We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Great hotel for families!”

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 10 more sites!
TradeWinds Island Grand Resort
Ranked #10 of 32 Hotels in St. Pete Beach
Certificate of Excellence
Reviewed March 28, 2013

the hotel was fantastic! the staff (especially Lynne at the Coffee stand in the lobby and John R. the Valet) was extremely helpful and the KONK program was all it promised to be. Our 4 and 11 year olds are usually hard to entertain at the same time but the activities were age appropriate and helped us keep them fully entertained during our stay. we never did visit the beach bc the weather wasn't great but we could see it from our room (pic attached). but we did visit the pool every day and that was nice too. all in all, i'd definitely recommend this property to anyone with children (not sure i'd stay here with just my husband bc there were a lot of kids running around! - heads up to those w/o children).

Room Tip: our room faced the main pool which has movie night each night except mondays so if you want a quiete...
  • Stayed: March 2013, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank Melanie S
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Katie M, Manager at TradeWinds Island Grand Resort, responded to this reviewResponded April 3, 2013

Glad you enjoyed your stay with us Melanie, and that we were able to keep the kids entertained ;)

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review
Reviews (5,445)
There are newer reviews for TradeWinds Island Grand Resort
See the most recent reviews
Traveler rating
Traveler type
Time of year
Language

3,236 - 3,242 of 5,445 reviews

Reviewed March 27, 2013

Mike and ryan at beef o'bradys bar were the best bartenders - they were extra kind and made all our drinks with love! Tradewinds is a great place to stay - i highly reccomend it!! Rooms were clean and facilities were great. We had a great time.

  • Stayed: March 2013
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank Kristen1010
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed March 27, 2013

We came for spring break. The week of 50-65 temps. Not much to do w/out warmth. They dont have any indoor pools. They do not restock toiletries. No dvd player. All lounge chairs would be taken by 10am n no one would use them. Too pricey!

  • Stayed: March 2013
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank chivw
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed March 26, 2013

You could've made the weather a bit warmer though. LOL Seriously, the service was great. That was the best service ever. Everyone was so friendly! The bartender Chris on Tuesday, March 26th, was very nice and knowledgeable of the area. It was such a pleasure.

The beaches and pools were very clean. There were plenty of things for my children, ages 11 & 18, to do. In spite of the cold, we had a great time.

  • Stayed: March 2013
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank scolglazier
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Katie M, Manager at TradeWinds Island Grand Resort, responded to this reviewResponded April 3, 2013

Happy to hear that our service and activities made your stay enjoyable! Hope to see you back on the beach soon.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed March 26, 2013

Adrienne at Salty's by the adult pool is da bomb! She's fast, she keeps large complicated tabs straight, all while keeping a smile on her face and cracking a few jokes. Truly helped make our stay memorable. She even got my husband a bag of rice after he got in the pool with his phone in his pocket. Tradewinds was a nice place to stay (we really liked our room and ate some pretty solid meals) but Salty's and Adrienne stand out the most.

  • Stayed: March 2013
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank LizzyRas
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed March 26, 2013

This hotel has recently undergone a 20 million dollar renovation but it looks like that may all have been spent on the lobby and not the rooms. It is very expensive which reflects the location right on the beach at St. Pete. On top of the expensive room price you will also have to pay a daily $35 dollar resort fee. Our room was very much 3 star quality and our closet door kept falling off. We left it off and propped it agains the wall for the rest of the stay and nobody moved it. The cleaning was also haphazard. Rubbish on the floor the whole stay and the bath was not cleaned on a regular basis. I think the staff have limited time to clean each room and it is a huge hotel so I believe it was a time issue and not an ability to clean issue. They charged for absolutely everything and the prices were very high. $50 for four drinks, $35 for two (bad, slow and overcooked) breakfasts. There were a lot of people and kids there and the noise level was often quite high and between the kids splashing and music blaring it did have a holiday camp feel to it. On the plus side, staff were amazingly curteous, the view could not be beaten and it was quiet at night. However, if you want 5 star service and luxury then spend the same amout and go to the Don Cesar.

Room Tip: if you can afford it get a balcony room as the rooms themselves are not great but the view cannot be...
  • Stayed: March 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank MoirahRingmer
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed March 24, 2013

I stayed here for a business meeting, and was simply not impressed. While there is a nice beach which anyone can enjoy staying there or not, and some fun things for kids staying at the hotel after that it leaves much to be desired. The rooms are not really setup for someone there on business, and they are dated, esp the bathroom. The door to the room allows every bit of noise in the hallway to enter the room so forget trying to work, rest, or sleep in peace. The AC while easy to work and it actually did work well, was a bit noisy. Housekeeping lacks the ability to understand simple requests, so don't try. As for eating stay away from the restaurants, they are pathetic at best. I had the worse meal ever when I thought the hotel might have decent food. The only bonus is this is most likely the best hotel in that particular location, and if you walk off the property and across the street there are a number of places to eat that you will enjoy.

Room Tip: I always stay high floor and away from the elevator but in this case I doubt any room on any floor i...
  • Stayed: March 2013, traveled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
2  Thank wkrupa7586
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near St. Pete Beach
1.5 mi away
The Don CeSar
The Don CeSar
#7 of 32 in St. Pete Beach
3,741 reviews
0.3 mi away
Postcard Inn on the Beach
Postcard Inn on the Beach
#18 of 32 in St. Pete Beach
561 reviews
18.2 mi away
Sandpearl Resort
Sandpearl Resort
#7 of 98 in Clearwater
2,412 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.2 mi away
Sirata Beach Resort
Sirata Beach Resort
#13 of 32 in St. Pete Beach
4,223 reviews
0.2 mi away
Guy Harvey Outpost, a TradeWinds Beach Resort
0.3 mi away
Grand Plaza Beachfront Resort Hotel & Conference Center
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to TradeWinds Island Grand Resort? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about TradeWinds Island Grand Resort

Address: 5500 Gulf Blvd., St. Pete Beach, FL 33706-2323
Phone Number:
Location: United States > Florida > St. Pete Beach
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Beach Business Center with Internet Access Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Children Activities (Kid / Family Friendly) Kitchenette Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Restaurant Room Service Shuttle Bus service Spa Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#3 Business Hotel in St. Pete Beach
#4 Top resorts Hotel in St. Pete Beach
#4 Spa Hotel in St. Pete Beach
#8 On the Beach Hotel in St. Pete Beach
#10 Romantic Hotel in St. Pete Beach
#13 Family Hotel in St. Pete Beach
Price Range: $264 - $459 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:4 star — TradeWinds Island Grand Resort 4*
Number of rooms: 585
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
TradeWinds Island Grand spans 20 lush, tropical acres and boasts a heritage of award-winning service and certification as a Florida Green Lodge. Overlooking the tranquil waters of the Gulf of Mexico, Island Grand is located on the white sand beaches of St. Pete Beach, consistently ranked one of America's Top Beaches by TripAdvisor. Discover 201 things to do with a variety of recreation activities including JetLev flight center, The Floating Water Park, children's programs, paddleboats, tennis, stand-up paddleboards, a three story tall inflatable waterslide and more. Island Grand offers multiple dining and entertainment venues along with sand-in-your-toes beach bars. Pamper yourself with a beachfront massage at Body Works Salon & Spa. Relax on a beach cabana or lounge next to one of 5 heated pools and 2 whirlpools. Our on-site resort transportation and car rental agency makes getting to Island Grand easy and stress free. It's not just a vacation. At TradeWinds, it's a totally immersive experience. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Expedia, Hotels.com, Orbitz, Booking.com, TravelUp, Travelocity, Priceline, Hotwire, Cancelon, TripOnline SA, getaroom.com and Evoline ltd so you can book your TradeWinds Island Grand Resort reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Tradewinds Island Grand Beach Hotel Saint Pete Beach
Tradewinds Island Saint Pete Beach
TradeWinds Island Grand Resort St. Pete Beach, Florida

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing