We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Fantastic Place”

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 9 more sites!
TradeWinds Island Grand Resort
Ranked #10 of 32 Hotels in St. Pete Beach
Certificate of Excellence
Reviewed April 18, 2013

This was one of the best resourts that we ever stayed in. Tradewinds was certainly fun with many things to do for the whole family. People are very friendly, curtious and very pleaseant. The rooms are very clean and nicely furnished and the food was excellent. I would strongly recommend Tradewinds for anyone but especially people with kids and teenagers. We had a great time this April and we hope to be back soon.

  • Stayed: April 2013, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Hany S
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Katie M, Manager at TradeWinds Island Grand Resort, responded to this reviewResponded May 3, 2013

Thank you for your review and we're glad you enjoyed your stay with us! See you next time!

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a ReviewReviews (5,612)
Traveler rating
Traveler type
Time of year
Language
  • More languages

3,325 - 3,331 of 5,614 reviews

Reviewed April 18, 2013

During our first morning, while we were walking through Hotel’s areas, my wife and I felt that this is a very good place to bring our daughters and spent a family vacation time… but at the end of our stayed we felt that we want to bring our parents too.

  • Stayed: April 2013, traveled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Jcaribes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed April 18, 2013

Jason did a great job helping us with our trip. This was a lovely place to stay with lots of friendly people!! Would definitely recommend this facility to others and hope to return. Please keep the happy hour-- it was great

  • Stayed: April 2013, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Karen M
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed April 18, 2013

Had a great stay. I was will taken care of by staff for our conference. The food was excellent on the property. It was nice to have many activities to do if you have a family which was included in the resort fee. I liked the turn down service at night. Thank yoy and I will be back.

  • Stayed: March 2013
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank bettnurse
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed April 17, 2013

I was completely unimpressed with this property. When I read how much money they put into the remodel, I expected to see a nicer, newer looking property, and at best, I expected it to be clean. I was wrong! First, we checked into our room and it smelled a bit musty. The front door did not shut all the way and let all of the humid air into the room. We had to keep the air on 68 just to stay moderately cool. When we entered our room, there was overflowing garbage from the previous guests in our kitchen. There was hair in the bed and the carpet was not vacuumed. Housekeeping was AWFUL! They did not take our dirty towels off the floor and never replaced our toilet paper. I had to call and ask for toilet paper numerous times. They never vacuumed the floor and re-folded dirty towels in the kitchen area. Our room started smelling like a skunk and it was almost intolerable.

The beach cabanas were nice, but good luck figuring out how to reserve them. We had a large party and several of us asked a few different employees how and what time they could be reserved and we received 5 different responses. The concierge told me to wake up at 4am and reserve it to be sure to get it, when in reality, we were able to reserve them at 5pm on the previous day for the following day. The staff just seemed uninformed and inconsistent in general.

Overall, I felt as if the website shows and speaks of a lot of things that are not really present. I would not stay here again, definitely not worth the money!

  • Stayed: April 2013, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
4  Thank sara1327
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
JustLetGo8, Guest Relations Manager at TradeWinds Island Grand Resort, responded to this reviewResponded April 22, 2013

As Director of Guest Satisfaction please accept my apologies for the condition in which you found your room upon arrival. This has been forwarded to our Executive Housekeeper for further review to determine the actual status of the room that day and to provide proper training for our housekeeping employees. Your visit was during the rush of Spring Break and Easter and in preparation of such, we had many new employees just starting for the season. Regardless, the standards of our culture that we strive so hard to maintain were obviously not met during you stay with us.
Thank you for your comments. In order to continuously improve, we need to know when we do not exceed the expectations and needs of our guest. I hope that you will not let this one instance prevent you from staying at the TradeWinds on your next trip to St. Pete Beach. We welcome the opportunity to leave you with a much better impression. Please feel free to contact me if I can be of any further assistance in the future.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed April 17, 2013

Get a sandwich from Josephine at the lobby deli...get food and drinks from Frank and Jenna at the Flying Bridge...get drinks from Elaine and Adrianne and David at the Tiki Hut ( the Tiki Hut was Elaine's idea!!)...kids pool, adult pool, great place, we come here from Chicago 4 times a year, we love it!!!

  • Stayed: April 2013
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
2  Thank Jtj006
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed April 17, 2013

We have 7 people staying in a gulf front studio, sounded like a nightmare, but it has been fine, don't feel crowded at all! Basically the only time we're all in here together is to sleep. Rooms are very spacious. We have kids and adults of all ages and everyone has had a blast! Huge water slide has been a big hit, as was karaoke night! We've made lots of new friends! We mostly eat in the room, so can't say much about the food. Love having some shade on the beach in the awesome cabanas! Kids enjoyed the dive in movie last night. There's been lots of events going on and even a wedding, but this place is so big, it has never seemed crowded. Staff is awesome. Definitely will be back!!

  • Stayed: April 2013, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank skinnibones1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these St. Pete Beach hotels
1.5 mi away
The Don CeSar
The Don CeSar
#6 of 32 in St. Pete Beach
3,993 reviews
0.3 mi away
Postcard Inn on the Beach
Postcard Inn on the Beach
#18 of 32 in St. Pete Beach
619 reviews
0.2 mi away
Guy Harvey Outpost, a TradeWinds Beach Resort
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.2 mi away
Sirata Beach Resort
Sirata Beach Resort
#12 of 32 in St. Pete Beach
4,397 reviews
0.3 mi away
Grand Plaza Beachfront Resort Hotel & Conference Center
0.7 mi away
Plaza Beach Hotel - Beachfront Resort
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to TradeWinds Island Grand Resort? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about TradeWinds Island Grand Resort

Address: 5500 Gulf Blvd., St. Pete Beach, FL 33706-2323
Phone Number:
Location: United States > Florida > St. Pete Beach
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Beach Business Center with Internet Access Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Children Activities (Kid / Family Friendly) Kitchenette Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Restaurant Room Service Shuttle Bus service Spa Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#3 Business Hotel in St. Pete Beach
#4 Spa Hotel in St. Pete Beach
#5 Top resorts Hotel in St. Pete Beach
#9 On the Beach Hotel in St. Pete Beach
#10 Romantic Hotel in St. Pete Beach
#12 Family Hotel in St. Pete Beach
Price Range: $285 - $479 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:4 star — TradeWinds Island Grand Resort 4*
Number of rooms: 585
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
TradeWinds Island Grand spans 20 lush, tropical acres and boasts a heritage of award-winning service and certification as a Florida Green Lodge. Overlooking the tranquil waters of the Gulf of Mexico, Island Grand is located on the white sand beaches of St. Pete Beach, consistently ranked one of America's Top Beaches by TripAdvisor. Discover 201 things to do with a variety of recreation activities including JetLev flight center, The Floating Water Park, children's programs, paddleboats, tennis, stand-up paddleboards, a three story tall inflatable waterslide and more. Island Grand offers multiple dining and entertainment venues along with sand-in-your-toes beach bars. Pamper yourself with a beachfront massage at Body Works Salon & Spa. Relax on a beach cabana or lounge next to one of 5 heated pools and 2 whirlpools. Our on-site resort transportation and car rental agency makes getting to Island Grand easy and stress free. It's not just a vacation. At TradeWinds, it's a totally immersive experience. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Travelocity, Expedia, Hotels.com, Orbitz, Hotwire, Priceline, getaroom.com, Evoline ltd, TripOnline SA and Cancelon so you can book your TradeWinds Island Grand Resort reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Tradewinds Island Grand Beach Hotel Saint Pete Beach
Tradewinds Island Saint Pete Beach
TradeWinds Island Grand Resort St. Pete Beach, Florida

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing