We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Great stay for work seminar.”

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 11 more sites!
TradeWinds Island Grand Resort
Ranked #10 of 32 Hotels in St. Pete Beach
Certificate of Excellence
Billings, Montana
2 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
“Great stay for work seminar.”
Reviewed June 14, 2013

The TradeWinds Island Grand Beach Resort was hosting a work seminar that I was attending. The facilities for the training were exceptional. The staff was very professional and the meals were excellent.

As for the stay, the great experience started with a friendly and enjoyable conversation with the gate guard. The check-in process went well, and the rooms were great. I had a beach view and really enjoyed it. Room service was great and the housekeeping staff was very good.

There was an unbelievable amount of things that you could do at this one location including beach access, pools, paddle boats around the riverwalk, bars and restaurants onsite, and located in a great area on St. Pete’s Beach to access a lot of the local flair.

I would stay here again if I was ever in the area for business or personal travel.

Room Tip: Beach view rooms were exceptional.
See more room tips
  • Stayed June 2013, traveled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Dan H
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Katie M, Manager at TradeWinds Island Grand Resort, responded to this review, June 17, 2013
Happy to hear you enjoyed your stay with us! Hope to see you again soon for a leisure trip!
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

5,362 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    2,845
    1,294
    628
    371
    224
See reviews for
2,299
1,029
76
821
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (1,417)
Date | Rating
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Norwegian first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Any
English first
Parrish, Florida
2 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
Reviewed June 14, 2013

Had a mini family reunion with 7 rooms for a long weekend. Everyone had a great time and thoroughly enjoyed the TradeWinds. Service at Beef O'Brady's was fast even with a large crowd. Room was spacious for two adults and two kids. Would definitely stay again!

  • Stayed June 2013, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Patty M
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Bristow, Virginia, United States
Level 5 Contributor
82 reviews
14 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 37 helpful votes
Reviewed June 13, 2013

Pros: This place is right on the beach, family-friendly, the rooms and outdoor areas are clean and well-maintained. There's many food options on-site and the bar staff is very friendly.

Cons: The front desk staff. I was there for a conference and got a room with a view of the roof. I wouldn't have cared, but my mom came with me for vacation and wanted to upgrade. I was told I could upgrade to an ocean view room for $30 only to find out two of my colleagues there for the same conference were given the ocean view rooms for free.

As I decided whether to upgrade, I asked front desk if it was a full ocean view room or just partial and was told, rudely: "It's a full ocean view. We're not trying to lie to you."

When I approached the front desk about the whole thing, the manager kept interrupting me and when I finally admitted defeat, she continued to talk to me in what I felt was a condescending tone, although I asked her to stop. I just didn't feel any respect from the front desk staff.

Overall - my experience was fine, but the front desk staff left a bad impression.

  • Stayed June 2013, traveled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank Rachel J
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
cathedral city
Level 3 Contributor
12 reviews
6 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 8 helpful votes
Reviewed June 12, 2013

Think twice before booking a visit at this hotel. While the beach is beautiful, the hotel and service are less than optimal. The elevators did not work to reach our 4th floor suite. The suite itself was expensive, but the accomodations poor. For instance, the suite was really two adjoining rooms of which the doors opened up into each other, that is, you could not enter or exit at the same time. The balcony was about two feet wide so that you had to sit sideways to sit upon it. The beds were not comfortable, and the second room beds actually were so old that you rolled into the center of the bed.The furniture was dated and worn. On our second night the fire alarm went off not just once but 3 times requiring evacuation of the building in the rain. Turns out the fire alarm was not operating correctly due to the rain! There was no discount for our inconvenience, no apology. The restaurant waitress was rude and slow. The only thing nice about the hotel was the beach.

  • Stayed June 2013, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
4 Thank desertsue
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Atlanta, Georgia
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 5 helpful votes
Reviewed June 11, 2013

Do NOT let anything you value out of your sight!!! Me and my family were here for a wedding. Everything was going good until we realized we were missing a credit card and had been used at a few local stores. $600+. Not only that... cash had been stolen out of my Aunt's room.. A maid entered our room the day of my Aunt's wedding and when asked to leave 5+ times, she would not leave. Must have been a cover up while they STOLE out of our rooms. I would not recommend staying here unless you want your valuables STOLEN!!!! We had a good time other than this but definitely would not return.

Stayed June 2013, traveled with family
Helpful?
5 Thank J S
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Orlando, Florida
Level 4 Contributor
37 reviews
23 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 17 helpful votes
Reviewed June 11, 2013

We were in a parlor room in a tower. The room itself was nicely updated. The a/c did not cool great and it appeared that there was no a/c in the hallways & elevators. The elevators were slow, but worked in our building (in other buildings they were out of order).

Because of some changes in plans I had to leave separately from the rest of my party so we needed 2 cars. I called (told them when I was checking in) and was told that it would be $20 per night, but it would not be a problem. When we arrived, the guard told me there was not parking for me to have the 2nd car & I'd have to park 6-8 blocks away in public parking. Luckily the young lady at check in took care of it (she was very nice). During the day I saw quite a few people clearly parked in the lot to use the beach so I'm very glad, as a paying guest, I was finally able to park on site.

The beach & cabanas are nice. I reserved cabana 179 the night before & received a confirmation. After walking to the end with a toddler, I found that 179 did not exist (highest was 176). Luckily a nice employee helped and got us another cabana.

The property was very spread out and facilities really seemed to show age.

There is also a big push for time share sales.

For the prices they charge and the conditions of the facilities, etc. we will stay elsewhere next trip.

  • Stayed June 2013, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
3 Thank MAB927
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
Reviewed June 11, 2013

My wife and I just spent 3 nites. The resort far exceeded our expectations. Magnificent beach! Wonderful bars and restaurants. Staff was awesome--friendly and always on their A-game. My wife even left her expensive new bathing suit in a drawer after we checked out. We called after we got home, and they said they had it and were shipping it to us.

  • Stayed June 2013
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank 1after9oh9
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Katie M, Manager at TradeWinds Island Grand Resort, responded to this review, June 17, 2013
Thank you for your review! We're glad you enjoyed your stay with us and happy you're bathing suit got back to you. Hope to see you again soon!
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near St. Pete Beach
1.5 mi away
The Don CeSar
The Don CeSar
#7 of 32 in St. Pete Beach
3,577 reviews
18.2 mi away
Sandpearl Resort
Sandpearl Resort
#8 of 98 in Clearwater
2,370 reviews
0.2 mi away
Sirata Beach Resort
Sirata Beach Resort
#14 of 32 in St. Pete Beach
4,113 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.2 mi away
Guy Harvey Outpost, a TradeWinds Beach Resort
0.3 mi away
Grand Plaza Beachfront Resort Hotel & Conference Center
1.0 mi away
Beach House Suites by The Don CeSar
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to TradeWinds Island Grand Resort? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about TradeWinds Island Grand Resort

Property: TradeWinds Island Grand Resort
Address: 5500 Gulf Blvd., St. Pete Beach, FL 33706-2323
Phone Number:
Location: United States > Florida > St. Pete Beach
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Beach Business Center with Internet Access Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Children Activities (Kid / Family Friendly) Kitchenette Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Restaurant Room Service Shuttle Bus service Spa Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#3 Business Hotel in St. Pete Beach
#4 Spa Hotel in St. Pete Beach
#4 Top resorts Hotel in St. Pete Beach
#8 On the Beach Hotel in St. Pete Beach
#10 Romantic Hotel in St. Pete Beach
#13 Family Hotel in St. Pete Beach
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$$
Hotel Class:4 star — TradeWinds Island Grand Resort 4*
Number of rooms: 585
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
TradeWinds Island Grand spans 20 lush, tropical acres and boasts a heritage of award-winning service and certification as a Florida Green Lodge. Overlooking the tranquil waters of the Gulf of Mexico, Island Grand is located on the white sand beaches of St. Pete Beach, consistently ranked one of America's Top Beaches by TripAdvisor. Discover 201 things to do with a variety of recreation activities including JetLev flight center, The Floating Water Park, children's programs, paddleboats, tennis, stand-up paddleboards, a three story tall inflatable waterslide and more. Island Grand offers multiple dining and entertainment venues along with sand-in-your-toes beach bars. Pamper yourself with a beachfront massage at Body Works Salon & Spa. Relax on a beach cabana or lounge next to one of 5 heated pools and 2 whirlpools. Our on-site resort transportation and car rental agency makes getting to Island Grand easy and stress free. It's not just a vacation. At TradeWinds, it's a totally immersive experience. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Expedia, Booking.com, Orbitz, Hotels.com, Priceline, TravelUp, Travelocity, Hotwire, TripOnline SA, Cancelon, HotelQuickly, getaroom.com and Evoline ltd so you can book your TradeWinds Island Grand Resort reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Tradewinds Island Grand Beach Hotel Saint Pete Beach
Tradewinds Island Saint Pete Beach
TradeWinds Island Grand Resort St. Pete Beach, Florida

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing