We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
$25 Amazon.com Gift Card Get yours when you book a hotel on TripAdvisor and review your stay!

“Visited with a conference” 4 of 5 stars
Review of TradeWinds Island Grand Beach Resort

Best prices for -
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 5 more sites!
TradeWinds Island Grand Beach Resort
Ranked #11 of 32 Hotels in St. Pete Beach
Certificate of Excellence
Orlando, Florida, United States
Level Contributor
10 reviews
4 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 3 helpful votes
“Visited with a conference”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed August 30, 2014 via mobile

The service was amazing. Everyone was extremely polite and helpful. They do go the extra mile to make people happy. The room was beautiful with a wonderful view of beach. They allow you to bring your pets and have a little dog park. The meeting rooms were cold. I would recommend this resort for a high end vacation weekends.

Stayed August 2014, traveled on business
Helpful?
Thank Amy K
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

4,823 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    2,551
    1,153
    572
    343
    204
See reviews for
2,021
920
67
737
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (1,272)
Date | Rating
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Norwegian first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Any
English first
Boston, Massachusetts
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 5 helpful votes
3 of 5 stars Reviewed August 29, 2014

This was our second time staying at the Tradewinds. It didn't live up to our memories of our last visit two years ago. It is now run by a timeshare management group unbeknown to us. After checking in, we were directed to a second desk to pick up our parking pass. We were tired and hungry after traveling, and now we were being encouraged to sit through a time share spiel. NO thank you! We couldn't get adjoining rooms for our family, so upgraded to a suite. We thought we would save money on food, but the refrigerator didn't work. We asked for maintenance to fix it, but it was never fixed. The suite was nice enough, but the beds were small.
The rooms were very clean and the cleaning crew was very nice.
The pools are very nice and clean. The beach could use a sand rake. There were a lot of cigarette butts all around the cabanas. It was disgusting. The giant slide was a lot of fun.
If you go into the ocean - pay attention to the jellyfish and stingray warnings. My son accidentally stepped on a stingray and was stung. The beach staff didn't know what to do. I'm thankful for the kindness of strangers. Fellow guests were very helpful. The staff members did not know what to do. We were given ice and cold water to treat the wound. We later found out heat is required to treat these injuries. After a lot of bumbling around, one of the staff members agreed to drive us to the parking lot in the beach 4 wheelers to meet my husband at the car so we could go to an urgent
care facility. As we were driving up the beach my son said he lost his vision -- I asked if they had anyone on site, or if the paramedics had been called. I finally had to demand that they call the paramedics. Once called, the paramedics were there quickly -- but it had been appx. 20-30 minutes since the sting occurred. They explained the toxin emitted by the stingray is a heat seeking toxin and hot water or compresses are used to draw the toxin away. The ice and cold water used drove the toxins to the organs.
If nothing else -- I hope the staff members on the beach receive training on how to deal with injuries from the marine life. The paramedics told us that it has been a hot summer and that the stingrays and jellyfish have been drawn to the local beaches. I would assume more people are hitting the beaches to cool down. It seems like a recipe for more accidents.
I will say, Luther, the security guard on duty was very helpful. He assisted my daughter with collecting all of our belongings as well as finding my husband at the car, and reuniting us at the front of the building. He helped the paramedics with obtaining hot water on site, and later assisting us to our room. He also checked in with my husband later in the day.

  • Stayed August 2014, traveled with family
    • 2 of 5 stars
      Value
    • 3 of 5 stars
      Rooms
    • 3 of 5 stars
      Service
Helpful?
5 Thank karatemama33
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
JustLetGo8, Guest Relations Manager at TradeWinds Island Grand Beach Resort, responded to this review, September 22, 2014
Karatemama33. Without knowing exactly who you spoke to at first regarding the stingray incident, I immediately forwarded this to both our beach services and activities managers for review with their staff. Our beach operations staff are well aware and trained to assist with stingray incidents such as yours. Unfortunately this does happen from time to time, hence the signage that is posted along the beach stating to take special precautions for stingrays during this particular time of season.
I also want to thank you for the positive comments regarding Luther, our security staff who was assisting you throughout this ordeal. I would not have expected anything less from his efforts, or anyone else on our team.
Thank you.
Doug Rogers
Director of Guest Satisfaction
drogers@twresort.com
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Rochester, NY
2 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed August 29, 2014

Everything about the Tradewinds is amazing, from the beach to the food to the rooms. And each person on the staff is so friendly and helpful and seems devoted to making your stay the best experience you will ever have. This was my fourth trip there, and I can't wait to go back!

Room Tip: Take the upgrade and get a gulfside room--the view is amazing! If you have kids, choose a lower room...
See more room tips
  • Stayed August 2014, traveled on business
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Service
Helpful?
Thank timbar4404
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Kernersville, North Carolina, United States
2 reviews
5 of 5 stars Reviewed August 29, 2014

This was our first experience with TradeWinds and it was wonderful! The staff was truly amazing and accommodating to all our requests. Though this was a business trip for those of us involved, we were able to bring along our families. The many options were great! From water sports, to putt-putt, to the many pools and restaurants! It was awesome. We voted to come back next year!

Room Tip: Those oceanfront rooms were really nice and gave you a great view!
See more room tips
  • Stayed June 2014, traveled on business
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Value
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Service
Helpful?
Thank Janet N
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Baltimore, Maryland, United States
1 review
5 of 5 stars Reviewed August 29, 2014

When you can't complain about any aspect of the resort, and can only sing their praises then you have found a resort that listens and cares which is a very rare finding in this overoaded resort world we live in. From the welcoming front desk, to all the staff encountered, to the pristine beach and very comfortable meeting rooms, there is nothing more to say except you should really go to the Tradewinds to experience what excellence is all about!

  • Stayed May 2014, traveled on business
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Value
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Service
Helpful?
Thank Warren F
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Madeira Beach, Florida
Level Contributor
7 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 7 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed August 29, 2014

Granddaughter's wedding August 16th, 2014. We held her rehearsal dinner and reception here. Wow, what a wonderful time was had by all. From planning, with Julie Manes to the day. Perfection! Happy!!!!

Room Tip: Beachfront rooms
See more room tips
  • Stayed August 2014, traveled with family
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Service
Helpful?
Thank CatherineBreheny1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Florida
2 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 5 helpful votes
2 of 5 stars Reviewed August 28, 2014

Overall this hotel is over priced and is know where near 4 1/2 stars.
The rooms are small as too are the beds, we had a double twin room which normally means two normal sized double beds but no they where more like two large singles.
The bar staff at the sawtooth bar/grill were rude but of course wanted tips for doing their jobs. There is a huge amount of building work going on which starts up at 9am and with no warning about this from hotels.com "thanks for that" as had I'd known this I'd not have booked to stay there. The icing on the cake came on our last day when without warning the main pool which over looks the beach/sea was closed for a private filming event in the morning. Burmudas restaurant has all the get up and go of a funeral home. On the positive, the security staff were great, my 8 year old boy got stung by a jelly fish and the two guards which I'm truly greatful too reacted swiftly to with some vinegar. Sorry very bad of me but I never noted there names. The other positive thing about this trip was the beach slide, huge amounts of grin factor but without this you guys need to up your game. Don't count on me returning at its very very best a 3 star or lower motel experience.

Room Tip: Book else were until the building work is finished or get a much much cheaper rate.
See more room tips
  • Stayed August 2014, traveled with family
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Location
    • 2 of 5 stars
      Sleep Quality
    • 2 of 5 stars
      Service
Helpful?
4 Thank Alex W A
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
JustLetGo8, Guest Relations Manager at TradeWinds Island Grand Beach Resort, responded to this review, September 7, 2014
Alex. Thank you for the positive comments regarding our security staff who responded to your son being stung by a stingray. By taking immediate and appropriate action, I'm sure this lessened the sensitivity of the sting. Our security and beach services staff are all trained in the treatment process for stingray and jellyfish issues. As Summer is now coming to an end, the water temperature should start decreasing which would at the same time mean much less stingrays and jellyfish.
I have forwarded your comments to our F&B managers for further review where we failed to meet your expectations with the bar staff and the overall ambiance within our Bermuda's restaurant.
I am concerned that you stated we couldn't count on you returning to TradeWinds, but if I could be of any assistance regarding future reservations, please don't hesitate to contact me directly.
Thank you.
Doug Rogers
Director of Guest Satisfaction
drogers@twresort.com
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near St. Pete Beach
1.5 mi away
Loews Don CeSar Hotel
Loews Don CeSar Hotel
#6 of 32 in St. Pete Beach
4.0 of 5 stars 2,940 reviews
18.2 mi away
Sandpearl Resort
Sandpearl Resort
#6 of 96 in Clearwater
4.5 of 5 stars 2,055 reviews
0.2 mi away
Sirata Beach Resort
Sirata Beach Resort
#17 of 32 in St. Pete Beach
4.0 of 5 stars 3,429 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
17.1 mi away
Coconut Cove All Suite Hotel
Coconut Cove All Suite Hotel
#19 of 96 in Clearwater
4.5 of 5 stars 394 reviews
0.2 mi away
Guy Harvey Outpost, a TradeWinds Beach Resort
0.7 mi away
Plaza Beach Hotel - Beachfront Resort
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to TradeWinds Island Grand Beach Resort? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about TradeWinds Island Grand Beach Resort

Property: TradeWinds Island Grand Beach Resort
Address: 5500 Gulf Blvd., St. Pete Beach, FL 33706-2323
Phone Number:
Location: United States > Florida > St. Pete Beach
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Beach Business Center with Internet Access Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Children Activities (Kid / Family Friendly) Kitchenette Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Restaurant Room Service Shuttle Bus service Spa Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#3 Business Hotel in St. Pete Beach
#4 Top resorts Hotel in St. Pete Beach
#10 Romantic Hotel in St. Pete Beach
#10 On the Beach Hotel in St. Pete Beach
#13 Family Hotel in St. Pete Beach
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$$
Hotel Class:4 star — TradeWinds Island Grand Beach Resort 4*
Number of rooms: 585
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
TradeWinds Island Grand spans 20 lush, tropical acres and boasts a heritage of award-winning service and certification as a Florida Green Lodge. Overlooking the tranquil waters of the Gulf of Mexico, Island Grand is located on the white sand beaches of St. Pete Beach, consistently ranked one of America's Top Beaches by TripAdvisor. Discover 201 things to do with a variety of recreation activities including JetLev flight center, The Floating Water Park, children's programs, paddleboats, tennis, stand-up paddleboards, a three story tall inflatable waterslide and more. Island Grand offers multiple dining and entertainment venues along with sand-in-your-toes beach bars. Pamper yourself with a beachfront massage at Body Works Salon & Spa. Relax on a beach cabana or lounge next to one of 5 heated pools and 2 whirlpools. Our on-site resort transportation and car rental agency makes getting to Island Grand easy and stress free. It's not just a vacation. At TradeWinds, it's a totally immersive experience. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Expedia, Booking.com, Orbitz, Hotwire, Hotels.com, Odigeo and Jetsetter so you can book your TradeWinds Island Grand Beach Resort reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Tradewinds Island Grand Beach Hotel Saint Pete Beach
Tradewinds Island Saint Pete Beach
TradeWinds Island Grand Beach Resort St. Pete Beach, Florida

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing