We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Looking very old fashioned now” 3 of 5 stars
Review of TradeWinds Island Grand Beach Resort

Best prices for -
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 8 more sites!
TradeWinds Island Grand Beach Resort
Ranked #10 of 32 Hotels in St. Pete Beach
Certificate of Excellence
London, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
4 reviews
4 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 23 helpful votes
“Looking very old fashioned now”
3 of 5 stars Reviewed August 31, 2013

We spent a few days here as a break from the manic parks of Orlando. I will be very brief. The beach is magnificent, there is plenty to do, the pools are great and the entertainment is fine.

However, the rooms are like cells. We paid the best part of $200 a night in a room with no space, a bathroom so small the sink was in a separate part, the shower literally dribbled out and for the amount charged i am sure we could have got better value for our money.

The hotel is dated frankly. And I doubt very much we will return.

Room Tip: Spend real money to get a suite! Or you will end up in a cell.
See more room tips
  • Stayed August 2013, traveled with family
    • 2 of 5 stars
      Value
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Location
    • 3 of 5 stars
      Sleep Quality
    • 2 of 5 stars
      Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Service
Helpful?
Thank Dan R
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

4,758 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    2,527
    1,136
    558
    336
    201
See reviews for
1,969
915
67
736
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (1,251)
Date | Rating
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Norwegian first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Any
English first
2 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 3 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed August 30, 2013

1- Zach Caruso is the entertainment @ Salty's today and he is rocking the place in spite of a rainy start.
2- The bartenders (Elaine, Adrienne, Jenn, Ban, & David) are top shelf. Excellent service, perfect location. Think you're down in the Islands. :-)
Love this place can't wait to come back!

  • Stayed September 2012
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Value
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Location
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Service
Helpful?
2 Thank Gjcaruso
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
1 review
5 of 5 stars Reviewed August 30, 2013

Thank you Salty's! Adrienne, Elaine were the best bartenders ever! Be sure to ask for Mary C. at the front desk when you're checking in - She's AWESOME! We listed to some great music at the hut. Phillip from security was very helpful!

  • Stayed August 2013
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Value
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Location
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Service
Helpful?
Thank Annievassallo
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hamilton, Canada
Level Contributor
91 reviews
26 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 67 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed August 29, 2013

Our family enjoyed the pools, the inflatable waterslide and the cabana chairs on the beachfront. There are many opportunities to view wildlife. In a courtyard pond we saw frogs and fish, the paddleboats cruise along with swans, ducks and fish and of course the ocean gave us some peaks of dolphin and rays. It was a wonderful experience.

We found the staff to be very accommodating with every hiccup we encountered and anything that wasn't right was made right quickly. For example, we had been hopeful to use the water equipment (trampoline, etc.) but both full days we were there the equipment was not put out due to shallow water or pending weather issues. We were refunded and the kids were able to adjust to the disappointment. The grounds are well kept and very beautiful.

Room Tip: We stayed in a penthouse suite (7th floor in main building) and had a view of both the ocean and the...
See more room tips
  • Stayed August 2013, traveled with family
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Value
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Location
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Service
Helpful?
Thank blessedt0travel
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Katie M, Manager at TradeWinds Island Grand Beach Resort, responded to this review, September 10, 2013
Happy to hear you enjoyed your stay with us! We hope to see you again soon.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Tampa, Florida
Level Contributor
4 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed August 29, 2013

We love this place! We have stayed here several times and will continue to stay here when we take our "staycations". There is everything for everybody here. The kids love the activities and attractions while we adults love the atmosphere of the tiki huts, the beach cabanas and the beach itself. The food is spectacular with something for everyone. Simply WONDERFUL!!!

Room Tip: There really isn't a bad room in the place. Depending on your preference, the ocean front is al...
See more room tips
  • Stayed August 2013, traveled with family
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Value
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Location
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Service
Helpful?
1 Thank John M
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Katie M, Manager at TradeWinds Island Grand Beach Resort, responded to this review, September 10, 2013
John, thank you for continually choosing us as your staycation destination! See you again soon!
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Long Island, NY
Level Contributor
10 reviews
5 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 12 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed August 29, 2013

We had vacationed at the Island Grand 7yrs ago with our family of five. To this day it is still one of the best vacations we have had. Fast forward 7yrs, and now with 3 teenagers in tow (dropping one of at the University of Tampa), we were hoping to be able to recapture some of the vacation magic we had experienced prior. The Island Grand did not disappoint! While exactly as we remembered, it has been maintained and updated throughout. Gulf front suite, restaurants, and bars were all top notch. Each and every employee went out of their way to smile, say hello, and to see if we needed anything.

I would recommend the Palm Court as a must have dinner. Bermuda's for breakfast was equally impressive. For afternoon cocktails it was straight to the Tiki Bar before dinner. The addition of the Guy Harvey resort just a short walk down the beach offered us even more dining and cocktail options. Definitely stop by for a lunch and a drink at the "Sandbar".

The beach has remained huge and clean with the included beach cabana a nice touch! The newer version of the giant beach slide we remembered with 3 young children was an even bigger hit with our 3 teenagers.

With a built in excuse to visit our son at college, we will becoming Island Grand regulars!

  • Stayed August 2013, traveled with family
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Value
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Location
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Service
Helpful?
2 Thank X2relax
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Katie M, Manager at TradeWinds Island Grand Beach Resort, responded to this review, September 10, 2013
Wow! So glad you were able to return to us after 7 years! And we're happy to hear you and your family enjoyed your stay with us. We'll be seeing you!
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Palmetto, Florida
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
5 of 5 stars Reviewed August 29, 2013

We recently returned to the TradeWinds after a long hiatus and found a refreshed appearance, atmosphere and attitude.
The Beach, as always, was World class and the beach facilities were 1st class.
The Hotel is a large complex with activity areas for both families and adults . Food choices are varied and the service throughout was great.
We were there for a business conference and the Hotel did a good job of arranging our meeting space and conference rooms so everything was convenient.
We were impressed enough to purchase a return trip, we want to return when we have more free time to enjoy all the TradeWinds has to offer.

  • Stayed August 2013, traveled on business
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Value
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Location
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Leo M
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Katie M, Manager at TradeWinds Island Grand Beach Resort, responded to this review, September 10, 2013
Leo, so glad you decided to come visit us again after such a long time! Glad you enjoyed your time with us. See you next time!
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near St. Pete Beach
1.5 mi away
Loews Don CeSar Hotel
Loews Don CeSar Hotel
#6 of 32 in St. Pete Beach
4.0 of 5 stars 2,854 reviews
18.2 mi away
Sandpearl Resort
Sandpearl Resort
#4 of 96 in Clearwater
4.5 of 5 stars 2,020 reviews
0.2 mi away
Sirata Beach Resort
Sirata Beach Resort
#16 of 32 in St. Pete Beach
4.0 of 5 stars 3,366 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
17.1 mi away
Coconut Cove All Suite Hotel
Coconut Cove All Suite Hotel
#19 of 96 in Clearwater
4.5 of 5 stars 384 reviews
0.2 mi away
Guy Harvey Outpost, a TradeWinds Beach Resort
0.7 mi away
Plaza Beach Hotel - Beachfront Resort
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to TradeWinds Island Grand Beach Resort? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about TradeWinds Island Grand Beach Resort

Property: TradeWinds Island Grand Beach Resort
Address: 5500 Gulf Blvd., St. Pete Beach, FL 33706
Phone Number:
Location: United States > Florida > St. Pete Beach
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Beach Business Center with Internet Access Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Children Activities (Kid / Family Friendly) Kitchenette Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Restaurant Room Service Shuttle Bus service Spa Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#3 Top resorts Hotel in St. Pete Beach
#3 Business Hotel in St. Pete Beach
#9 On the Beach Hotel in St. Pete Beach
#10 Romantic Hotel in St. Pete Beach
#13 Family Hotel in St. Pete Beach
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$$
Hotel Class:4 star — TradeWinds Island Grand Beach Resort 4*
Number of rooms: 585
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
TradeWinds Island Grand spans 20 lush, tropical acres and boasts a heritage of award-winning service and certification as a Florida Green Lodge. Overlooking the tranquil waters of the Gulf of Mexico, Island Grand is located on the white sand beaches of St. Pete Beach, consistently ranked one of America's Top Beaches by TripAdvisor. Discover 201 things to do with a variety of recreation activities including JetLev flight center, The Floating Water Park, children's programs, paddleboats, tennis, stand-up paddleboards, a three story tall inflatable waterslide and more. Island Grand offers multiple dining and entertainment venues along with sand-in-your-toes beach bars. Pamper yourself with a beachfront massage at Body Works Salon & Spa. Relax on a beach cabana or lounge next to one of 5 heated pools and 2 whirlpools. Our on-site resort transportation and car rental agency makes getting to Island Grand easy and stress free. It's not just a vacation. At TradeWinds, it's a totally immersive experience. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Expedia, Booking.com, TripOnline SA, Hotwire, BookIt.com, Orbitz, Travelocity, Odigeo, Hotels.com and Jetsetter so you can book your TradeWinds Island Grand Beach Resort reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Tradewinds Island Grand Beach Hotel Saint Pete Beach
Tradewinds Island Saint Pete Beach
TradeWinds Island Grand Beach Resort St. Pete Beach, Florida

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing