We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Great times”

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 11 more sites!
TradeWinds Island Grand Resort
Ranked #10 of 32 Hotels in St. Pete Beach
Certificate of Excellence
Thunder Bay, Canada
1 review
“Great times”
Reviewed February 4, 2014

Great time and highly recommended. Very friendly staff that always say hello as you pass by them as they work away. Our room had a great view, very clean, and housekeeping was fantastic. Pool area was clean with just the right level of music playing. Restaurant staff was also very friendly and helpful.

  • Stayed January 2014, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Shono76
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

5,362 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    2,845
    1,294
    628
    371
    224
See reviews for
2,299
1,029
76
821
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (1,417)
Date | Rating
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Norwegian first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Any
English first
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
Reviewed February 3, 2014

Our overall stay was very pleasant. On our second day there, my daughter was feeding the ducks. A seagull flew up and took her food. She instantly started crying. Felix, a resort employee, instantly came up and asked if he could get her an ice cream to cheer her up. We said that was fine. He walked us to the ice cream parlor and got my daughter ice cream and a juice. It was so sweet. He definately made that day more enjoyable! Every resort needs employees like Felix.

  • Stayed February 2014
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Adriane M
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
TradeWinds-Leni, Manager at TradeWinds Island Grand Resort, responded to this review, February 5, 2014
Hi Adriene M,
What a sweet story! Thank you so much for sharing. We love that Felix went above and beyond to make your daughter's experience a great one and to bring a smile to her face. We are very proud of the exemplary service our staff members exude. We hope you will come back to see us again soon.
Kind Regards,
Leni
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Saint Cloud, Minnesota
Level 5 Contributor
70 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 21 helpful votes
Reviewed February 2, 2014

Front desk is amazing! Prices are a little high! Concierge service is very good! Konk club is highly recommended! Pools and beach are excellent! High tide slide is a MUST! Service is Great! Palm court is fabulous!

Room Tip: Poincinda beach suites are good, but stairs are not very good, so take the first floor!
See more room tips
  • Stayed January 2014, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Lana K
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
1 review
Reviewed February 2, 2014

My family & I have gone to tradewinds for over 26 years & it never seems to amaze me... An incredible place with so many activities for the kids. I wanted to point out an amazing employee @ the resort that really went the extra mile.... His name is Felix & he saw me with my 10 year old boy running frantically to the bathrooms to clean him up after he ran into the cabanas on the beach. He immediately came up to us eager to help & waited outside the restrooms to assist us & make sure my son was ok... Then lead him straight to the ice cream parlor to get him an ice cream to make my son forget about his accident. That's awesome customer service which we have everytime we go... But that was reaching out & really caring & I wanted to say "Thank You" to Felix your a great asset to Tradewinds!!!!

  • Stayed February 2014
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Cassietaylorjohn
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Palm Beach Gardens, Florida
Level 6 Contributor
303 reviews
43 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 142 helpful votes
Reviewed February 1, 2014

I stayed in the Breckenridge. It is a Bluegreen resort, but does not live up to Bluegreen's standards. The units did not have the ability to cook within. There was only a microwave and very small refrigerator. You could not eat in the units and that was disappointing. (Reason for four stars and not five!)

Getting that out of the way, Let me now focus on the positive! Our room was on the fourth floor, gulf front and the view was terrific. I'm hoping that I can upload a photo of the sunset. It was awe inspiring. Lots to do at the resort; however, I spent most of my time walking the beach and testing the water. Got in it a bit, but it was January and this fellow lives in South Florida. It's a wonderful resort for the whole family, you could hardly get it all done in a weeks time.

The staff were kind and helpful. The accommodations were in places a bit dated, "old Florida", but were clean and well kept.

Would recommend it and will probably go back myself!

Room Tip: Make sure you ask for a gulf front room. It is the reason you are at this resort!
See more room tips
  • Stayed January 2014, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank William L
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Sarasota, Florida
Level 1 Contributor
4 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
Reviewed February 1, 2014

Everything was absolutely top notch. We stayed at tradewinds for a mini vacation and every employee we encountered was amazing. In particular, Youssef at the Palm Court restaurant went above and beyond to make my birthday dinner special. Definitely took a great night and make it incredible. Thank you again and we look forward to our next stay!

  • Stayed February 2014
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Katie211
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Highland Park, Illinois
Level 4 Contributor
34 reviews
6 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 18 helpful votes
Reviewed February 1, 2014

I originally posted a review that was not good for the hotel because i was angry!So here is what happened my van was hit and the only call I got was from security.I was shocked nobody from the hotel called.So I walked thru hotel to see if i could find the bell hop I met by the name of Albert.He apologized i replied thank you he said he would talk to someone at the hotel.That afternoon I received a call from head of security saying he was sorry.Then the next day a cheese tray and a bottle of wine came I knew it was from the bell hop Albert. So i walked down the day after and thanked him.He asked how everything was going I told him nobody but security called me or had done anything or cared but him. He said he was sorry again and bought me some drinks I thanked him. So that night I wrote a review on trip advisor Chris head of guest relations saw it and contacted me we talked in person he was so sorry he said and bought me and my family dinner that night New Years eve and gave my kids gift so sweet.I was very happy finally taken care of.So then later on that day my a/c had been leaking since they day before i called someone they sent a man from maintenance he said it was because of my door open i was cooking but had been the whole time i was here never had that problem so i let it go the next morning there was a pool of water housekeeping came never did anything so i thought it was over and to my surprise i slipped on water and called again this time they said a/c was broken it was frozen solid so I called Chris came up i suggested the room next to us was empty could we get ready in it he said no problem and opened the door.He said to call the front desk when a/c was fixed and they would close room up. No problem so they still where not done when we left for dinner so I left my things in room and left doors in between rooms open so my dog could see everything was ok when I left. Then when we got back from dinner I found all of my things on the floor in my room!I was upset they did this i finally found my dog hiding and shaking under the bed because a stranger had scared him. I called front desk and asked what happened they said bell hop was told to close up room? But why a/c wasn't fixed?NO RESPONSE. Roof was left open all the black mildew that grows on a/c was airborne in my room because roof was left open all night.I had a full blown asthma attack got hardly any sleep. At this point was so tired and upset of the way things were handled I was just done!! I went to check out the next morning the man checking me out asked me how was my stay i told him what had happened the night before his response was have a nice trip home??I stormed off and got in my van never to think about this place again!!!Then to my surprise I get home and I have an e-mail from Chris.He wanted to speak with me so I called him.We talked about everything he was very upset that I was treated like that.Chris was very insistent of making sure I was satisfied with what he could to do make it right and I am.So in my eyes this is a resort that truly cares to make sure everything is done right or try to make errors of others right. He said he would comp me things and did. I was pleased to actually find someone who cared about my stay... I like to thank Albert the kindest most knowledgeable( bell hop) I ever met you go over and beyond the call of duty you are great see you this christmas !.Olivia from beef o'bradys you truly are one of the greatest caring servers i ever met thank you!. Ray from Bermudas thank you for a great dinner your service was great.Felix the groundskeeper who is a great poet thank you for the poem when i was sad you made me smile.Most of all thank you to chris from guest relations who truley does care about all his guest. I wanted you all to know my van was fixed so I would like to thank security for being on the ball and had everything taken care of when I was asleep they took care of it.I highly recommend for families and people with pets it is a great place to stay. There is something for everyone to do! I will see you all this christmas or sooner you never know!!!Thank You VIKKI K.

  • Stayed December 2013, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Vikki K
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near St. Pete Beach
1.5 mi away
The Don CeSar
The Don CeSar
#7 of 32 in St. Pete Beach
3,567 reviews
18.2 mi away
Sandpearl Resort
Sandpearl Resort
#8 of 98 in Clearwater
2,368 reviews
0.2 mi away
Sirata Beach Resort
Sirata Beach Resort
#14 of 32 in St. Pete Beach
4,108 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.2 mi away
Guy Harvey Outpost, a TradeWinds Beach Resort
0.3 mi away
Grand Plaza Beachfront Resort Hotel & Conference Center
1.0 mi away
Beach House Suites by The Don CeSar
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to TradeWinds Island Grand Resort? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about TradeWinds Island Grand Resort

Property: TradeWinds Island Grand Resort
Address: 5500 Gulf Blvd., St. Pete Beach, FL 33706-2323
Phone Number:
Location: United States > Florida > St. Pete Beach
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Beach Business Center with Internet Access Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Children Activities (Kid / Family Friendly) Kitchenette Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Restaurant Room Service Shuttle Bus service Spa Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#3 Business Hotel in St. Pete Beach
#4 Spa Hotel in St. Pete Beach
#4 Top resorts Hotel in St. Pete Beach
#8 On the Beach Hotel in St. Pete Beach
#10 Romantic Hotel in St. Pete Beach
#13 Family Hotel in St. Pete Beach
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$$
Hotel Class:4 star — TradeWinds Island Grand Resort 4*
Number of rooms: 585
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
TradeWinds Island Grand spans 20 lush, tropical acres and boasts a heritage of award-winning service and certification as a Florida Green Lodge. Overlooking the tranquil waters of the Gulf of Mexico, Island Grand is located on the white sand beaches of St. Pete Beach, consistently ranked one of America's Top Beaches by TripAdvisor. Discover 201 things to do with a variety of recreation activities including JetLev flight center, The Floating Water Park, children's programs, paddleboats, tennis, stand-up paddleboards, a three story tall inflatable waterslide and more. Island Grand offers multiple dining and entertainment venues along with sand-in-your-toes beach bars. Pamper yourself with a beachfront massage at Body Works Salon & Spa. Relax on a beach cabana or lounge next to one of 5 heated pools and 2 whirlpools. Our on-site resort transportation and car rental agency makes getting to Island Grand easy and stress free. It's not just a vacation. At TradeWinds, it's a totally immersive experience. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Expedia, Orbitz, Travelocity, Hotels.com, Priceline, TravelUp, Hotwire, TripOnline SA, Cancelon, HotelQuickly, getaroom.com and Evoline ltd so you can book your TradeWinds Island Grand Resort reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Tradewinds Island Grand Beach Hotel Saint Pete Beach
Tradewinds Island Saint Pete Beach
TradeWinds Island Grand Resort St. Pete Beach, Florida

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing