April 9, 2009

We were very pleased with the time we spent at TradeWinds - room was clean and nice, staff and service were very good. Amenities of all kinds very nice - we used the beach chairs & towels, exercise room, pool, tennis courts and one of the restaurants. We were particularly impressed with the helpful and friendly staff - everyone seemed to want to please the guests.

  • Stayed: February 2009, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank FOGUY
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed April 9, 2009

Customer Service in our fast paced world seems to have gone by the wayside. Not at Tradewinds Island Grand! Their staff went above and beyond to make our stay wonderful.
It was a pleasure to see a resort go back to the basics.
We had an absolutely wonderful week. No need to venture from the resort...everything you need and want is right there!! We will definitely be back next year!!!

  • Stayed: March 2009, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank vacationlover9
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these St. Pete Beach hotels
1.5 mi away
The Don CeSar
The Don CeSar
#6 of 32 in St. Pete Beach
3,991 reviews
0.3 mi away
Postcard Inn on the Beach
Postcard Inn on the Beach
#18 of 32 in St. Pete Beach
619 reviews
0.2 mi away
Guy Harvey Outpost, a TradeWinds Beach Resort
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.2 mi away
Sirata Beach Resort
Sirata Beach Resort
#12 of 32 in St. Pete Beach
4,395 reviews
0.3 mi away
Grand Plaza Beachfront Resort Hotel & Conference Center
0.7 mi away
Plaza Beach Hotel - Beachfront Resort
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to TradeWinds Island Grand Resort? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about TradeWinds Island Grand Resort

Address: 5500 Gulf Blvd., St. Pete Beach, FL 33706-2323
Phone Number:
Location: United States > Florida > St. Pete Beach
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Beach Business Center with Internet Access Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Children Activities (Kid / Family Friendly) Kitchenette Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Restaurant Room Service Shuttle Bus service Spa Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#3 Business Hotel in St. Pete Beach
#4 Spa Hotel in St. Pete Beach
#5 Top resorts Hotel in St. Pete Beach
#9 On the Beach Hotel in St. Pete Beach
#10 Romantic Hotel in St. Pete Beach
#12 Family Hotel in St. Pete Beach
Price Range: $280 - $485 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:4 star — TradeWinds Island Grand Resort 4*
Number of rooms: 585
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
TradeWinds Island Grand spans 20 lush, tropical acres and boasts a heritage of award-winning service and certification as a Florida Green Lodge. Overlooking the tranquil waters of the Gulf of Mexico, Island Grand is located on the white sand beaches of St. Pete Beach, consistently ranked one of America's Top Beaches by TripAdvisor. Discover 201 things to do with a variety of recreation activities including JetLev flight center, The Floating Water Park, children's programs, paddleboats, tennis, stand-up paddleboards, a three story tall inflatable waterslide and more. Island Grand offers multiple dining and entertainment venues along with sand-in-your-toes beach bars. Pamper yourself with a beachfront massage at Body Works Salon & Spa. Relax on a beach cabana or lounge next to one of 5 heated pools and 2 whirlpools. Our on-site resort transportation and car rental agency makes getting to Island Grand easy and stress free. It's not just a vacation. At TradeWinds, it's a totally immersive experience. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Hotels.com, Expedia, Booking.com, Travelocity, Hotwire, Orbitz, Priceline, getaroom.com, Evoline ltd, TripOnline SA and Cancelon so you can book your TradeWinds Island Grand Resort reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Tradewinds Island Grand Beach Hotel Saint Pete Beach
Tradewinds Island Saint Pete Beach
TradeWinds Island Grand Resort St. Pete Beach, Florida

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing