We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Mixed reviews”

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 10 more sites!
TradeWinds Island Grand Resort
Ranked #9 of 32 Hotels in St. Pete Beach
Certificate of Excellence
Reviewed July 17, 2014 via mobile

If you have kids and want things to do everyday while your on vacation...This is your resort.

I came here for a conference. They do have a lot of pools and one adult only pool. The room (1508) in the Jarcardia building was first level, next to a tiki bar, and had ocean front views. The room was clean but I did find an insect or two hanging out. However it's Florida and those things happen. The a tiki bar was slightly annoying when I was trying to fall asleep but people where on vacation. My room was also directly across the housekeeping closet so I woke up every morning at 6 am whether I liked it or not.

The resort has plenty of Bars, quick eats and fine dining. They make so that u don't have to leave property at all. Some staff seemed to go out of their way for you while others sprinted by you in hopes you didn't ask a question.

Overall if you need to occupy the little ones...This resort has it all. If your an adult and looking not for kid central... I suggest somewhere else.

Be forewarned the parking is plentiful but the spots are for like scooters... it was hard to get a 4 door sedan in if there were two cars on either side of the parking spot.

Stayed: July 2014, traveled on business
1  Thank Shannon L
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
JustLetGo8, Guest Relations Manager at TradeWinds Island Grand Resort, responded to this reviewResponded July 19, 2014

Thank you for your comments regarding all the activities for the little ones. However, if your looking for something a little quieter, I'd suggest The Guy Harvey OutPost, our sister property, which is much smaller in size, yet you still have access to all amenities at both properties. I realize how important it is to be well rested and prepared for your conference. I've already forwarded this to several different departments that would have staff in the immediate area of your room to please member to be quite in the early morning hours as some guest may be wanting to sleep in. Hope to see you with your family next time! Thank you. drogers@twresort.com

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a ReviewReviews (5,564)
Traveler rating
Traveler type
Time of year
Language
  • More languages

2,116 - 2,122 of 5,564 reviews

Reviewed July 17, 2014

Not a good value for our money. The whole reason we selected this hotel was for the water slides/activities for children on the beach. Out of the 5 days we were there. They only had them out 1 day for 2 hours. Difficult for kids to understand. Our room was only cleaned 2 of the 5 days. When housekeeping came they showed up at 6:00 pm. Other days we were handed towles and told they were busy getting other rooms cleaned for new customers. We called front desk and housekeeping each missed day. Didn't help no one ever came to clean our room. We actually sat at the pool and watched the housekeeper skip our room because we had called and complained. The worst hotel I've ever stayed at. Wouldn't go back even if we had a free week. Staff was not good at communicating and seems every person we spoke to was rude or very unaware of hotel and answering questions. To top it all off there was no parking spots unless we choose valet for an additianl cost. So disappointing!!!

  • Stayed: July 2014
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank Robert0211
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
JustLetGo8, Guest Relations Manager at TradeWinds Island Grand Resort, responded to this reviewResponded July 19, 2014

As the Director of Guest Satisfaction please accept my apology for failing to meet your expectations. It's unfortunate that the water park was closed due to inclement weather and rough surf conditions / rip current warnings while you were here. The safety of our guest is a top priority and with that is the responsibility that when lightning is within 15 miles of the resort, we have to close all outdoor activities. As you can image, this time of year in Florida does come with the typical afternoon thunderstorms. After which, most activities reopen.
I have attempted to contact you directly so as to determine the multiple calls for service that were missed and have forwarded this to both the front desk and housekeeping departments as well.
We have expanded our services and activities to many new items this year and with the addition of seasonal summer staff, training and proper communication is critical. I stress this in each and every department meeting I attend. If I could be of any further assistance, please don't hesitate to contact me directly. Thank you. drogers@twresort.com

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed July 16, 2014

Our overall trip was great. The activities for the kids kept them engaged and they really had a good time. The room was recently remodeled and in good condition. Wish we had opted for a balcony but will have to do that next time. I had read some complaints about calls regarding their timeshare / travel packages; we were offered a session with some deal when we checked in and we politely just said NO and please do NOT call us. We never received a call or another offer.

The Jet Lev experience was truly awesome. I knew nothing about what I was doing but John, Will and Peter did an excellent job giving me instructions on how to work the Jet Lev. It is a work out so be prepared but overall I would definitely do it again. The key is having good instructors that are patient and work with you to literally have you flying over the water after a 10-15 minute course.


What was great:
The activities on the beach and across the property were great. The pools while smaller had several of them so that wasn't such a concern as we spent most of our time on the beach and only took occasional dips in the pools or showers to cool off as the ocean was warm. The water activities were great. Catch the ocean water park before noon to avoid a crowd. The water slide was least crowded early and around lunch but the line moves faster than you would think. The staff was very attentive and friendly. My kids really enjoyed the craft sessions and digging for sharks teeth to break up the day.


Ideas for improvements:
We've stayed at a Club Med resort and they had more family activities at night. For example the kids trained one day and performed a skit at night to music. Every night they had a family dance party in a bar area for an hour or so. My in-laws and kids really liked this and it would be a good addition to add.

Room Tip: Select a beach front room on the Breckinridge(sp?) side of the resort. We had no noise on the 5th...
See more room tips
  • Stayed: July 2014, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Rooms
    • Service
1  Thank Chris U
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed July 16, 2014 via mobile

The only reason why this stay was good was because I had 22 family members to spend it with and the weather was good. The hotel service and room cleaning was bad. The beds were uncomfortable and had wood boards to keep firm. The coffee table broken, staff were not well trained. All the free stuff was always canceled but yet the excursions were always open. Not worth the money at allll

Stayed: July 2014, traveled with friends
2  Thank Gerri-ann C
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
JustLetGo8, Guest Relations Manager at TradeWinds Island Grand Resort, responded to this reviewResponded July 17, 2014

As the Director of Guest Satisfaction please accept my apologies for failing to meet your expectations. I have forwarded this to our housekeeping department managers for further review to see if there were any calls for daily service or if there were any do not disturb rooms improperly documented. This may have resulted in the absence of service on that one day. Regarding the bed board, it's obvious the prior guest had requested additional support. However, it should be noted that later this year when occupancy allows such, we will be replacing all guest rooms mattresses and box springs. About the closing of the activity events, pools and beach, safety of our guest is a top priority. During inclement weather we are require to close these events if lightning is within 15 miles of our location. If not for that, with ongoing winds out of the West, making the Gulf waters too rough for the water park and creating strong currents and rip tides, those are closed for your safety. Thank you for bringing your extended family here to our resort. I'm sorry that you were not completely satisfied with you stay and if I could be of any further assistance, please don't hesitate tot contact me directly. Thank you. drogers@twresort.com

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed July 16, 2014 via mobile

Don't know where to start. How about day one.

Get into our room to fine the coffee table about to lose a leg along with the table on the balcony.

One of our four beds had a piece of plywood underneath the mattress due to a broken box spring.

Then I pulled out our ironing board to find out it was bent to where it wouldn't function. Pretty hard to miss if you do an inspection of the room after each guess. So we called down to get it replaced and a 1/2 hour later they drop it off without taking the broken one. Had to wait yet again.

Then the housekeeping missed our room two days in a row. I mean we had nine people staying with us so between the toiletries going fast we had to call yet again.

We talked with a manager and they did give is a days credit towards our stay. So that helped ease the pain a little bit.

Now if you know Florida at all it rains and it stops. But with all their late night activities if they got a a hint of rain or lighting everything got canceled. I mean with all the indoor space to rent rooms for conferences or receptions they didn't have a backup for anything.

Sorry for the rant but if you would ask if I would recommend or stay here again, I would have to say no.

Just wasn't what they make it out to be.

Now the next two day

Stayed: July 2014
Thank valentin718
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
JustLetGo8, Guest Relations Manager at TradeWinds Island Grand Resort, responded to this reviewResponded July 17, 2014

As the Director of Guest Satisfaction please accept my apologies. It was a pleasure to meet you just prior to your departure. As per our conversation, each of your concerns were addressed and I've forwarded it on to the proper department managers for further review. I also took time to explain our policy regarding inclement weather and the priority of guest safety. If I could be of any further assistance, please don't hesitate to contact me directly. Thank you. drogers@twresort.com

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed July 15, 2014

My family and I stayed here recently while attending a week long conference. While the conference facilities have much to be desired, the resort itself was nice and the amenities were great for the family. The rooms have been updated and the beds are nice. We took advantage of the Cabana reservation program (included in stay) and had some great days at the beach! We also enjoyed the huge slide, pool, activity building, and paddle boats. The on-site restaurants have good food and atmosphere. The prices were in-line with expectations.

The only real disappointment was that EVERYTHING shut down if lighting was spotted within 100 miles. For example, we were sunbathing on the beach with beautiful blue skies and hot sun when an air raid horn sounded. We looked to see what was going on and saw employees scrambling to close the pools, slide, and any other activities, except for the beach. We asked what was going on and were told that lightning had been sighted in the area. I sarcastically asked if they saw it in Miami Beach, because there were no thunderstorms in sight!!!! They said it was for safety. I appreciate that, but I was not in Elementary School where someone needed to tell me when to get off the playground! Yes, they might be liable if someone got struck...NOT, you can't be held liable for acts of god unless they started parasailing in the middle of a thunderstorm. I digress, the bottom line is let adults make the decision on whether they want to swim in the pools or other activities that the resort employees don't have to be exposed to. It will be a more enjoyable experience for patrons paying a lot of money for the fun.

Room Tip: Beach view rooms are great!
See more room tips
  • Stayed: July 2014, traveled on business
    • Value
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
2  Thank R B
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed July 15, 2014

Stayed here for our family reunion and were very disappointed. Rooms were not what we were promised, the staff was not pleasant and there was a roach in the kitchen! This place is too overpriced for the service!

Room Tip: Make sure they know what you mean by beach view.
See more room tips
  • Stayed: July 2014, traveled with family
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
4  Thank Nilejustice
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
JustLetGo8, Guest Relations Manager at TradeWinds Island Grand Resort, responded to this reviewResponded July 17, 2014

As the Director of Guest Satisfaction please accept my apology for failing to meet your expectations. We take all guest concerns seriously and take even extra precautions when made aware of insects or other pest situations. We have a third party outside contractor who is on call and responds to each individual case regarding insects in guest rooms. Thank you. drogers@twresort.com

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these St. Pete Beach hotels
1.5 mi away
The Don CeSar
The Don CeSar
#6 of 32 in St. Pete Beach
3,927 reviews
0.6 mi away
St Pete Beach Suites
St Pete Beach Suites
#3 of 32 in St. Pete Beach
429 reviews
0.2 mi away
Sirata Beach Resort
Sirata Beach Resort
#13 of 32 in St. Pete Beach
4,346 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.2 mi away
Guy Harvey Outpost, a TradeWinds Beach Resort
0.3 mi away
Grand Plaza Beachfront Resort Hotel & Conference Center
1 mi away
Beach House Suites by The Don CeSar
Beach House Suites by The Don Ce...
#10 of 32 in St. Pete Beach
819 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to TradeWinds Island Grand Resort? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about TradeWinds Island Grand Resort

Address: 5500 Gulf Blvd., St. Pete Beach, FL 33706-2323
Phone Number:
Location: United States > Florida > St. Pete Beach
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Beach Business Center with Internet Access Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Children Activities (Kid / Family Friendly) Kitchenette Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Restaurant Room Service Shuttle Bus service Spa Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#3 Business Hotel in St. Pete Beach
#3 Spa Hotel in St. Pete Beach
#4 Top resorts Hotel in St. Pete Beach
#8 On the Beach Hotel in St. Pete Beach
#10 Romantic Hotel in St. Pete Beach
#12 Family Hotel in St. Pete Beach
Price Range: $287 - $474 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:4 star — TradeWinds Island Grand Resort 4*
Number of rooms: 585
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
TradeWinds Island Grand spans 20 lush, tropical acres and boasts a heritage of award-winning service and certification as a Florida Green Lodge. Overlooking the tranquil waters of the Gulf of Mexico, Island Grand is located on the white sand beaches of St. Pete Beach, consistently ranked one of America's Top Beaches by TripAdvisor. Discover 201 things to do with a variety of recreation activities including JetLev flight center, The Floating Water Park, children's programs, paddleboats, tennis, stand-up paddleboards, a three story tall inflatable waterslide and more. Island Grand offers multiple dining and entertainment venues along with sand-in-your-toes beach bars. Pamper yourself with a beachfront massage at Body Works Salon & Spa. Relax on a beach cabana or lounge next to one of 5 heated pools and 2 whirlpools. Our on-site resort transportation and car rental agency makes getting to Island Grand easy and stress free. It's not just a vacation. At TradeWinds, it's a totally immersive experience. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, HotelPower, Hotels.com, Expedia, Travelocity, Hotwire, Orbitz, Priceline, getaroom.com, Evoline ltd, Cancelon and TripOnline SA so you can book your TradeWinds Island Grand Resort reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Tradewinds Island Grand Beach Hotel Saint Pete Beach
Tradewinds Island Saint Pete Beach
TradeWinds Island Grand Resort St. Pete Beach, Florida

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing