We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“Excellent Stay at the Tradewinds”

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 10 more sites!
TradeWinds Island Grand Resort
Ranked #9 of 32 Hotels in St. Pete Beach
Certificate of Excellence
Redding, California
Level Contributor
15 reviews
6 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 14 helpful votes
“Excellent Stay at the Tradewinds”
Reviewed November 15, 2013

We recently stayed at the Tradewinds from Nov 1-6 2013. My husband and I were there for the Pierce Manufacturing annual sales meeting. I am sorry other people had a bad experience because our stay was FANTASTIC!!! I have learned a long time ago with traveling, if you look for the bad you will find it. So look for the GOOD and enjoy the experience!! We had flown in from LAX the day of the shootings, we were tired, frazzled and shaky. When we finally arrived around 10:00pm Friday night we were promptly greeted and taken care of. We had a group of 12!! There wasn't one staff member from housekeeping, grounds crew, coffee/bar, restaurants etc. that wasn't super friendly and eager to please. I am not exaggerating!! Also every single person I came a crossed that worked there said hello or had a pleasant exchange with me. Coming from California I am used to everyone being pretty friendly at resorts, Tradewinds went above and beyond and was our home away from home for 6 days. I wasn't expecting great treatment and was cautious and was very pleased with them. Okay, now on to the rest of the review. The hotel has been remodeled in areas and is very well kept. It is an older resort, but charming. The grounds were immaculate. Lush brick courtyards are everywhere. Our room was in the main part of the hotel #3252. We had a view of the canal and if you looked closely to the left you could see the gulf. I would recommend saving the $$ and staying in this part of the hotel. You will see the gulf every single day, it's literally right there. I preferred the quiet vs. view. Our room was small but very quiet and very clean. I loved that. Yes a little older furniture, but not at all bad. Every room has microwave, refrigerator, separate sink with glasses, etc. Also has a minibar. DO NOT TOUCH anything in that minibar unless you are buying. Everything is on a sensor and you will be immediately charged. Bathroom was spacious and the shower was amazing with great water pressure! We had two double beds and both were comfortable. I am not a great sleeper and I slept very well. And that was due to how quiet our room was tucked out of the way and comfy beds. Housekeeping was in everyday around 11:00am which was perfect. No problems there whatsoever. I am guessing that the negative review about the bathrooms was from the beach bathroom located right by the tiki bar. There is a shower/bathroom and it is used for people coming in from swimming in the gulf and rinsing off before walking back to their rooms. Yes it is a very small bathroom and it is rather smelly and run down. But there wasn't one other bathroom like that anywhere in the resort. All others in each building were very nice and very clean. Also after reading that negative review again I understand what they were saying, the Breckenridge building is toward the back, it has the view rooms. But with that comes the convention rooms downstairs, pool area and tiki bar can equal lots of noise. I am sorry they didn't enjoy their stay but I was really impressed by Tradewinds, I have stayed at many 5 star resorts and yes Tradewinds may not be the most posh I have stayed in, but I was very happy with how clean everything was and just how beautiful the grounds were. The bridges and canal with swans and ducks were pretty. There are courtyards everywhere for people to enjoy and they can get away and find a peaceful place to rest. There are 3 pools. We didn't use them because we had cabanas everyday, but I did notice kids in the adult pool and Jacuzzis. We also weren't there during the busy season. Most of the people staying there were adults without children. However, I think Tradewinds is an excellent place for families. All inclusive resort. I loved seeing the kids having fun on the beach and around the pools. Also since it was November they didn't have the splash park open, but that makes perfect sense! They did however have the giant water slide everyday. Also all you have to do is ask for towels for the pool area. And at the beach they are at the cabana booth. You have to reserve cabanas. They are free with the exception of the front row, $15 a day. It was empty when we were there and would book 3 front row cabanas and only have to pay for one. They were very gracious with us. Food at the resort is pricey but very good. Coffee shop/bar in the lobby has pastries, etc. Deli/Store in lobby has all kinds of food and sandwiches. Pizza hut/ice cream shop in the Breckenridge building. There is a Publix supermarket about 1/2 mile down from the hotel. Also cheaper eating a cross the street. Yes the resort fee of $35 is ridiculous, but what can you do? There isn't really much to do in that area but enjoy the beautiful gulf and beach. John's Pass Village Boardwalk is 5 miles away. I think I covered everything! Any questions you can email me
cbauer81@gmail.com! Enjoy!

  • Stayed November 2013, traveled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Cbauer81
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
TradeWinds-Leni, Manager at TradeWinds Island Grand Resort, responded to this review, November 21, 2013
Hello Cbauer81,
Your candor, honesty and positive outlook is a perfect example of why people rely on TripAdvisor for reliable travel recommendations. Thank you SO much for taking the time to write such an in-depth and thorough review of your experience at TradeWinds Island Resorts. We love that you put us in line with some of the best resorts that you have visited during your travels over the years. We really do try to cater to everyone's needs/wants and try our hardest to make sure that all guests have the best experience possible. Thank you for recognizing that! Please come back to see us again when you're ready for some more R&R!
Kindest Regards,
Leni
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

5,249 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    2,788
    1,264
    613
    362
    222
See reviews for
2,232
1,010
75
808
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (1,379)
Date | Rating
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Norwegian first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Any
English first
Orlando, Florida
2 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 3 helpful votes
Reviewed November 14, 2013

I'm not one for writing reviews so this is a first for me but I just had to share my amazing experience here!! My husband and I stayed at the Trade Winds Island Grand for our honeymoon over the past weekend. Upon arrival my husband mentioned to one of the workers, a tall gentleman named Dan, from housekeeping, that it was our honeymoon. After getting settled in the room, we received a knock at our door and had champagne and chocolate covered strawberries delivered. It was amazing that the employee who we spoke with went out of his way to make our stay extra special. We will definitely return again and are recommending the Island Grand for our friends wedding guest accommodations.

  • Stayed November 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Cecelia B
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
TradeWinds-Leni, Manager at TradeWinds Island Grand Resort, responded to this review, December 3, 2013
Hello TravelingTreasures,
Thank you! We are so excited to hear that we exceeded your expectations. Thank you for allowing us to be a part of your treasured honeymoon memories. Dan certainly is an amazing individual and we will be sure he is recognized for taking the time to make you feel extra special. We hope to see you for your One Year Anniversary! Congratulations to you both and best wishes for a many years of happiness.
Kind Regards,
Léni
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Atlanta, Georgia
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
Reviewed November 14, 2013

This was my family's first time to Tradewinds and boy were we ever impressed. As soon as we pulled up we we're treated like royalty. Matt at the bell stand was great. The room were perfect for a family of four, and the view was picture perfect. In fact my Facebook has lots of those pictures on it.
The kids had such a great time there between going down the huge slide, swimming in the pools and hanging out at the konk club. The konk club was great because they have a babysitting service so my wife and I could sneak off and have a nice drink together during sunset.
I want to give Dan from housekeeping a special thanks, we took his advice and went to Johnspass and had a blast. We even saw dolphins in the pass which the kids loved. So thank you Dan.
All in all the stay was perfect and we most definitely coming back!!!!

  • Stayed October 2013, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank prees11
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
TradeWinds-Leni, Manager at TradeWinds Island Grand Resort, responded to this review, November 21, 2013
Hello prees11,
To 'impress' you from the very start is certainly what we strive to do, and how wonderful to hear that we were able to do it! Thank you for sharing your photos of the resort on your Facebook account and for taking the time to write your review here. We love that the kids had a blast at the pool, the High Tide Slide, and the KONK Club (especially since you were able to have some special alone time together over sunset cocktails ;) Also, thank you for specifically recognizing Matt and Dan. We will ensure that their efforts are recognized by management. Can't wait for you guys to come back to see us!
Kind Regards,
Leni
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Yulee, Florida
Level Contributor
3 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
Reviewed November 13, 2013

From the cold reception upon arrival, even at 6:30 in the evening, to the numerous other issues on site, the experience was terrible. There were kids running around completely unattended and crowding the hot tubs with 10+ people (all of which were under 12 years old) all through the night. The bathrooms were disgusting, toilets stopped up, doors stuck to where you could barely get out. There was a dance competition going on and we were barely able to get past all of the exhibits in the Breckenridge foyer due to the large crowds. The dance competition lasted until late and the noise was not tranquil like you would expect for a beach resort. Not to mention that you really should not put guests right in the middle of a convention that they are not a part of, you should separate them if you know that an entire area is going to be engulfed with so many people participating with a convention. It was obvious that the convention did not want us in their way either.

The property did not resemble or feel like a resort in any aspect. The $35 resort fee should have included some of the other items on property like the bungee jump, etc. The splash park was a huge advertisement on the website yet it was not up on our visit, creating a huge disappointment. While using the cabanas, not one employee ever asked if there was anything we needed. Also, there were no pool towels available at any of the pools, only on the beach and this was only while they were staffed. It was not fun to get into a "heated" pool only to realize that it wasn't heated and then have no towel to dry off with.

We will not return to this property. I was actually scouting this as a possible property to host a conference, and did so on my on dime and without contacting their sales people so that I could really experience what our guests would experience. Needless to say this will not be on any list of possible venues now or in the future due to the terrible stay that we had. This was a waste of $300 on a mediocre motel stay that should have been 1/3 or less of that! Even our 11 year old was extremely disappointed and could not wait to leave.

I received a better room rate and extreme attentiveness by staff for myself and my family at the Don CeSar just down the road. For anyone looking for a resort experience and expectations, I would highly recommend Don CeSar over Tradewinds, hands down. Their staff was very attentive and the amenities were much more than what Tradewinds could ever provide.

Room Tip: Find a room at the Don CeSar instead.
See more room tips
  • Stayed November 2013, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank ALMWACY
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
JustLetGo8, Guest Relations Manager at TradeWinds Island Grand Resort, responded to this review, November 16, 2013
As the Director of Guest Satisfaction please accept our apologies for failing to meet your expectations. I have already forwarded your concerns to the appropriate department managers for further review. We were fortunate to have high occupancy during your one night visit, otherwise I’m sure your room assignment would have been in a more preferred location away from any potential disturbance of the dance group. The resort amenity fee covers just about everything except the bungee jump and the gyro sphere which the children do love, so we are taking that into consideration for next year. Splash Island water park was closed for safety reasons due to extremely low tides. This combined with inclement weather are the only two reasons for which it would be closed, obviously beyond our control. However, the High Tide slide did remain open that weekend for everyone to enjoy. There must have been some confusion as all pool towels are available at The Adventure Center, which is the central focus point for all activities, towels and any other needed items adjacent to the beach front pool. Regarding the pool temperature, four out of the five pools at the Island Grand are heated to 85 degrees. The only exception is the toddler pool with a maximum depth of one foot with the temperature being controlled by the natural sunlight. A review of all engineering hourly pool records showed no indication of any temperature variations within any of the pools. Seeing how you were on a personal sight visit, I again apologize that TradeWinds did not meet your expectations. Regardless, I have forwarded this to our sales office for further contact in hopes of answering any other questions you may have and to hopefully consider TradeWinds. Scrolling down through the recent reviews on TripAdvisor, there are several other extremely positive reviews from group guest attending their conference while here which I know given another opportunity you and your attendees could have the same experience. If I could be of any further assistance, please don’t hesitate to contact me directly.
Doug R. Director of Guest Satisfaction – TradeWinds Island Resorts
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Cardiff, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
59 reviews
17 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 40 helpful votes
Reviewed November 12, 2013

We had a fabulous time at the Island Grand again, the hotel and facilities are amazing and the food in the Palm Court Italian Grill is still to die for. The difference this year was the presence of BlueGreen a company on site and apparently partnered with the Trade Winds Hotel.
They will invite you to a 90 minute presentation and warn you that they will make you a "soft" offer to buy their holiday plan. Basically it's a time share except you buy points instead of time. It's more flexible and seems like a better scheme, I might even have seriously considered it except for the fact that it was an extremely high pressure sales pitch. The presentation dragged on for three hours during which time multiple techniques were used to try and get us to sign up. In the end we had to just get up and walk. It's a half decent product guys, but you're using the same sales techniques as the timeshare guys of the late eighties.
That said, it didn't spoil our time at the Island Grand, we had a great holiday, it's just a cautionary tale.

Room Tip: Get a high room if you can away from the air con generators.
See more room tips
  • Stayed October 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
7 Thank Wavy281
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
TradeWinds-Leni, Manager at TradeWinds Island Grand Resort, responded to this review, December 3, 2013
Hello Wavy281,
We are so happy to hear that you had another fabulous stay with us. Thank you for sharing your thoughts on Blue Green. We certainly take all feedback to heart and will be sure to pass it along to the parties involved. We hope you will come back to visit us for a third time when you are ready for your next dose of beautiful beaches, amazing accommodations and fantastic food.
Kind Regards,
Léni
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Level Contributor
3 reviews
3 hotel reviews
Reviewed November 12, 2013

Our family has been staying with this resort every year for about 30 years. Why? Because its an absolutely wonderful resort. There is so much for kids to do and so many activities. The resort itself is beautiful, the rooms are clean, and very nice and updates often. The service is exceptional, the employees are very kind and helpful and they have plenty of choices for dining at the resort. I highly recommend it to anyone! We have never once in 30 years been disappointed and the beach is beautiful! Can't beat the sunsets!

  • Stayed November 2013
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Chriser14
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
TradeWinds-Leni, Manager at TradeWinds Island Grand Resort, responded to this review, November 21, 2013
Hello Chriser14,
Thirty years of memories at the TradeWinds Island Resorts? WOW. We are so honored to be a part of your family's history and special moments. It really says a lot that you have stayed with us countless times over the years and that you have never been disappointed by our accommodations, staff, activities or restaurants. Thank you so very much for sharing your kind words.
See you in "heaven" soon!
Leni
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Winter Haven, Florida
Level Contributor
11 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 8 helpful votes
Reviewed November 12, 2013

We had a wonderful time at the TradeWinds. They have quite pools for adults and fun pools for kids. My kids had a great time and made new friends. The food was wonderful and we had the best waiter at the Bermudas restaurant. Tyler even had vegetarian meals made especially for us. The dolphin tour took us from the Tradewinds to see dolphins and then to the nature reserve, Shell Island. It was magical. Overall a wonderful experience.

Room Tip: All the rooms are nice but ask for oceanside.
See more room tips
  • Stayed November 2013, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank K S
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
TradeWinds-Leni, Manager at TradeWinds Island Grand Resort, responded to this review, November 21, 2013
Hello K S,
We are thrilled to hear you had a "wonderful experience" with us! How great that the kids were able to have a blast and make new friends while they were here. The dolphin tour to Shell Island is just one of the very cool activities that our guests enjoy - so glad you got the opportunity to experience that. Thank you for taking the time to share your review and for recognizing Tyler from Bermudas. We will be sure that his management team is notified of his job well done. Please come see us again soon when you are ready for another beach getaway!
Kind Regards,
Leni
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near St. Pete Beach
1.5 mi away
The Don CeSar
The Don CeSar
#8 of 32 in St. Pete Beach
4.0 of 5 bubbles 3,470 reviews
0.6 mi away
Dolphin Beach Resort
Dolphin Beach Resort
#21 of 32 in St. Pete Beach
3.5 of 5 bubbles 949 reviews
0.2 mi away
Sirata Beach Resort
Sirata Beach Resort
#14 of 32 in St. Pete Beach
4.0 of 5 bubbles 3,936 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
17.1 mi away
Coconut Cove All Suite Hotel
Coconut Cove All Suite Hotel
#24 of 96 in Clearwater
4.5 of 5 bubbles 461 reviews
0.2 mi away
Guy Harvey Outpost, a TradeWinds Beach Resort
0.3 mi away
Grand Plaza Beachfront Resort Hotel & Conference Center
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to TradeWinds Island Grand Resort? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about TradeWinds Island Grand Resort

Property: TradeWinds Island Grand Resort
Address: 5500 Gulf Blvd., St. Pete Beach, FL 33706-2323
Phone Number:
Location: United States > Florida > St. Pete Beach
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Beach Business Center with Internet Access Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Children Activities (Kid / Family Friendly) Kitchenette Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Restaurant Room Service Shuttle Bus service Spa Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#3 Business Hotel in St. Pete Beach
#3 Top resorts Hotel in St. Pete Beach
#4 Spa Hotel in St. Pete Beach
#7 On the Beach Hotel in St. Pete Beach
#10 Romantic Hotel in St. Pete Beach
#13 Family Hotel in St. Pete Beach
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$$
Hotel Class:4 star — TradeWinds Island Grand Resort 4*
Number of rooms: 585
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
TradeWinds Island Grand spans 20 lush, tropical acres and boasts a heritage of award-winning service and certification as a Florida Green Lodge. Overlooking the tranquil waters of the Gulf of Mexico, Island Grand is located on the white sand beaches of St. Pete Beach, consistently ranked one of America's Top Beaches by TripAdvisor. Discover 201 things to do with a variety of recreation activities including JetLev flight center, The Floating Water Park, children's programs, paddleboats, tennis, stand-up paddleboards, a three story tall inflatable waterslide and more. Island Grand offers multiple dining and entertainment venues along with sand-in-your-toes beach bars. Pamper yourself with a beachfront massage at Body Works Salon & Spa. Relax on a beach cabana or lounge next to one of 5 heated pools and 2 whirlpools. Our on-site resort transportation and car rental agency makes getting to Island Grand easy and stress free. It's not just a vacation. At TradeWinds, it's a totally immersive experience. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Orbitz, Travelocity, Hotwire, Hotels.com, Expedia, Cancelon, Evoline ltd, getaroom.com, TripOnline SA, HotelQuickly and HotelsClick so you can book your TradeWinds Island Grand Resort reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Tradewinds Island Grand Beach Hotel Saint Pete Beach
Tradewinds Island Saint Pete Beach
TradeWinds Island Grand Resort St. Pete Beach, Florida

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing