We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“Great service” 5 of 5 bubbles
Review of TradeWinds Island Grand Resort

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 3 more sites!
TradeWinds Island Grand Resort
Ranked #11 of 32 Hotels in St. Pete Beach
Certificate of Excellence
Level Contributor
6 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
“Great service”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed January 23, 2014

Jen, Elaine, and Andrienne are the best bartenders great help with planning time out on the town. The heaters kept us warm and the beers kept us cool. Adrienne is the one to see to find the best breweries in town.

  • Stayed January 2014
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Steve_Homebrew
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

5,109 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    2,707
    1,228
    602
    354
    218
See reviews for
2,146
990
74
794
Rating summary
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Sleep Quality
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Rooms
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Service
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Value
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Cleanliness
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (1,345)
Date | Rating
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Norwegian first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Any
English first
Niagara Falls, New York
1 review
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed January 22, 2014

Great hotel everything atone place,eat,drinkswim,fun for the kidsand adults,everything was great,staff was FABULOUS,clean roomsloved the pillows and bed,hot water,clean rooms.great food,COLD drinks...will be back next January 2015 for the East-West Shrine football game.

Room Tip: Rooms over looking the court yard.
See more room tips
  • Stayed January 2014, traveled with friends
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank Linda C
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Wesley Chapel, Florida
2 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed January 22, 2014

We always have a wonderful time when staying when staying with the Tradewinds Resort (notice I said "with" instead of "at" as they always treat us like family.) Our room was fantastic, just steps from the beach with our own private patio. We were treated to live entertainment and adult libations at Sharktooth Tavern, had a wonderful light dinner at the Flying Bridge and even recieved takeout from Beef's during the big game. All first quality and serverd with a smile! Nothing beats a stroll on the beach during one of Florida's world famous sunsets. I will be staying again soon!

  • Stayed January 2014, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Rose_Soares
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Charlotte, North Carolina
Level Contributor
9 reviews
5 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 7 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed January 22, 2014

The best on St Pete Beach. Excellent staff, great amenities and the cleanliness was A+++++!!! I travel frequently, this hotel has it right in all aspects! Can't wait to visit again! The only slight negative was you can hear noise in the halls - just because of the age of the property and the thin walls, but you can get up early and sleep on the beach!

  • Stayed January 2014, traveled on business
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Michzev1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Northampton, Pennsylvania
2 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed January 22, 2014

My review is a little late. We stayed here for 11 days in July to celebrate our 8 year anniversary. We loved every second of our stay! Our room and bathroom were modern and clean. Great water pressure, comfy beds and pillows. The staff was fabulous! Everyone was friendly, always opening doors, pointing you into the direction you are looking for, helping you find fun things to do around St. Pete. The property itself was spotless. The restaurants on the resort were great, Flying Bridge, Beef O'Brady's and Bermudas were all delish. The tropical drinks were awesome, do yourself a favor and just get the big one. The adult pool was very calm, because someone actually monitored it. Every room gets a beach cabana, and you can reserve your favorite spot nightly. Beach towels are convient to grab going to the beach or to the pool. We will be back July 2014! A huge thanks to Katie M for making our trip extra special :)

  • Stayed July 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank Corinne F
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Kindersley, Canada
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 3 helpful votes
1 of 5 bubbles Reviewed January 20, 2014

Stayed here for two nights in December 2013. Good initial impression at front desk, but downhill after that. Room was extremely disappointing, especially given the high price. Was very old and rundown. Housekeeping was poor. If we had more than two nights left on our vacation we would have left and found another hotel somewhere (anywhere) else. They couldn't even provide towels in the pool area. Bermuda's restaurant was awful. Flying Bridge was a good meal, only good part of the stay. Please please please heed our warning and stay away, you will be disappointed. Don't believe the high ratings on trip advisor, that is how we were fooled.

For out of state people this is a very old and run down area. While the beach is nice, the beach is public. They don't own it.

Room Tip: Go somewhere else.
See more room tips
  • Stayed December 2013, traveled with family
    • 1 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 2 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 1 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 1 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 2 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 1 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
3 Thank TrevorJ72
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
JustLetGo8, Guest Relations Manager at TradeWinds Island Grand Resort, responded to this review, January 22, 2014
As the Director of Guest Satisfaction please accept apology for not meeting your expectations. I have attempted to contact this guest to further research their concerns. Regarding your experience with the pools towels, the replacement order has been received and opened into inventory. This situation came about at a very unfortunate time as we have discontinued the use of the older product in preparation of the order for the newer style pool / beach towel.
As per my request to contact you, I would like to follow up with the disappointing housekeeping service and experience in Bermuda's so as to prevent any further guest concerns and deliver exceptional service to future guest.
Thank you,
Drogers@twresort.com
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Kansas
1 review
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed January 20, 2014

Recently stayed for a business trip. Didn't get much of an opportunity to enjoy amenities and beach, but the staff here made the trip memorable. I was here last year in June (and was able to enjoy a lot of the resort activities) and I will be bringing a group back this year for a conference. The staff (everyone-bellhops, front desk, waiters/waitresses, housekeeping) was exceptional to work with. All of the staff is friendly and go out of their way to ensure that your stay is pleasant. The property is beautiful and the grounds are well maintained. Very clean, nice, family atmosphere. If you want a resort right on the beach with a lot of family oriented activities, this is your place.

Room Tip: Beachfront or Tropical View are the best rooms my opinion. They have small balconies, so regardless...
See more room tips
  • Stayed January 2014, traveled on business
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank PPAMeetingPlanner
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near St. Pete Beach
1.5 mi away
The Don CeSar
The Don CeSar
#8 of 32 in St. Pete Beach
4.0 of 5 bubbles 3,310 reviews
0.2 mi away
Sirata Beach Resort
Sirata Beach Resort
#16 of 32 in St. Pete Beach
4.0 of 5 bubbles 3,732 reviews
17.1 mi away
Coconut Cove All Suite Hotel
Coconut Cove All Suite Hotel
#22 of 95 in Clearwater
4.5 of 5 bubbles 448 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.2 mi away
Guy Harvey Outpost, a TradeWinds Beach Resort
0.3 mi away
Grand Plaza Beachfront Resort Hotel & Conference Center
1.0 mi away
Beach House Suites by The Don CeSar
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to TradeWinds Island Grand Resort? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about TradeWinds Island Grand Resort

Property: TradeWinds Island Grand Resort
Address: 5500 Gulf Blvd., St. Pete Beach, FL 33706
Phone Number:
Location: United States > Florida > St. Pete Beach
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Beach Business Center with Internet Access Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Children Activities (Kid / Family Friendly) Kitchenette Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Restaurant Room Service Shuttle Bus service Spa Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#3 Top resorts Hotel in St. Pete Beach
#3 Business Hotel in St. Pete Beach
#4 Spa Hotel in St. Pete Beach
#9 On the Beach Hotel in St. Pete Beach
#10 Romantic Hotel in St. Pete Beach
#13 Family Hotel in St. Pete Beach
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$$
Hotel Class:4 star — TradeWinds Island Grand Resort 4*
Number of rooms: 585
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
TradeWinds Island Grand spans 20 lush, tropical acres and boasts a heritage of award-winning service and certification as a Florida Green Lodge. Overlooking the tranquil waters of the Gulf of Mexico, Island Grand is located on the white sand beaches of St. Pete Beach, consistently ranked one of America's Top Beaches by TripAdvisor. Discover 201 things to do with a variety of recreation activities including JetLev flight center, The Floating Water Park, children's programs, paddleboats, tennis, stand-up paddleboards, a three story tall inflatable waterslide and more. Island Grand offers multiple dining and entertainment venues along with sand-in-your-toes beach bars. Pamper yourself with a beachfront massage at Body Works Salon & Spa. Relax on a beach cabana or lounge next to one of 5 heated pools and 2 whirlpools. Our on-site resort transportation and car rental agency makes getting to Island Grand easy and stress free. It's not just a vacation. At TradeWinds, it's a totally immersive experience. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Expedia, Hotels.com, Travelocity and Jetsetter so you can book your TradeWinds Island Grand Resort reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Tradewinds Island Grand Beach Hotel Saint Pete Beach
Tradewinds Island Saint Pete Beach
TradeWinds Island Grand Resort St. Pete Beach, Florida

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing