We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“Got engaged”

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 10 more sites!
TradeWinds Island Grand Resort
Ranked #11 of 32 Hotels in St. Pete Beach
Certificate of Excellence
2 reviews
“Got engaged”
Reviewed November 26, 2013 via mobile

Friendly staff, nice restaurants and plenty of fun for couples. Just this past Saturday, my boyfriend of 5 years proposed to me at the Palm Court restaurant here. The hotel sent up complimentary champagne and chocolate covered strawberries to our room with a congratulatory card. I'll never forget 11/23/13.

Stayed November 2013, traveled as a couple
Helpful?
Thank Tiffany G
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
TradeWinds-Leni, Manager at TradeWinds Island Grand Resort, responded to this review, December 5, 2013
Congratulations Tiffany G!
We are so thrilled for you and your fiance! What a wonderful memory and please send your fiance our many thanks for allowing us to be a part of such a special moment. We wish you both many years of happiness and hope you will come back to visit us again as Mr. and Mrs.! Thank you for sharing your fantastic story.
Kind Regards,
Leni
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

5,249 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    2,788
    1,264
    613
    362
    222
See reviews for
2,232
1,010
75
808
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (1,379)
Date | Rating
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Norwegian first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Any
English first
Warsaw, Indiana, United States
1 review
Reviewed November 23, 2013

This is our 4th vacation; 3rd Thanksgiving week. Our check-in was easy, efficient and they gave us the best location available. After check-in, Felix was our first staff contact. He made our dinner enjoyable, told us a poem, and got our vacation off to a great start. Having dinner outside at sun set was a perfect beginning. Brandon not only helped us with our luggage but made it very personable. We love this place and will be back.

  • Stayed November 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Brad S
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
TradeWinds-Leni, Manager at TradeWinds Island Grand Resort, responded to this review, December 5, 2013
Hello Brad S,
Thank you so much for taking the time to recognize our wonderful staff and for coming back to stay with us year after year. We consider guests such yourselves to be our extended family and we are so happy to hear that you enjoy spending time with us. We will be sure that Felix and Brandon are recognized for their efforts. Looking forward to your next visit!
Kind Regards,
Leni
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Tampa, Florida
2 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 3 helpful votes
Reviewed November 22, 2013

Great location - 3rd time here because they're always running specials. Something is always broken or they get the reservation wrong somehow. When cheap, it's forgivable but the management and service from the staff is severely lacking. I wouldn't stay here for more than $99 a night. Budget hotel masquerading as better quality.

Room Tip: Great location - 3rd time here because they're always running specials. Something is always br...
See more room tips
  • Stayed November 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank Bk42wnk
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
JustLetGo8, Guest Relations Manager at TradeWinds Island Grand Resort, responded to this review, November 24, 2013
As the Director of Guest Satisfaction please accept my apology regarding your room and reservation issues. I have attempted to contact you directly through TripAdvisor so that I can further research and resolve your concerns. In doing such, I hope this will improve your overall feelings for us here at TradeWinds. I also want to thank you for being a repeat guest and if you need any assistance in the future making your reservation, please contact me directly.
Doug R. TradeWinds Island Resorts.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Raleigh, North Carolina
1 review
Reviewed November 22, 2013

This was the first time my fiance Jesse and I have ever stayed in St. Pete Beach and I must say, the experience was nothing short of perfect. We stayed for 5 nights at the beautiful Island Grand. For only being there for less than a week, I must say, the entertainment seemed endless! From the music by the pool, to the jet ski and parasailing. There was even an inflatable water park and one of those water-propelled jet packs! Unbelievable!!

One of the nights, we decided to grab some dinner at the daiquiri shack, and as I was getting dressed I realized that I completely forgot my overnight bag, which contained all my razors, shaving cream, shampoo etc. Without stressing too much, I called down to the front desk and told them my dilemma. Within 5 minutes we heard a knock on our door and Dan from housekeeping was there to save the day. There are very few people that I've met on my travels that are as kind and polite as Dan. He not only made sure that I had every thing I need but also recommended a few great bars to go dancing and even called our cab for us. It went from being a potentially stressful evening, to one of the best nights of our lives.

It will be very hard to top that experience for next years vacation, but I honestly have the feeling we'll just come back and do it all over again! Thank you to all of the Trade Winds staff!

  • Stayed April 2013, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Jacob C
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
TradeWinds-Leni, Manager at TradeWinds Island Grand Resort, responded to this review, December 5, 2013
Hello Jacob C,
We are so happy that you and your fiance joined us for an excellent beach vacation! We do have a ton of activities and amenities to keep guests busy, and we're thrilled that you got to enjoy so many of them. We take great pride in our staff and their ability to go above and beyond for our guests. It's so wonderful to read your story about Dan and his hospitality. We will be sure to pass along your recognition to his management team. We truly hope you will come back to visit us!
Kind Regards,
Leni
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Georgia
Level Contributor
6 reviews
Reviewed November 22, 2013

Great resort with everything that kids can wish for. The staff is incredibly friendly and helpful and makes sure your vacation is a success! Also a special thanks to Mondo Canales and Bob for helping us out with extra shade for our 8 month old. It's those little things that make a resort great!

  • Stayed November 2013
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Isabelle B
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
TradeWinds-Leni, Manager at TradeWinds Island Grand Resort, responded to this review, December 5, 2013
Hello Isabelle C,
We certainly go out of our way to cater to our youngest fans, the kids! Thank you for taking the time to recognize that and for sharing your experience. We love that our staff members went above and beyond to make sure you were comfortable and enjoyed your stay. We will make sure they are recognized for their efforts. We hope you will bring your family back to visit us again soon!
Kind Regards,
Leni
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Tampa, Florida
1 review
Reviewed November 22, 2013

We used the valet parking service on a Saturday night while visiting friends. Kyle spent time talking to my kids and even danced "Gagnam style" with them. I think he actually likes his job, which is nice to see in the service industry.

Room Tip: The room had broken furniture.
See more room tips
  • Stayed November 2013, traveled with family
    • Location
    • Rooms
Helpful?
Thank A G
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
TradeWinds-Leni, Manager at TradeWinds Island Grand Resort, responded to this review, December 5, 2013
Hi A G,
Haha! How wonderful that Kyle was able to entertain your children with his dancing skills! He is definitely a fantastic associate and we are thankful to have him. We are also very thankful that so many of our staff members enjoy working for TradeWinds Island Resorts. Thank you for taking the time to share your story and for notifying us about the furniture so that we can ensure all items in the rooms are up to par. Hope to see you all again soon!
Kind Regards,
Leni
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Cincinnati, Ohio
Level Contributor
6 reviews
4 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
Reviewed November 21, 2013

We spent 3 nights in November to attend a dance convention. We had a very nice suite with a wonderful ocean view. The suite had two full size beds, a living room combined with a dining area and a fridge, stove top and sink. Everyone from the parking lot attendant to all the staff we passed while walking around had smiles and said hello to us. Our maid was friendly and although her english was not the best she got us to understand that if we needed any extra coffee, tea or anything else she was happy to get it for us. A small inconvenience was that the fridge was out so far it made it hard to use the kitchen sink. Our convention was a blast and it was nice to have the cabanna's, pedal boats, towels, slides and parking included in a $10 a day fee. We are looking forward to going back next year.

Room Tip: If you are looking for a little extra room and the ability to cook for yourself the suites are very...
See more room tips
  • Stayed November 2013, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Pamela R
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
TradeWinds-Leni, Manager at TradeWinds Island Grand Resort, responded to this review, December 5, 2013
Hello Pamela R,
We are excited to know you enjoyed your stay with us during the dance convention! It's nice to hear that your room was comfortable and had everything you needed for a great stay. We love that you were able to take advantage of our resort's amenities between dance routines and your rigorous schedule. We hope you will come back to visit us again, for competition or just to relax.
Kind Regards,
Leni
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near St. Pete Beach
1.5 mi away
The Don CeSar
The Don CeSar
#7 of 32 in St. Pete Beach
4.0 of 5 bubbles 3,474 reviews
0.6 mi away
Dolphin Beach Resort
Dolphin Beach Resort
#21 of 32 in St. Pete Beach
3.5 of 5 bubbles 949 reviews
0.2 mi away
Sirata Beach Resort
Sirata Beach Resort
#15 of 32 in St. Pete Beach
4.0 of 5 bubbles 3,945 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
17.1 mi away
Coconut Cove All Suite Hotel
Coconut Cove All Suite Hotel
#25 of 96 in Clearwater
4.5 of 5 bubbles 461 reviews
0.2 mi away
Guy Harvey Outpost, a TradeWinds Beach Resort
0.3 mi away
Grand Plaza Beachfront Resort Hotel & Conference Center
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to TradeWinds Island Grand Resort? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about TradeWinds Island Grand Resort

Property: TradeWinds Island Grand Resort
Address: 5500 Gulf Blvd., St. Pete Beach, FL 33706-2323
Phone Number:
Location: United States > Florida > St. Pete Beach
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Beach Business Center with Internet Access Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Children Activities (Kid / Family Friendly) Kitchenette Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Restaurant Room Service Shuttle Bus service Spa Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#3 Business Hotel in St. Pete Beach
#4 Top resorts Hotel in St. Pete Beach
#4 Spa Hotel in St. Pete Beach
#9 On the Beach Hotel in St. Pete Beach
#10 Romantic Hotel in St. Pete Beach
#13 Family Hotel in St. Pete Beach
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$$
Hotel Class:4 star — TradeWinds Island Grand Resort 4*
Number of rooms: 585
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
TradeWinds Island Grand spans 20 lush, tropical acres and boasts a heritage of award-winning service and certification as a Florida Green Lodge. Overlooking the tranquil waters of the Gulf of Mexico, Island Grand is located on the white sand beaches of St. Pete Beach, consistently ranked one of America's Top Beaches by TripAdvisor. Discover 201 things to do with a variety of recreation activities including JetLev flight center, The Floating Water Park, children's programs, paddleboats, tennis, stand-up paddleboards, a three story tall inflatable waterslide and more. Island Grand offers multiple dining and entertainment venues along with sand-in-your-toes beach bars. Pamper yourself with a beachfront massage at Body Works Salon & Spa. Relax on a beach cabana or lounge next to one of 5 heated pools and 2 whirlpools. Our on-site resort transportation and car rental agency makes getting to Island Grand easy and stress free. It's not just a vacation. At TradeWinds, it's a totally immersive experience. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Orbitz, Travelocity, Hotwire, Hotels.com, Expedia, getaroom.com, Evoline ltd, Cancelon, TripOnline SA, HotelsClick and HotelQuickly so you can book your TradeWinds Island Grand Resort reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Tradewinds Island Grand Beach Hotel Saint Pete Beach
Tradewinds Island Saint Pete Beach
TradeWinds Island Grand Resort St. Pete Beach, Florida

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing