We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“Didn't want to leave!!” 4 of 5 bubbles
Review of TradeWinds Island Grand Resort

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 3 more sites!
TradeWinds Island Grand Resort
Ranked #11 of 32 Hotels in St. Pete Beach
Certificate of Excellence
Clermont, Florida
Level Contributor
38 reviews
10 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 23 helpful votes
“Didn't want to leave!!”
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed October 20, 2013

My husband and I stayed at the TradeWinds Resort this past weekend for a wedding. We had a fun time. Didn't have a lot of time to do everything. We were only there for two nights, but we definitely want to go back again to experience it for at least a week next time. They have 11 restaurants on their property an a ton of activities. You really do not need to leave the property. It's like being on a cruise on land. Will definitely return.

  • Stayed October 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
3 Thank JSUTiger98
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

5,104 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    2,704
    1,227
    601
    354
    218
See reviews for
2,145
988
74
793
Rating summary
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Sleep Quality
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Rooms
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Service
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Value
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Cleanliness
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (1,343)
Date | Rating
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Norwegian first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Any
English first
Nokesville, Virginia
Level Contributor
3 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 4 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed October 20, 2013

We have been to Tradewinds before so it was a no brainer for us. We arrived and were greeted with smiles and welcome back to Tradewinds! We feel like part of the Tradewinds Family. From the cleaning crew to the Beach Management Staff -- all are friendly and want to ensure your trip is the best it can be. The rooms are very clean which is very important to us. We had a direct view of the Gulf Of Mexico from our room. Sunsets are the best in the world. We were even treated with a fireworks show, of course I claimed it was in celebration of our anniversary. The Palm Court Italian Grill (located right on the resort) was FANTASTIC. We also enjoyed watching the Sunday Night football games at Beef O'Brady's, again, FANTASTIC food and very friendly wait staff. We recommend the Dolphin tour, we took the 2 hour afternoon tour but they also have a 4 hour morning tour, we did see dolphins, a manatee, obtained lots of beautiful shells from Shell Island and learned some things we didn't know about St. Pete from CAPT Dave and his 2nd in command, Ian. They were so much fun and allow you to bring your own drinks on board OR you can purchase water and soda for $1.00!! Very reasonable! We had such a great time, we have already booked a return trip. Don't forget to wave to your family and friends from the Beach Camera!! 5 stars aren't a high enough rating in our minds.

  • Stayed October 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
3 Thank bince3
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Portsmouth, Rhode Island
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed October 18, 2013

The location is stunning. Right on the beach. The rooms are comfortable and inviting. The staff is incredible. We had the most lovely vacation and the staff made it so much better. Adrienne, Elaine and Jonathon at Salty's were fun and gave the best service anyone could ask for. Ban makes the most incredible margarita - ever! Can't wait to get back!!!

  • Stayed August 2013, traveled with friends
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
1 Thank kellyvanicek
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Groveport, Ohio, United States
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed October 17, 2013

Our company hosts our annual sales meeting here and it is a big hit with everyone. The staff is super friendly and attentive to our needs. The location couldn't be better with the beach right out the back door. I don't always look forward to meetings; but I definately look forward to coming to the Tradewinds resort every year!

  • Stayed October 2013, traveled on business
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Bob-Sandy K
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Dublin, Ireland
Level Contributor
9 reviews
9 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 8 helpful votes
3 of 5 bubbles Reviewed October 16, 2013

Stayed here for 8 nights in July-13. The hotel is in an excellent beach location. The facilities are great for kids particularly the waterpark, large slide, paddle boats and mini golf. The beach was beautiful and you could book cabanas online.The rooms were small and dark but they were very clean. The pools are very dated and unable to accomodate large crowds. The reception area is nice and spacious but the rest of the complex needs a significant capital investment. Difficult to find parking on a number of nights. We requested rooms next to each other but despite reception advising us our rooms were next to each other when we got to the rooms they were not. Overall, we were disappointed with this hotel and it certainly didn't offer value for money.

  • Stayed July 2013, traveled with family
    • 1 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 2 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank Dublin18_72
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
JustLetGo8, Guest Relations Manager at TradeWinds Island Grand Resort, responded to this review, October 22, 2013
As the Director of Guest Satisfaction, please accept my apology for the TradeWinds not meeting your expectations. After further review, I see that you had booked two standard hotel rooms with us. These are the smallest of our inventory which of course reflects the lowest rate. Your reservation did have a request to be close to each other, as this particular room type does not connect to one another. With a total of 585 guest rooms at the Island Grand, honoring a special request is difficult at best, given that it is based on availability in consideration of the high occupancy that we are fortunate to have. We accommodated your request with both rooms being on the same floor, same area with just two suites separating the two.
I appreciate your comments regarding the beach location and facilities that the kids enjoyed while here. I hope that next year you will give us some consideration when returning to the St. Pete Beach area and if i could assist you with your reservation in any way, please let me know.
Doug Rogers
drogers@twresort.com
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Pleasant Hill, Ohio
1 review
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed October 15, 2013

Overall our trip was wonderful. The cleanliness of our room was our only concern. Our room reservation was messed up a little bit upon arrival, but SUZIE at the front desk helped us out and that all worked out great. When we got to our room, we couldn't open the balcony door because it was stuck and ended up breaking the handle off and had to have it repaired. There was a slight odor in our room, which we never totally figure out what it was. The most concerning thing for me is that we found hair, from someone else, in our bathtub that stayed there the entire visit, never was cleaned out and there was hair and quite a bit of dirt behind the bathroom door that again stayed there during our entire visit. We did request for our bed sheets to be changed and that didn't happen. Everything else our trip was completely wonderful but knowing that you are striving for perfection, thought I should share that this part of the trip was less than wonderful for us. Thank you, Nicole McFadden

Room Tip: If you want an ocean front view, be sure to ask for one with a balcony. Ours did not have a balcony...
See more room tips
  • Stayed October 2013, traveled on business
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 2 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank Nicole M
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
New Smyrna Beach, Florida
Level Contributor
8 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed October 14, 2013

This resort is like a cruise ship. If you enjoy cruising, look no further, if you're staying on land. There is so much to do, many restaurants, activities, that you won't get bored. If you want to sit back, relax, and just read, you can do that, too. Can't wait to get back to the TradeWinds Resort.

  • Stayed October 2013
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank LuLu F
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near St. Pete Beach
1.5 mi away
The Don CeSar
The Don CeSar
#8 of 32 in St. Pete Beach
4.0 of 5 bubbles 3,307 reviews
0.2 mi away
Sirata Beach Resort
Sirata Beach Resort
#16 of 32 in St. Pete Beach
4.0 of 5 bubbles 3,725 reviews
17.1 mi away
Coconut Cove All Suite Hotel
Coconut Cove All Suite Hotel
#22 of 95 in Clearwater
4.5 of 5 bubbles 448 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.2 mi away
Guy Harvey Outpost, a TradeWinds Beach Resort
0.3 mi away
Grand Plaza Beachfront Resort Hotel & Conference Center
1.0 mi away
Beach House Suites by The Don CeSar
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to TradeWinds Island Grand Resort? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about TradeWinds Island Grand Resort

Property: TradeWinds Island Grand Resort
Address: 5500 Gulf Blvd., St. Pete Beach, FL 33706
Phone Number:
Location: United States > Florida > St. Pete Beach
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Beach Business Center with Internet Access Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Children Activities (Kid / Family Friendly) Kitchenette Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Restaurant Room Service Shuttle Bus service Spa Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#3 Top resorts Hotel in St. Pete Beach
#3 Business Hotel in St. Pete Beach
#4 Spa Hotel in St. Pete Beach
#9 On the Beach Hotel in St. Pete Beach
#10 Romantic Hotel in St. Pete Beach
#13 Family Hotel in St. Pete Beach
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$$
Hotel Class:4 star — TradeWinds Island Grand Resort 4*
Number of rooms: 585
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
TradeWinds Island Grand spans 20 lush, tropical acres and boasts a heritage of award-winning service and certification as a Florida Green Lodge. Overlooking the tranquil waters of the Gulf of Mexico, Island Grand is located on the white sand beaches of St. Pete Beach, consistently ranked one of America's Top Beaches by TripAdvisor. Discover 201 things to do with a variety of recreation activities including JetLev flight center, The Floating Water Park, children's programs, paddleboats, tennis, stand-up paddleboards, a three story tall inflatable waterslide and more. Island Grand offers multiple dining and entertainment venues along with sand-in-your-toes beach bars. Pamper yourself with a beachfront massage at Body Works Salon & Spa. Relax on a beach cabana or lounge next to one of 5 heated pools and 2 whirlpools. Our on-site resort transportation and car rental agency makes getting to Island Grand easy and stress free. It's not just a vacation. At TradeWinds, it's a totally immersive experience. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Expedia, Hotels.com, Travelocity and Jetsetter so you can book your TradeWinds Island Grand Resort reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Tradewinds Island Grand Beach Hotel Saint Pete Beach
Tradewinds Island Saint Pete Beach
TradeWinds Island Grand Resort St. Pete Beach, Florida

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing